Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Karma Level

animals 2 Gallon Fish Tank - Help

Hi All,

I've been wanting a fish tank for my desk for a while and my wife surprisingly bought one for me for Xmas.

It's only a 2 Gallon (10 litre) tank, which is just fine for my desk and me.
    However, as it's so small there isn't a lot I can put in it other than goldfish (bit boring in my opinion) or danio's. I'm a complete novice so please excuse my ignorance.

I like the idea of danios and the guy in the local aquatic centre suggested Danios but I have a few questions which I can't really find answers to on the internet.

These being:

• Do I still need a filter with Danios? If so then is a bio filter electric? (sorry if that's a stupid question)

• can I put any live plants in with them?
    • could I put snails in with them?

I don't want a complicated tank but don't just want 1 Betta or 2 goldfish either.

Many thanks,
    Tommy J

Big is not always better.... Take Fat people for example.

Push down Taps, you know it makes sense. Wash Them.

Thanks
    Karma Level

Default Re: 2 Gallon Fish Tank - Help

There's plenty of options for a 10 gallon tank, you could have a selection of small tropical fish if you wanted. You can have a nice mixture of those, including a shoal of about 5 or 6 tiny neons which is quite cool to watch them all swimming about together in their little gang.

Whether you need the filter or not, get one. They are only about £20 and make so much difference to your life and your fish's lives.

The heater to do a tropical setup is only about £20 too if you want to go down that route. The only option totally closed to you would be a marine set up, because the tank is very small for that.

Snails are considered a pest in fish tanks and will normally be had by mistake when you get live plants. I agree though, I think they are quite cool and always wanted them in my tank until I got bored of it.