How to Clean Up and Remove Programs from the "Open with" Context Menu

Information
This will show you how to enable and disable programs that are listed in the Open with right click context menu in Windows 7 and Vista.

If you disable a program, it will be removed from the Open with context menu.

If you enable or re-enable a program, it will be added back to the Open with context menu.



EXAMPLE: Open with
NOTE: This is when you right click on a file and select Open with (left screenshot), or select Open with and click on Choose default program (right screenshot).
[Only registered and activated users can see links. ][Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
Here's How:
1. If you have not already, you will need to download, extract all files, and run the free [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] program.
NOTE: OpenWithView is a standalone exe program, so it does not install on your computer. You would just run it instead.
[Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
2. To Disable and Remove a Program from "Open with" Context Menu
A) In OpenWithView, select and right click on one or more listed Application Name (program) that you want to remove from "Open with".
NOTE: You can select more than one Application Name by pressing and holding the CTRL key while selecting the programs, then release the CTRL key when ready to right click on one of the highlighted (selected) programs.

B) Click on Disable Selected Items.
NOTE: You will notice that under the Disabled column, it will now change to Yes to confirm that it has been disabled.
3. To Enable and Add Back a Disabled Program to "Open with" Context Menu
A) In OpenWithView, select and right click on one or more listed Application Name (program) that you want to re-enable and add back to "Open with".
NOTE: You can select more than one Application Name by pressing and holding the CTRL key while selecting the programs, then release the CTRL key when ready to right click on one of the highlighted (selected) programs.

B) Click on Enable Selected Items.
NOTE: You will notice that under the Disabled column, it will now change to No to confirm that it has been enabled again.
4. When finished, you can close OpenWithView.
That's it,
Shawn



Related Tutorials
  • [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
  • [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
  • [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
  • [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]



Attached Thumbnails [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]