Close

Thanks
    Karma Level

Default Strip lights went off, trip switch turned back on, lights still won't come on

Hi all, 1/3 of my lights have gone off in my shop. The rest are still on. The trip switch was turned off, but when I turn it on again the lights still won't come on.

I've tried replacing the strip light and starter in case they were blown but they still won't come on.

I'm no electrician so haven't a clue but i'm guessing its a fuse for that particular circuit for those lights? Do I need to remove the cover off the trip switch box?

Thanks
    Karma Level

Default Re: Strip lights went off, trip switch turned back on, lights still won't come on

Yes, should be individual fuses for the lights, sockets etc, etc. cover on the condumer unit usually flips down to reveal the fuses.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    "When a naked man is chasing a woman through an alley with a butchers knife and a hard-on, I figure he isn't out collecting for the Red Cross." - 'Dirty' Harry

Thanks
    Karma Level

Default Re: Strip lights went off, trip switch turned back on, lights still won't come on

Cheers mate, I had a look but it needs to be screwed off, just didn't wanna mess with it in case I was looking at the wrong thing

DF VIP Member
    Thanks
    Karma Level

Quote Originally Posted by dannyboy View Post
    Cheers mate, I had a look but it needs to be screwed off, just didn't wanna mess with it in case I was looking at the wrong thing
    Normally don't need to be screwed off with a screwdriver. Maybe one small thumbscrew to unscrew on the older boxes. Post a photo of the fusebox. (">

Thanks
    Karma Level

Here's a pic of the trip switch box, was the 3rd switch from the end that tripped off

DF VIP Member
    Thanks
    Karma Level

U need to check the voltage in the fittings that don't work. Are all the lights in the shop of 1 switch?

Thanks
    Karma Level