Close

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    DF VIP Member MartinC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    100
    Thanks
    54
    Thanked:        40
    Karma Level
    47

    Default Dynamic DNS for home

    I have been looking around and understanding about dynamic dns, but some of the information seems to contradict each other.

    I am currently using a HH5 and it would be great to find a service that works with this, but installing a small client is also an option. Ideally I am after a free service but again if I have to pay I don't mind, but as this is a test to see if I want to keep it moving forward don't really want any long term thing yet.

    any help or advice would be great. if there is any advantages to changing from a HH5 I might be tempted to that too, but that adds more cost so not sure I would be willing to do that till I have proved it and it becomes useful.

    Main reason for it, so I can use it to host things like Plex, Minecraft and also might dabble at building a website/forum for the fun.

  2. #2
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    19,957
    Thanks
    1,095
    Thanked:        3,187
    Karma Level
    1538

    Default Re: Dynamic DNS for home

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] is my favourite, they have free domains, I think you just have to login once a month to keep them running. But an account is only something like $30 for up to 25 domains for a year! Any recent hardware that has DynDNS built in seems to accept no-ip, including homehubs.

    Personally I would rather a Draytek router, I have the 2850Vn, as it gives you a lot more control over your network if that's what you're after. They just announced their first AC model so I might upgrade to that soon!

    Thanks to evilsatan

    MartinC (23rd April 2015) 


  3. #3
    DF Jedi blacksheep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    3,877
    Thanks
    87
    Thanked:        265
    Karma Level
    488

    Default Re: Dynamic DNS for home

    Second no-IP.com

    Thanks to blacksheep

    MartinC (23rd April 2015) 


  4. #4
    DF Super Moderator Teajunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    3,705
    Thanks
    1,609
    Thanked:        1,566
    Karma Level
    489

    Default Re: Dynamic DNS for home

    My microserver is using changeip.org I don't have to keep logging in to use it and the client on my server keeps it updated automatically.

    they have loads of free domains and the free service is great I have been using it since I got my server and it's been spot on every time.
    Find me on Instagram and twitter @mrteajunke.

    Thanks to Teajunkie

    MartinC (23rd April 2015) 


  5. #5
    DF Moderator EvilBoB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Bedfordshire
    Posts
    6,353
    Thanks
    583
    Thanked:        620
    Karma Level
    569

    Default Re: Dynamic DNS for home

    I'm using DtDNS at the moment which works with my homehub. Got CNAME records pointing at the dynamic name for a few domains and it works seamlessly. No need to worry about crashing services or apps on a PC.
    DF Moderator
    XBox One | Panasonic 4k | MS Surface Pro 3 | 3DSXL | WiiU | RPi3
    XBL : TheSumOfAllEvil

  6. #6
    DF Super Moderator Over Carl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    13,114
    Thanks
    3,920
    Thanked:        1,675
    Karma Level
    1275

    Default Re: Dynamic DNS for home

    Ive been using afraid.org for a while as they don't seem to be planning a stunt like dyndys did.

    Seems like a decent reliable service and as well as A records you can also setup CNAME, MX and even SRV records.

    Unfortunately router support is limited.

  7. #7
    DF Super Moderator
    DejaVu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    9,103
    Thanks
    1,835
    Thanked:        3,998
    Karma Level
    959

    Default Re: Dynamic DNS for home

    DNSExit. Free with your own top level domain too, so you can even use that one you got... [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]. (Why didn't you call me you penis?)
    Run a small client on your PC (if it's on 24/7) and it updates it every 2 minutes.

    As mentioned, if you don't want to run a small App, you can always forward the top level domain and mask it to one of the free services BT Hub 5 has integrated - I forget the ones it does now.


  8. #8
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    19,957
    Thanks
    1,095
    Thanked:        3,187
    Karma Level
    1538

    Default Re: Dynamic DNS for home

    20% off new sign ups at no-ip expires today, code: 20SAVING


  9. #9
    DF PlaYa Squizza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    London
    Posts
    575
    Thanks
    193
    Thanked:        210
    Karma Level
    89

    Default Re: Dynamic DNS for home

    Just switched to no-ip from DynDNS

    I cocked up at first.. I bought the No-Ip service but with no domain name thinking I had to add it afterwards..
    Anyhow, their customer service team credited my account and I am up and running within an hour.

    I have had to ditch my .co.uk domain name and goto .com as they do not support .co.uk, however it is for personal use anyway so not a problem.

    I did have $5 off originally but I could not use it again after my schoolboy error. DynDNS was becoming flakey in my honest opinion. No-IP has some gotchas you have to look out for when making the change but it is all learning rather than their problem. For example I have had to tell my router to accept multiple addresses whereas with DynDNS they were aliases dealt with at their end.

    No biggy and for the few seconds it takes to set up and the money saved, I am very happy. Or at least I hope I am for the next two years.

  10. #10
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    19,957
    Thanks
    1,095
    Thanked:        3,187
    Karma Level
    1538

    Default Re: Dynamic DNS for home

    I use no-ip for over 25 sites and it is solid, most devices that accept dynamic DNS have no-ip listed too which is handy.

    Thanks to evilsatan

    Squizza (4th June 2015) 


Similar Threads

  1. Dynamic DNS problem
    By JonnyDunk in forum DSL or Cable Broadband, Networking & Wireless
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 29th August 2012, 12:13 PM
  2. [REQUEST] Dynamic DNS Provider
    By Conkers in forum DSL or Cable Broadband, Networking & Wireless
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 6th January 2011, 12:07 AM
  3. Dynamic PHP or ASP
    By AspectUK in forum Website Coding & Graphics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 17th June 2003, 10:33 AM
  4. Networking with dynamic IP
    By neo2810 in forum DSL or Cable Broadband, Networking & Wireless
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 26th April 2003, 01:14 AM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •