Close

Thread: which DSLR?

Thanks
    Karma Level

Default which DSLR?

i had a fuji S2PRO a few years ago, didn't use it much and sold it,

now i really want to get back into photography.
    having seen some of the pictures on here and having had a play with some cameras, i really fancy a canon eos500d or even a 550d (i recon i might be able to wangle it passed the taxman as a business asset )
    what would you do in my place?

i am just learning, will not go pro.
    i like the idea of taking 1080p video (only the 550d does that at full 30 fps) - will i use it much? -i doubt it but i like the idea.
    i am in the camp of more pixels = better, the 550d has 18megapixels.

sometime next month i will have a max of £800 to spend on a camera,
    it must be usable by the wife as well, she also likes the canon range.
    she tried my mates eos500d on full auto settings, got some cracking shots and said she wouldn't mind one of those - i would rather the 550d due to the higher MP and better HD video framerate

DF VIP Member
    Thanks
    Karma Level

Default Re: which DSLR?

i'm always tempted to get the newest available toy (whatever it is), but I'd be tempted to get the 500d if I were you - just as it will give you some change to get other things like filters, bags, memory cards, or an extra lens etc

you can get the 500D for £560 at Dixons using the code Easter5

http://www.camerapricebuster.co.uk/prod1018.html

if you get the one your wife wants as well, you'll get some brownie points, and you can then splash some more cash

Thanks
    Karma Level