Close

Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    DF PiMP Itsme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    327
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked:        31
    Karma Level
    184

    Attention Green screen help needed.

    Hi need some info if possible.

    I want to be able to do green screen from photos.
    What is the best software to do this with.

    I have a PC and and an IMAC

    I know about taking photos and using photoshop to remove the green but there must be an easier way esp for 2 computer formats.
    I use my Imac for all my photography so what software is the best for removing green screen and allowing me to add in my own backgounds.

    Is there any software which will allow me to shoot live by connecting my camera to my imac (canon 6000 i think) so its a decent dslr.

    Any help on this would be apprecited.

  2. #2
    DF PiMP Itsme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    327
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked:        31
    Karma Level
    184

    Default Re: Green screen help needed.

    hi managed to find a program on the pc thats called green screen wizard 6

    Its not bad but is pretty slow and cumbersome.
    Surely this cant be the best out there.

    Anyone do any chromokey editing live using video mode (swap backgrounds for video) ????

  3. #3
    DF PwNagE WRATH OF BOD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Monkey Hangers
    Posts
    6,555
    Thanks
    2,524
    Thanked:        1,179
    Karma Level
    770

    Default Re: Green screen help needed.

    can you not use chroma keyer in what ever software you use(adobe etc)to remove background green & drop your background in behind?

    Thanks to WRATH OF BOD

    Itsme (17th August 2013) 


  4. #4
    DF PlaYa MHP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    The Clock End
    Posts
    533
    Thanks
    355
    Thanked:        316
    Karma Level
    93

    Default Re: Green screen help needed.

    If your only doing a few images then Photoshop is still the best option, but you will need a green screen plugin/action to simplify things and speed up the process. Google search Photoshop green screen plugin.

    If you are thinking of doing lots of images then you need to look at Photokey6 [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] I've not used it but heard good things about it. The next stage up and probably the best solution is Darkroom Pro by Express Digital [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] This is a complete workflow package and does far more than just green screen but its not cheap.

    I'm not familiar with the Canon 6000, is it an DSLR or a compact? If its a Canon DSLR then the Canon supplied EOS software will let you shoot live using a USB cable.

    Thanks to MHP

    Itsme (17th August 2013) 


  5. #5
    DF PiMP Itsme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    327
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked:        31
    Karma Level
    184

    Default Re: Green screen help needed.

    canon dslr m8.

    Ill check out the packages above cheers again to u and wrath of bod.

    I didnt even know there was a photoshop plugin

  6. #6
    DF PiMP Itsme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    327
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked:        31
    Karma Level
    184

    Default Re: Green screen help needed.

    seeing as ive got your attention ive seen a Boogie heads video system on ebay which does video mode with green screen
    Do u know if this sort of setup could be used for anything else besides Boogie heads

  7. #7
    DF Moderator Little John's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Bolton
    Posts
    6,516
    Thanks
    96
    Thanked:        380
    Karma Level
    927

    Default Re: Green screen help needed.

    Darkroom is what we use when asked for green screen in an even situation its pretty quick but the most important thing is to get the lighting st up correctly, make sure the background is lit up to prevent shaddows as much as you can or it can cause a few issues.

    The pain in the butt thing with darkroom is when files are importing your not able to use the software so don't go shooting large files medium fine is usually plenty.
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups!

    Thanks to Little John

    Itsme (18th August 2013) 


  8. #8
    DF PlaYa MHP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    The Clock End
    Posts
    533
    Thanks
    355
    Thanked:        316
    Karma Level
    93

    Default Re: Green screen help needed.

    I've seen these out on events, they are known by other names, dance heads, pop noggins etc. The systems have been around for a few years now so the kit will be a little dated. The most costly item in these systems is the custom software and the music videos that need licencing, I'm assuming you don't need these. I'm a 'stills' guy not video, but if video is the way you want to go then I think there must be a cheaper way than spending £3500 on ebay. You will need a chroma key backdrop, some constant lights, camera and the right software, Adobe Premier/After Effects,Sony Vegas etc.

