Close

Thanks
    Karma Level

Help Anyone on here ever run a restaurant ???

Worked in I.T my whole life but always fancied the idea of having my own restaurant (like to think I am a good cook - never poisoned anyone anyway)
    Anyway an opportunity has presented itself.
    It would mean partnering up with a friend. He has had an offer from another friend to take on a restaurant in Ipswich Town Centre.
    The plan would be to do Moroccan cuisine.. my mate is moroccan and amazing cook and has catering experience.
    No long lease so if it fucks up we could walk away in 3 months without being tied into anything.

But now I am getting cold feet e.t.c
    Still early stages of talks/planning/ideas e.t.c

Just wondered if anyone on here has any experience and advise.

Thanks
    Karma Level

Default Re: Anyone on here ever run a restaurant ???

Moroccan cuisine in Ipswich? Have you done any market research? Have you tested the food out on the locals at either a local food market or just on the streets and got any feedback? Any competition? If not, why not? Have you created a structured business plan?

It's one of the hardest business sectors to be successful in, especially when the economy is on it's arse. Good luck.

Thanks
    Karma Level

Default Anyone on here ever run a restaurant ???

Hey

Used to manage a dive centre/bar/restaurant. Not quite the same I know, but the bar restaurant thing was the first time for me.

Its very different from working in IT or an office - obviously. Much longer hours, less social life and to start with at least normally less money.

Its hard for sure, but its a great experience and I would do it again given the opportunity. Only I would have the benefit of experience.

If your confident your mate can handle the culinary side of things, then not much to worry about on that side. Still make sure you know what he's going to produce. It takes a while to pin down your menu, but even then its a living breathing thing.