Close

Results 1 to 1 of 1
  1. #1
    DF Admin 4me2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    33,074
    Thanks
    1,845
    Thanked:        2,025
    Karma Level
    2442

    goodn How to reset to Factory settings after error 1013

    If you have tried updating to the recently released [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] on [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] and encountered Error Code 1013 or [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] 1611,then you are a not alone. This has been a common issue across all iOS devices updating to iOS 4.2.1 and Apple Support Discussion [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] are full of users [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] about this issue.







    This bug has apparently been reported to [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] but if you don’t fancy waiting for an official fix, you can follow this guide to try and successfully update your iOS device to 4.2.1. Before doing so, you may also like to try and restore using a different [Only registered and activated users can see links. ].

    Warning Note: This will result in your iPhone 4 baseband being upgraded to the latest version.

    How to Fix [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] 1013:


    Mac [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]:

    Step 1. On your [Only registered and activated users can see links. ], go to your “Applications” folder.
    Step 2. Now navigate to the “Utilities” folder.
    Step 3. Launch "Terminal".
    Step 4. Type "sudo nano /etc/hosts" (without quotes) and hit return.
    Step 5. Enter your password
    Step 6. Use the down arrow key to find the “gs.apple.com” entries. Once the cursor is in front, make sure you comment out the line(s) by entering “#” in front of the text.
    Step 7. Save the file by pressing CONTROL+O.
    Step 8. Exit the nano editor by pressing CONTROL+X.
    Step 9. Restore your iDevice.


    Windows:

    Step 1. Start –> Programs –> Accessories
    Step 2. Run Notepad or WordPad
    Step 3. Click “Open..” from File menu.
    Step 4. Browse to Windows/System32/drivers/etc
    Step 5. In "files of type:" select all documents
    Step 6. Open "hosts"
    Step 7. Delete all line that has "gs.apple.com" or something like that
    Step 8. Hit Save
    Step 9. Restore your device


    [[Only registered and activated users can see links. ] for Windows steps | [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] for Mac steps]


    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]


    I can confirm this works but as advised above IT WILL UPDATE YOUR BASEBAND.
    Last edited by 4me2; 7th March 2011 at 10:27 AM.
    There are 3 types of people in the world - those who make things happen, those who watch things happen; and those who wondered what happened.

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]Conservatives. Putting the 'N' into Cuts.


Similar Threads

  1. [HELP] Will a factory reset wipe JB?
    By lloydi in forum Apple Mobile Devices
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 9th May 2013, 08:34 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10th January 2013, 11:00 PM
  3. [HELP] software to reset 6280 to factory settings
    By mc.dodd in forum Mobile Software & Apps
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 20th April 2009, 07:30 AM
  4. Factory Reset
    By skank in forum Digital & Cable TV
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 20th March 2003, 05:34 PM

Tags for this Thread

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •