Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 26
  1. #1
    DF PlaYa emu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    928
    Thanks
    215
    Thanked:        189
    Karma Level
    191

    Default acer iconia w510 bios password

    hi
    recently swapped one of these on gumtree and the bios is password protected

    had a quick look on the net and tried a few programs to extract the password but none of them worked

    its running windows 8 at the moment and it looks like whoever did the install have installed pro instead of home

    the guy i got it off said a computer guy did it ages ago and he no longer has any contact info

    so if i want to wipe and install a fresh windows looks like im stuffed

    i tried to reflash the bios from acer site but password stayed on

    any ideas?

    ps the battery life on this thing is insane with the dock plugged in

  2. #2
    DF Jedi fanni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    West London
    Posts
    2,716
    Thanks
    150
    Thanked:        313
    Karma Level
    331

    Default Re: acer iconia w510 bios password

    I've had a few bios locked laptops that needed new installs can you not just press f12 to get the boot menu up as some bios don't lock this part?

    i know it doesn't get round the password problem but might get you to instal a fresh windows

    Thanks to fanni

    emu (1st September 2014) 


  3. #3
    DF PlaYa MHP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    The Clock End
    Posts
    541
    Thanks
    368
    Thanked:        320
    Karma Level
    89

    Default Re: acer iconia w510 bios password

    Is it a laptop, or a tablet with a keyboard?

  4. #4
    DF Super Moderator
    DejaVu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    9,100
    Thanks
    1,833
    Thanked:        3,998
    Karma Level
    957

    Default Re: acer iconia w510 bios password

    Have you tried flashing the BIOS with the /all switch.

    flash.exe BIOS.ROM /all
    It might even be the /FP or /C switch.

    If I remember right, it wont wipe out everything unless it's told to (IE, Passwords and shit). I think it can be done from within Windows 8 using the DOS flashing program (don't quote me on that), but the Windows flasher should also support the /all switch somewhere too.

    I've got the Iconia W500 Service Manual that details the procedure if you need it.

    Looking around, a lot of Iconia W users are complaining about this fault.
    Appears a BIOS update may actually be passwording them up as well!
    Last edited by DejaVu; 1st September 2014 at 01:12 AM.

    Thanks to DejaVu

    emu (1st September 2014) 


  5. #5
    DF PlaYa emu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    928
    Thanks
    215
    Thanked:        189
    Karma Level
    191

    Default Re: acer iconia w510 bios password

    had a try again today 12345 was the password

    wtf was the chances of finding that out lol

    im in the bios now just need to try and find a windows 8 home iso

    Thanks to emu

    DejaVu (1st September 2014) 


  6. #6
    DF Rookie morsa70's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default Re: acer iconia w510 bios password

    Use the following steps to enter UEFI on your ICONIA W510, ICONIA W3-810 or ICONIA W4-820.


    1. [Only registered and activated users can see links. ].
    2. Hold the tablet in landscape orientation.
    3. Press and hold the Volume down and Power button at the same time until the Acer logo appears on-screen and release the buttons

  7. #7
    DF Super Moderator
    DejaVu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    9,100
    Thanks
    1,833
    Thanked:        3,998
    Karma Level
    957

    Default Re: acer iconia w510 bios password

    and that bypasses the BIOS password how?


  8. #8
    DF PlaYa emu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    928
    Thanks
    215
    Thanked:        189
    Karma Level
    191

    Default Re: acer iconia w510 bios password

    Hi guys I have managed to find a file on a Russian torrent site that's called USB recovery Acer iconia w510.tib a quick Google says that its an acronis file . any easy way to use this

  9. #9
    DF PlaYa emu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    928
    Thanks
    215
    Thanked:        189
    Karma Level
    191

    Default Re: acer iconia w510 bios password

    jess groves shared "IMG_20140903_202454436_HDR.jpg": [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  10. #10
    DF PlaYa emu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    928
    Thanks
    215
    Thanked:        189
    Karma Level
    191

    Default Re: acer iconia w510 bios password

    Bolloxs got the image to boot off a USB but its in Russian and needs an external mouse or keyboard plugged in to move the cursor .so close but yet so far lol

  11. #11
    DF Super Moderator
    DejaVu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    9,100
    Thanks
    1,833
    Thanked:        3,998
    Karma Level
    957

    Default Re: acer iconia w510 bios password

    I thought you'd already got shot of the password?


  12. #12
    DF PlaYa emu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    928
    Thanks
    215
    Thanked:        189
    Karma Level
    191

    Default Re: acer iconia w510 bios password

    Yep can get in the bios but can't find an iso that will take the serial in the bios

    And boot properly

    Time to get back to Google win 8 pro doesn't like the serial so not sure on what to grab

    Has to be 32 bit for the CPU though

  13. #13
    DF PlaYa emu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    928
    Thanks
    215
    Thanked:        189
    Karma Level
    191

    Default Re: acer iconia w510 bios password

    all sorted in the end

    grabbed an all I one windows 8.1 iso and installed the 32 bit core version

    serial worked fine

    only problem was keyboard dock or touchscreen don't wrok while installing so plugged in usb mouse

  14. #14
    Banned Shimdidly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Nacogdoches TX
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default Re: acer iconia w510 bios password

    I'm having some what the same issue. I'm trying to do a factory reset but now it's saying error code 0xc000000f it won't even read the disks. What can I do?

  15. #15
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    19,940
    Thanks
    1,092
    Thanked:        3,181
    Karma Level
    1534

    Default Re: acer iconia w510 bios password

    Quote Originally Posted by Shimdidly View Post
    I'm having some what the same issue. I'm trying to do a factory reset but now it's saying error code 0xc000000f it won't even read the disks. What can I do?
    Welcome to DF, please visit the introduction section and make a post.

    0xcf is usually to do with the SATA operation mode, go to BIOS, find the SATA mode and change it. If you are on IDE/compatibility then switch to AHCI or vice versa.


  16. #16
    Banned Shimdidly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Nacogdoches TX
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default Re: acer iconia w510 bios password

    I have the same error code but when I try to get into bios it says I need to enter current password. I don't know it

  17. #17
    DF VIP Member
    Mule's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Surrey
    Posts
    9,201
    Thanks
    454
    Thanked:        976
    Karma Level
    1038

    Default Re: acer iconia w510 bios password

    That doesn't seem like the correct response.
    Open your heart. Die.

  18. #18
    Banned Shimdidly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Nacogdoches TX
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default Re: acer iconia w510 bios password

    Do you happen to remember where you got the bios password from?

  19. #19
    DF VIP Member
    Mule's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Surrey
    Posts
    9,201
    Thanks
    454
    Thanked:        976
    Karma Level
    1038

    Default Re: acer iconia w510 bios password

    What the fuck are you on about?
    Open your heart. Die.

  20. #20
    Banned Shimdidly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Nacogdoches TX
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default Re: acer iconia w510 bios password

    There's a password to get into bios. How can I either get a default password or clear the current one? I dont know it

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. [HELP] Acer BIOS HDD Password problem
    By DejaVu in forum PC Problems
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 27th July 2016, 02:31 PM
  2. [HELP] Acer Iconia Tab A110
    By giles12212 in forum Android Phones & Tablets
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 4th February 2015, 12:39 PM
  3. [HELP] Acer 5315 bios
    By big3card in forum PC Problems
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 8th October 2013, 12:58 PM
  4. [HELP] ACER ICONIA A500 32GB or Motorola Xoom 32gb?
    By 3tv in forum Android Phones & Tablets
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12th December 2011, 10:40 PM
  5. [HELP] acer 1 bios (zg5)
    By big3card in forum PC Problems
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11th January 2011, 07:22 AM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •