Close

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: is this posible

  1. #1
    DF Jedi {film_man}'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    South Wales
    Posts
    1,003
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    231

    Default is this posible

    my mate has a cable modem and he is useing the usb connection

    he has a 4 port usb hub he wants to connect the cable modem to the hub and have 4 computers connect to the net useing the hub is that posible.

  2. #2
    DF PlaYa gimp's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    .
    Posts
    734
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    239

    Default

    Doubt it mate. the config of the modem is set to give you 1 ip address as standard and you would need 4. this can be changed tho but everytime the cm reboots you will need to give it your confg (Same process as uncapping). this method has been used before to "pool" bandwidth as you get the full speed through each

    Anyone else?

    Gimp

  3. #3
    DF Jedi {film_man}'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    South Wales
    Posts
    1,003
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    231

    Default

    any other way to do it on the cheep

  4. #4
    DF PlaYa gimp's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    .
    Posts
    734
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    239

    Default

    Run it with network cards instead? then either buy a router £100+ or get a few netcards(£10 each) and a hub/switch (£30ish) and a few cables (£10) and run internet connection sharing, the main pc has to be on all the time tho

    Gimp

  5. #5
    DF Jedi {film_man}'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    South Wales
    Posts
    1,003
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    231

    Default

    k i have to look ing to that

Similar Threads

  1. posible halo server crash?
    By runner05 in forum Microsoft Consoles
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 18th September 2007, 04:50 PM
  2. posible sticky button
    By paxtonda in forum Sony Handhelds
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29th March 2005, 03:56 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •