oops... NEED HELP.. some recomendations pls.. :)

Thread: oops... NEED HELP.. some recomendations pls.. :)

  1. marcode's Avatar

    marcode said:

    Default oops... NEED HELP.. some recomendations pls.. :)

    recieved an email from bt bout 10 mins ago.... again... this time they are pissed:

    SECOND NOTICE: YOU ARE STILL IN BREACH OF OUR TERMS & CONDITIONS


    Dear Customer,

    We refer to our previous email regarding your BTopenworld account.

    Our records show that your account continues to be connected for long periods of time - typically 12 hours or more in a day. Unfortunately, as we informed you in our earlier email, this is a breach of our Terms & Conditions. To review these, please go to
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    We are sorry to tell you that your account will be terminated from 28th September 2002, in accordance with our Terms & Conditions (paragraph14 (b)).

    If you use a BTopenworld for BT Surf Package please note that only your BTopenworld for BT Surf Package will be terminated. If you no longer need your separate BT Surf Package, you should cancel it by calling BT Retail on 150 using a BT line.

    An 'always on' internet connection may better suit your needs and you may wish to consider high speed BTopenworld Broadband Plug & Go. It's up to ten times faster than a standard modem and uses your existing BT line without affecting your voice calls. Once set up, there are no extra charges above the monthly rental fee. To find out more and check broadband availability in your area, please go to
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    If you have any questions about your account termination, please contact the BTopenworld team at
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    When contacting the BTopenworld team, please quote your email address and reference number XXXXXXX.

    Yours sincerely,


    BTopenworld team
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    ive been warned of this 3 times now off these cunts.. and this time i think i pushed it too far... well they cancelling my account, so now i need a new ISP...

    so who do u recommend.. id like to get anytime connection and least amount of cutoffs possible... and no i dont have BroadBand enabled on my exchange

    what isps are decent price and service with a anytime connection?

    also... anyone have any idea if bt will still let me use my ftp space and email addy?? i doubt it, but im not sure.. which is gonna be a major pain in the ass


    cheers
     
  2. Cam's Avatar

    Cam said:

    Default

    AOL beacuse i couldnt access n e thing out side the aol world for the hole of 2 day YEH!

    or try ntl the normal ntl not cable we had ntl ages ago and they were gr8 part from 2 hour cut off but thats easy just to reconnect unlike aol who dont ave a 2 hour cut off but idal time cut off so just leave irc running and it looks like ur busy sorted ( that wot i did till i got bb)

    (17:18:34) (+Cam) i need to mount my xbox hdd in linux
    (17:19:02) (+SpikeWork) youth of today, they'll mount anything
     
  3. BigBadDog's Avatar

    BigBadDog said:

    Default

    just tell em to fcuk off , if you only wanted to use the net for a limited time you wouldn't have paid the wankers for sh1tty openworld in the first place would ya.
     
  4. ABCMan's Avatar

    ABCMan said:

    Default

    fair few of the 56kers on the hub use freeserve and that seems to work well for them
     
  5. GavDF's Avatar

    GavDF said:

    Default

    i thought u could turn the idle cut off on aol? if not sorry,but some times mine was on for well over 12 hrs and wasnt doing anything

    i know there stupid browser aint to good,but when i was on it never had prob connecting, and no cut offs
     
  6. ParadoX's Avatar

    ParadoX said:

    Default

    I used aol b4 i had my bb and it was good with no 2 hour cut off. I had it connected for the best part of a week before, they dont give a shit how much you use it.
     
  7. marcode's Avatar

    marcode said:

    Default

    Originally posted by ABCMan
    fair few of the 56kers on the hub use freeserve and that seems to work well for them
    hmm.. ye was thinking about freeserve.. heard its a decent service...

    i really couldnt give a flying fuck about losin my bt connection, cos they were cunts anyhow, but its my email addy and ftp space i dont wanna loose... mail addy especially, i use it for everythin.. spose ill just ave to deal with that...

    i checked my connection logs and i cant see any day where my pc has been connected for more than 12 hours...

    can anyone look at a bt fone bill and tell me of any help line number or sommat i can fone and bitch pls, i dont have any fone bills in the house that i can cheack for the number
     
  8. marcode's Avatar

    marcode said:

    Default

    see the only disagreement i have with aol is their shite software that plants itself all over ya pc... can u connect to aol with out installing their software?
     
  9. Aware's Avatar

    Aware said:

    Default

    I'd go for aol for an almost always on connection, i don't think ntl are taking new subscribers to ntlworld, i can't find the link to request the cd ,shame because they were excellent and i'd have them back antime.

    At the moment i'm with glo-telecom for £10per month 24/7, they were good at first but it's getting to be a bitch to connect.

    To be honest i don't think there's a decent reliable 56k 24/7 isp out there, although if you do find one please post it.

    i've heard Firenet are good but don't quote me


    edit: i used freeserve for 2 months and found them tooooo sloooooww for browsing, takes a week for pages to load, not bad d/l speeds though.
    Last edited by Aware; 18th September 2002 at 07:22 PM.
     
  10. urbsy's Avatar

    urbsy said:

    Default

    I have had aol dial-up for years , and to be honest find it a very good service , i never got cut off and my pc was on for days and days at a time .
    I have 1mb with blueyonder now , but have still kept my aol account open , as i find some parts of their service second to none .

    Urbs
     
  11. Snak3's Avatar

    Snak3 said:

    Default

    Originally posted by marcode
    see the only disagreement i have with aol is their shite software that plants itself all over ya pc... can u connect to aol with out installing their software?
    there's probably a proggy somewhere that does this... AOL was fine (when it doesn't cut you off) When I had it sometimes it was excellent other times it cuts you off every few minutes or only connects or 28.8 or even worse lol! anyway when it works it doesn't have a cut off - i downloaded xp on it lol - took me a week but i did it
     
  12. marcode's Avatar

    marcode said:

    Default

    so does anyone have any idea if its possible to connect to aol without installing their browser etc.. i just wanna connect using the xp net connection window as i do now....??
     
  13. WTD's Avatar

    WTD said:

    Default

    I'd stay off the internet if I were you.. there are enough cunts on the net and we could do with one less..
     
  14. Pongo's Avatar

    Pongo said:

    Default

    Try looking at [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    They list all ISPs with user feedback and reviews
    Edit..
    Have a peek at [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] they reckon they're gonna be doing 24/7 for 12.95 and ADSL for 12.99 !!
    Last edited by Pongo; 19th September 2002 at 10:24 AM.
     
  15. 4me2's Avatar

    4me2 said:

    Default

    Originally posted by WTD
    I'd stay off the internet if I were you.. there are enough cunts on the net and we could do with one less..
    What is your problem WTD ?
    There are 3 types of people in the world - those who make things happen, those who watch things happen; and those who wondered what happened.

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]Conservatives. Putting the 'N' into Cuts.

     
  16. defied's Avatar

    defied said:

    Default

    that time of the month for him 4me2?
     
  17. gimp's Avatar

    gimp said:

    Default

    Its about the Longest thread, Thay had a little fight about pictures being posted and Sombody (mentioning no names) brought it into here aswell
     
  18. Soulassassin's Avatar

    Soulassassin said:

    Default

    You dont need to lose your email addy with BT, I used to be with BT about 18 months ago then went to freeserve (OKish) then went to Surfanytime (Rubbish) then went to ADSL. However I still use my BT account wich can be checked form my current ISP Plusnet (no probs yet). Only problem is I cant send mail from my bt account.
    Also try [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
     
  19. GavDF's Avatar

    GavDF said:

    Default

    my bt email got closed as soon as they kicked me off
     
  20. ABCMan's Avatar

    ABCMan said:

    Default

    i have the same problem with my old lineone account, its incoming only but the fuckers wont let me convert it to a pay as you go wheras bt might then you could use it as normal from your new isp.