Close

Thread: Bricking It

Thanks
    Karma Level

Default Bricking It

I've been working in my current IT role for around 2 1/2 years.

At the start even though they called me in to do IT and CAD, they actually wanted me to do IT dirty work (i.e. set up printers, log serials, untangle big messes of leads etc.) as well as the trickier admin that none of the admin lot could be arsed with (MS Project, Tender Presentations, etc.)

Thing is our IT systems were so terrible I easily managed to make the point that the company needed someone to carry out an IT role much more desperately than another administrator, and I would have a good claim for contructive dismissal with the companys approach.

In this time I've gradually been improving shitloads (Just as an excercise to myself I've listed 150 improvements I've made in my time so far). To get much of this done I've had to disobey my boss - good examples when I started he didn't like remote desktop as he thought you could make more problems than you fix - even if a user wanted to just use a different pc, that required IT team visiting a site to prepare a user. I've got pc's setting new profiles up themselves and am handling probably 3-10 remote support calls daily.

For a while he was happy to just leave me to it not even knowing what I was up to, and he would just give instructions from time to time.

Last year some of the directors wanted to move us to an unworkable area. I was only taken kicking and screaming but my boss put up no resistance and would just tell me off for moaning or having a messy work area. Only recently H&S has condemmed our area agreeing with what I said from the start - that we need much more space.