    Thanks to MHP

    Itsme (18th August 2013) 


  9. #9
    DF PlaYa MHP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    The Clock End
    Posts
    533
    Thanks
    355
    Thanked:        316
    Karma Level
    93

    Default Re: Green screen help needed.

    Quote Originally Posted by Little John View Post
    The pain in the butt thing with darkroom is when files are importing your not able to use the software so don't go shooting large files medium fine is usually plenty.
    True, medium fine JPG's is what I normally shoot, but I rarely import from a card nowadays, I run tethered or wireless.

    Thanks to MHP

    Itsme (18th August 2013) 


  10. #10
    DF PiMP Itsme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    327
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked:        31
    Karma Level
    184

    Default Re: Green screen help needed.

    yep seen that darkroom rather expensive

    I have the green screen/stand and 4 decent lights and a decent DSLR camera (Canon with various lens)
    Its just a matter of finding a good program that when i took my pics i can just import them into computer and then remove Green screen easily so i can alter the backgrounds

  11. #11
    DF PiMP Itsme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    327
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked:        31
    Karma Level
    184

    Default Re: Green screen help needed.

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    Done a quick tester - seems to work fine in photokey

    all you lot using Darkroom - r u saying u actually paid the full price for the software.
    Its well expensive.Ive looked though my usual sources seems they about 5 years old so cant test it.
    Last edited by Itsme; 18th August 2013 at 03:48 PM.

  12. #12
    DF PlaYa MHP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    The Clock End
    Posts
    533
    Thanks
    355
    Thanked:        316
    Karma Level
    93

    Default Re: Green screen help needed.

    Sounds like your good to go, let me know how you get on with Photokey and remember what Little John said about shadows. As I said, Darkroom is a whole workflow package so its worth the money if you use the functionality in a commercial environment. There was a 'cough' version knocking about a while ago but the print processing part of it was shagged and not being able to print in Darkroom is pointless.

  13. #13
    DF PiMP Itsme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    327
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked:        31
    Karma Level
    184

    Default Re: Green screen help needed.

    none of the stuff i want is for commercial use.
    Just home use only

    I have a DesignJet 500 ps so im going to be printing some big posters for the kids.
    I found the cough version of Darkroom core edition but for love of money could not find how to do green screen in it.
    Weird program

  14. #14
    DF PlaYa MHP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    The Clock End
    Posts
    533
    Thanks
    355
    Thanked:        316
    Karma Level
    93

    Default Re: Green screen help needed.

    I takes a while to get your head round Darkroom and set it up the best way for your requirements. Love nor money would not have helped you, Core edition prior to version 9 did not have green screen functionality, only the Pro and Assembly editions.

    Thanks to MHP

    Itsme (18th August 2013) 


  15. #15
    DF PiMP Itsme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    327
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked:        31
    Karma Level
    184

    Default Re: Green screen help needed.

    LOL what is chances on that

    mine is 8.9 cough cough

  16. #16
    DF PlaYa MHP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    The Clock End
    Posts
    533
    Thanks
    355
    Thanked:        316
    Karma Level
    93

    Default Re: Green screen help needed.

    Lets see the results when your done.

Similar Threads

  1. vegas 8 green screen
    By WRATH OF BOD in forum Video Editing & Production
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 16th March 2010, 02:28 PM
  2. My 1st Go at green screen .lol
    By WRATH OF BOD in forum Funny/Strange Video Clips
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27th February 2010, 04:10 PM
  3. Almost everything on TV is filmed with green screen
    By miffy in forum Funny/Strange Video Clips
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 19th February 2010, 05:49 PM
  4. PS2 DVD - Green Screen?
    By Spennyboy in forum Sony Consoles
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 2nd November 2003, 02:21 PM
  5. Green Screen :(
    By mladen in forum Sony Consoles
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30th March 2003, 03:46 AM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •