Close

Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    DF VIP Member
    satzzz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    2,548
    Thanks
    134
    Thanked:        505
    Karma Level
    396

    Help Here's a problem for you lads.......

    Mate at work has purchased an Amiko Alien Triple Tuner ( same as I have). All progged up adn working fine. HOWEVER.........on plugging the HDMI cable into the TV from the Alien SOME, but not all of the Terrestrial channels on his TV stop working (Pick, Film4 etc etc). On removing the HDMI from the TV they pop straight back on.
    Any ideas as to what this could be??

    Cheers
    Just use enough water to cover your vegetables,the same goes for when you're having a bath....

  2. #2
    DF Jedi supraman54's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    NW Kent
    Posts
    1,278
    Thanks
    440
    Thanked:        350
    Karma Level
    285

    Default Re: Here's a problem for you lads.......

    Just a thought but maybe HDMI is calling up a resolution that can't be used by the channels that aren't displaying..
    do you get sound on them at all?

    supe
    http://www.speedtest.net/result/2920820230.png

    Thanks to supraman54

    satzzz (20th February 2014) 


  3. #3
    DF Jedi flipper321's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    2,679
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked:        125
    Karma Level
    399

    Default Re: Here's a problem for you lads.......

    DHCP issue? What's the TV?

    Thanks to flipper321

    satzzz (20th February 2014) 


  4. #4
    DF VIP Member
    satzzz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    2,548
    Thanks
    134
    Thanked:        505
    Karma Level
    396

    Default Re: Here's a problem for you lads.......

    Its a Sony bravia. Nothing to do with DHCP as its some of the freeview channels of the TV that go off when he plugs the HDMI into the telly from the Alien. Didn't mention the aerial is only plug into the TV and not routed through the receiver. Both picture and sound vanish when plugging it in

    Sent from my XT1032 using Tapatalk
    Just use enough water to cover your vegetables,the same goes for when you're having a bath....

  5. #5
    Banned Goldberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Mumsnet
    Posts
    14,430
    Thanks
    1,313
    Thanked:        1,535
    Karma Level
    0

    Default Re: Here's a problem for you lads.......

    Not sure if this will help, I read somewhere about changing the oscam settings? Can't hurt?

    Try changing ca0=ca1 or failing that I found a thread here: [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    *Edit*

    Actually after reading that again it sounds like the TV could be the issue, almost as if the HDMI cable is receiving something and causing the problem...

    Thanks to Goldberg

    satzzz (20th February 2014) 


  6. #6
    DF VIP Member
    satzzz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    2,548
    Thanks
    134
    Thanked:        505
    Karma Level
    396

    Default Re: Here's a problem for you lads.......

    Thanks Goldberg, looks like you're understanding what I mean. The channels on the box are fine. Its some of the free view channels on the TV that stop working/disappear when the HDMI is plugged into the tv

    Sent from my XT1032 using Tapatalk
    Just use enough water to cover your vegetables,the same goes for when you're having a bath....

  7. #7
    Banned Goldberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Mumsnet
    Posts
    14,430
    Thanks
    1,313
    Thanked:        1,535
    Karma Level
    0

    Default Re: Here's a problem for you lads.......

    OK a bit more research and it appears this is quite common with Sony TV's.. I have a Sony, one that is wireless and I often get the signal been lost between the Receiver box and the TV but I put that to the receiver been downstairs and the TV up.

    However, take a look at this thread. Not really a solution but more confirmation!!

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    I would try a few things:

    * Try a different HDMI cable
    * Try the HDMI cable in a different HDMI port
    * Check the Coaxial Cable to make sure it is shielded correctly etc.. and possibly try another cable.

    Thanks to Goldberg

    satzzz (20th February 2014) 


  8. #8
    DF VIP Member
    satzzz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    2,548
    Thanks
    134
    Thanked:        505
    Karma Level
    396

    Default Re: Here's a problem for you lads.......

    I shall pass this info on. Cheers mate

    Sent from my XT1032 using Tapatalk
    Just use enough water to cover your vegetables,the same goes for when you're having a bath....

  9. #9
    Banned Goldberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Mumsnet
    Posts
    14,430
    Thanks
    1,313
    Thanked:        1,535
    Karma Level
    0

    Default Re: Here's a problem for you lads.......

    Found another thread too, they all point to the cables.
    Ask him to replace his Coaxial with Sat grade Coaxial (if he can). There is definitely interference happening here and it is Always Sony TV's suffering from it from what I can find.

    makes me want to look at my setup again when I get home.. But I feel mine is the home Wifi messing with the signal.

    Thanks to Goldberg

    satzzz (20th February 2014) 


  10. #10
    DF VIP Member
    satzzz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    2,548
    Thanks
    134
    Thanked:        505
    Karma Level
    396

    Default Re: Here's a problem for you lads.......

    Thanks mate

    Sent from my XT1032 using Tapatalk
    Just use enough water to cover your vegetables,the same goes for when you're having a bath....

  11. #11
    DF Jedi rookie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    2,080
    Thanks
    233
    Thanked:        141
    Karma Level
    303

    Default Re: Here's a problem for you lads.......

    I have a guy at work that used to work for sony technical. I will ask him tomo for you satzzz

    Thanks to rookie

    satzzz (20th February 2014) 


  12. #12
    DF VIP Member
    satzzz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    2,548
    Thanks
    134
    Thanked:        505
    Karma Level
    396

    Default Re: Here's a problem for you lads.......

    Thanks rookie

    Sent from my XT1032 using Tapatalk
    Just use enough water to cover your vegetables,the same goes for when you're having a bath....

  13. #13
    DF Jedi rookie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    2,080
    Thanks
    233
    Thanked:        141
    Karma Level
    303

    Default Re: Here's a problem for you lads.......

    Hi satzzz he called in sick today but will be back in on monday so will ask then

  14. #14
    DF PlaYa big3card's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    walsall
    Posts
    504
    Thanks
    64
    Thanked:        69
    Karma Level
    142

    Default Re: Here's a problem for you lads.......

    Have you tried plugging in to the next HDMI port on the t.v. ?

  15. #15
    DF VIP Member
    satzzz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    2,548
    Thanks
    134
    Thanked:        505
    Karma Level
    396

    Default Re: Here's a problem for you lads.......

    He's read up more and he thinks it could be leakage from his cheap HDMI leads. He's ordered a better one. I'll update when I see him to ask

    Sent from my XT1032 using Tapatalk
    Just use enough water to cover your vegetables,the same goes for when you're having a bath....

  16. #16
    Banned Goldberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Mumsnet
    Posts
    14,430
    Thanks
    1,313
    Thanked:        1,535
    Karma Level
    0

    Default Re: Here's a problem for you lads.......

    He might as well do the coax too as mentioned whilst he is at it

  17. #17
    DF VIP Member
    satzzz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    2,548
    Thanks
    134
    Thanked:        505
    Karma Level
    396

    Default Re: Here's a problem for you lads.......

    I've passed that onto him also

    Sent from my XT1032 using Tapatalk
    Just use enough water to cover your vegetables,the same goes for when you're having a bath....

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •