Close

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    DF Jedi AspectUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    North West
    Posts
    1,092
    Thanks
    156
    Thanked:        390
    Karma Level
    324

    Default MacBook Pro and BT Router

    OK this is really boiling my piss right now.

    Ever since I moved house and changed provider to BT Infinity 2 I've had a problem connecting to the wifi router.
    Every time I shut the lid, the next time I open it up it tries to connect to the router but brings up the enter password box.
    I enter the password but it then says: "Invalid Password"

    I keep pressing the Connect button and sometimes after about 10 attempts it actually connects.
    Other times it simply refuses so I go to System Preferences > Network and remove it from the list and then add it again and go through the same enter password routine until maybe eventually it connects.
    Sometimes I even try restarting both the MacBook and the Router but same issue

    Once connected it's absolutely fine.

    My OpenBox connects fine, my Android phone connects fine, my wife's Chromebook connects fine as does her and the daughters iPhone, it just my MacBook thats having an issue.

    Anyone had this before?

    I'm using Yosemite 10.10.5

  2. #2
    DF Jedi consoles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Way out there
    Posts
    2,707
    Thanks
    365
    Thanked:        872
    Karma Level
    355

    Default Re: MacBook Pro and BT Router

    might be a driver issue, remove the driver and reinstall latest

  3. #3
    DF PwNagE muttleymacclad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    5,717
    Thanks
    931
    Thanked:        659
    Karma Level
    656

    Default Re: MacBook Pro and BT Router

    I've had a similar issue but with a pc laptop and virgin superhub.
    There was a setting on the router that allowed devices connected to the 2ghz to get speeds up to 300mb however it was unstable. I set it back to 54mbs and this solved the problem.

    May be worth looking to see if there's a similar setting on the BT hub.

    Sent from my D5503 using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    DF PlaYa andmor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Newcastle
    Posts
    573
    Thanks
    81
    Thanked:        178
    Karma Level
    251

    Default Re: MacBook Pro and BT Router

    sounds like this person had the same issue..

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    Thanks to andmor

    AspectUK (22nd November 2015) 


  5. #5
    DF Jedi TIN CAN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,252
    Thanks
    165
    Thanked:        63
    Karma Level
    517

    Default Re: MacBook Pro and BT Router

    I had this and ended up turning off the 5ghz band sorted my issue
     iPhone 6 baby...
     iMac 24", 2.4Ghz, 500GB, 4GB RAM
     Macbook Pro 2.4Ghz, 250GB, 4GB RAM

    Thanks to TIN CAN

    AspectUK (22nd November 2015) 


  6. #6
    DF Jedi AspectUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    North West
    Posts
    1,092
    Thanks
    156
    Thanked:        390
    Karma Level
    324

    Default Re: MacBook Pro and BT Router

    I think it's sorted now. Renamed the SSID of the 5Ghz frequency.
    Was so infuriating. Basically my MacBook doesn't understand the 5Ghz frequency but still tries to connect to it??

    Grrr .. hopefully problem free till I remember my Apple ID and upgrade to El Capitan

  7. #7
    DF PlaYa Squizza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    London
    Posts
    575
    Thanks
    193
    Thanked:        210
    Karma Level
    91

    Default Re: MacBook Pro and BT Router

    I remember having similar issues.

    My solution was to buy an Airport Extreme to replace the wifi from the Home Hub.
    So, interweb comess into the Home Hub. then a cable to the Airport Extreme and I then have a few Airport Express' dotted around the house to extend the network, some wired for a better signal.

    Expensive solution, but as the house is all Apple it made sense. I always buy the stuff from the Apple Refurb Store to save a bit of coin.

Similar Threads

  1. N95 and my macbook
    By Thrush in forum Android Phones & Tablets
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16th April 2009, 08:05 AM
  2. MacBook Air
    By CzarJunkie in forum PC Hardware
    Replies: 53
    Last Post: 14th August 2008, 08:31 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 13th March 2008, 10:44 PM
  4. Origo Modem/Router With Linksys Wireless-G Broadband Router
    By AnT2nY in forum DSL or Cable Broadband, Networking & Wireless
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 23rd March 2004, 08:02 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •