Close

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 41 to 52 of 52
  1. #41
    DF VIP Member BigBrand's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    UK.
    Posts
    4,520
    Thanks
    1,544
    Thanked:        1,804
    Karma Level
    380

    Default Re: Openreach Fibre Tracker

    Free upgrade sound good! Although I've yet to know if BT Throttle speeds at peak times, IE for Streaming etc.

  2. #42
    DF Jedi reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    On the couch
    Posts
    2,614
    Thanks
    181
    Thanked:        450
    Karma Level
    362

    Default Re: Openreach Fibre Tracker

    Quote Originally Posted by trueblue924 View Post
    By are starting to offer infinity 2 speeds to infinity 1 customer at no extra cost just an 18m contract but as far as i know your discounts are not extended. This is because the speed increases are definitely coming looks like there is going to be packages up to 100mb at least coming soon. This is probably going to be around the start of the year as there is going to be price increases at the end of the year by customers will prob be given the information about the increases in November when they are made public. The systems have been showing the new packages and there code names recently. However there isn't any real info on what the packages will be.
    I'm guessing this is the G.fast stuff?

    It's supposed to be good for uplink as well which is good news.

    Unfortunately I'm on an ECI cabinet so there are issues with G.INP on these still, if you're on a Huawei cab odds are you'll be getting better speeds.

    I'm hoping a dog will pee up our cabinet soon so they can replace it :/

  3. #43
    DF Moderator piggzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,455
    Thanks
    2,989
    Thanked:        1,516
    Karma Level
    294

    Default Re: Openreach Fibre Tracker

    Quote Originally Posted by BigBrand View Post
    I've yet to know if BT Throttle speeds at peak times, IE for Streaming etc.
    Unless something has changed, no they dont. I get full speed all the time. They do block a number of sites but you can easily get around that if you need to. e.g. Piratebay sites are mostly blocked but it is easy to find a mirror or just use a VPN.

    Thanks to piggzy

    BigBrand (15th October 2017) 


  4. #44
    DF VIP Member BigBrand's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    UK.
    Posts
    4,520
    Thanks
    1,544
    Thanked:        1,804
    Karma Level
    380

    Default Re: Openreach Fibre Tracker

    That's good then.

    I've been using PIA for a week. Does everything I need it to now. Very happy for £35 PA.

  5. #45
    DF Admin maltloaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hereford, Here
    Posts
    16,049
    Thanks
    951
    Thanked:        1,257
    Karma Level
    1362

    Default Re: Openreach Fibre Tracker

    Dragging this up but we had openreach blokes in the road today pulling in cables. I asked them and they are indeed pulling in fibre. The blokes had a team that would follow them to do the connections and commissioning and they thought either the week before of the week after xmas was likely for it to be finished and ready.

    The fibre checker thing still just says it's planned though and nothing is in progress yet.
    Facebook: [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] Garmin Connect: [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    Strava: [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    Surface Book i5
    iMac 21.5" 2.7GHz Core i5 8GB
    iPhone X 256GB
    IPad Pro 9.7" WiFi 128GB
    iPad Air WiFi + Cellular 16GB

  6. #46
    DF VIP Member BigBrand's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    UK.
    Posts
    4,520
    Thanks
    1,544
    Thanked:        1,804
    Karma Level
    380

    Default Re: Openreach Fibre Tracker

    Quote Originally Posted by maltloaf View Post
    Dragging this up but we had openreach blokes in the road today pulling in cables. I asked them and they are indeed pulling in fibre. The blokes had a team that would follow them to do the connections and commissioning and they thought either the week before of the week after xmas was likely for it to be finished and ready.

    The fibre checker thing still just says it's planned though and nothing is in progress yet.
    From my experience Malty when they were pulling cables for me, the tracker jumped 2-3 places to accepting orders in a matter of days.

    Thanks to BigBrand

    maltloaf (22nd November 2017) 


  7. #47
    DF Admin maltloaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hereford, Here
    Posts
    16,049
    Thanks
    951
    Thanked:        1,257
    Karma Level
    1362

    Default Re: Openreach Fibre Tracker

    Ooh I'll keep checking then. I have even been thinking of getting 4G internet as an add on to our stone age internet.
    Facebook: [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] Garmin Connect: [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    Strava: [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    Surface Book i5
    iMac 21.5" 2.7GHz Core i5 8GB
    iPhone X 256GB
    IPad Pro 9.7" WiFi 128GB
    iPad Air WiFi + Cellular 16GB

  8. #48
    DF Moderator piggzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,455
    Thanks
    2,989
    Thanked:        1,516
    Karma Level
    294

    Default Re: Openreach Fibre Tracker

    Good timing as a BT chap I know informed me new products have appeared to be available in the next 2/3 months on the BT systems. He knows it is higher speeds but not exactly what so expect some speed increases hopefully.

  9. #49
    DF Admin maltloaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hereford, Here
    Posts
    16,049
    Thanks
    951
    Thanked:        1,257
    Karma Level
    1362

    Default Re: Openreach Fibre Tracker

    To update this a bit I’m now on fttp with plusnet. 70Mb I am getting at the moment but BT keep putting leaflets through the door saying I can get 300Mb with them. Tempting..
    Facebook: [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] Garmin Connect: [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    Strava: [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    Surface Book i5
    iMac 21.5" 2.7GHz Core i5 8GB
    iPhone X 256GB
    IPad Pro 9.7" WiFi 128GB
    iPad Air WiFi + Cellular 16GB

  10. #50
    DF Admin 4me2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    33,078
    Thanks
    1,867
    Thanked:        2,026
    Karma Level
    2445

    Default Re: Openreach Fibre Tracker

    Quote Originally Posted by maltloaf View Post
    To update this a bit I’m now on fttp with plusnet. 70Mb I am getting at the moment but BT keep putting leaflets through the door saying I can get 300Mb with them. Tempting..
    Bt are taking the piss in comparison to what others are now doing [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    There are 3 types of people in the world - those who make things happen, those who watch things happen; and those who wondered what happened.

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]Conservatives. Putting the 'N' into Cuts.


  11. #51
    DF PiMP pickie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Dorset
    Posts
    458
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked:        71
    Karma Level
    173

    Default Re: Openreach Fibre Tracker

    Quote Originally Posted by maltloaf View Post
    To update this a bit I’m now on fttp with plusnet. 70Mb I am getting at the moment but BT keep putting leaflets through the door saying I can get 300Mb with them. Tempting..
    your only getting 70mb with FTTP ??

  12. #52
    DF Admin maltloaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hereford, Here
    Posts
    16,049
    Thanks
    951
    Thanked:        1,257
    Karma Level
    1362

    Default Re: Openreach Fibre Tracker

    Quote Originally Posted by pickie View Post
    your only getting 70mb with FTTP ??
    The line is capable of much more but plusnet are still running it as a trial and as such it has to fit into the profile of the top end fibre product. Sucks but it’s what I had available.

    Hopefully when I come out the end of my minimum term there will be faster services available from them or I can switch to another fttp provider. Sadly the choice is limited at the moment.
    Facebook: [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] Garmin Connect: [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    Strava: [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    Surface Book i5
    iMac 21.5" 2.7GHz Core i5 8GB
    iPhone X 256GB
    IPad Pro 9.7" WiFi 128GB
    iPad Air WiFi + Cellular 16GB

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Similar Threads

  1. [NEW] need help from anyone high up in BT or openreach!
    By Detector in forum The Dog and Duck
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 9th March 2017, 12:59 PM
  2. [FREE] Bt Home Hub 3 and Openreach Router (Just pay postage)
    By CallmeGoose in forum Buy, Sell and Trade
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 4th November 2014, 10:17 PM
  3. BT Openreach Apprenticeship
    By DaveTheRave in forum Job Centre
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10th February 2013, 09:16 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •