Close

View Poll Results: How much RAM do you have in your main machine you use

Voters
47. You may not vote on this poll
  • 1 gig

    0 0%
  • 2 gig

    1 2.13%
  • 3 gig

    0 0%
  • 4 gig

    5 10.64%
  • 6 gig

    2 4.26%
  • 8 gig

    12 25.53%
  • 12 gig

    6 12.77%
  • 16 gig

    18 38.30%
  • 18 gig

    0 0%
  • 24 gig

    3 6.38%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 31
  1. #1
    DF General DogsBody
    Mickey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Digital Forums
    Posts
    16,720
    Thanks
    1,681
    Thanked:        1,921
    Karma Level
    1236

    Attention How much RAM is your main PC running

    I decided that I needed a new Graphix card, my trusty 550 Ti was getting warm and I wanted to play newer games. So I got my self a 1060 6g SC (Evga) and its awesome. Trouble is the freebie game needed more than 6 gig of memory. My rig had 6 gig of triple channel memory running at 553 mhz. So I decided in order to play this game at its full potential I need more memory. Anyhow I managed to get 12 gig on ebay for £58 stuck it in the rig with my older memory and it all booted up fantastically with 18 gig to play with. I dunno how 553 and 800 memory are compatible but its working fine. So my point is how much memory do you girls and boys have in your main RIG.
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  2. #2
    DF PwNagE flumperino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Isle of flumps
    Posts
    9,607
    Thanks
    518
    Thanked:        678
    Karma Level
    860

    Default Re: How much RAM is your main PC running

    6 gig, and it runs like a dog. Must buy a new PC!!

  3. #3
    DF General DogsBody
    Mickey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Digital Forums
    Posts
    16,720
    Thanks
    1,681
    Thanked:        1,921
    Karma Level
    1236

    Default Re: How much RAM is your main PC running

    Quote Originally Posted by flumperino View Post
    6 gig, and it runs like a dog. Must buy a new PC!!
    why is it running like a dog?

    mine ran fine with 6 gig, just ghost recon needed more ram but to the eye you didn't noticed it at all
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  4. #4
    DF Super Moderator
    DejaVu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    9,103
    Thanks
    1,836
    Thanked:        3,998
    Karma Level
    960

    Default Re: How much RAM is your main PC running

    Just coping with 32Gb here.
    Was considering doubling up to 64Gb. RAM not an issue, my systems bottleneck is drive speed these days i think. I still get lockups known again, need to investigate TBF.

    Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk


  5. #5
    DF PwNagE WRATH OF BOD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Monkey Hangers
    Posts
    6,603
    Thanks
    2,580
    Thanked:        1,222
    Karma Level
    779

    Default Re: How much RAM is your main PC running

    32gb DDR4

  6. #6
    DF Member Threatbot1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked:        17
    Karma Level
    19

    Default Re: How much RAM is your main PC running

    32Gb DDR3 - CPU runing at 4.0Ghz (overclocked)
    12Gb - NVIDIA Titan X GFX Card

    I'm not a gamer, I do coding and use top of the 3D rendering software, rendering just a single image requires 32Gb on the mobo! Designing I could get away with 16Gb, but it wouldnt render without an extra 16Gb.

  7. #7
    DF Demi God diablos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    13,590
    Thanks
    72
    Thanked:        159
    Karma Level
    1419

    Default Re: How much RAM is your main PC running

    32gb overkill as it can never use it.

  8. #8
    DF PwNagE flumperino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Isle of flumps
    Posts
    9,607
    Thanks
    518
    Thanked:        678
    Karma Level
    860

    Default Re: How much RAM is your main PC running

    Quote Originally Posted by Mickey View Post
    why is it running like a dog?

    mine ran fine with 6 gig, just ghost recon needed more ram but to the eye you didn't noticed it at all
    To be honest mate, I may be being unfair - I have a 5-year old mobo too, so it might be that.

  9. #9
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    19,971
    Thanks
    1,096
    Thanked:        3,199
    Karma Level
    1540

    Default Re: How much RAM is your main PC running

    16GB DDR3 in my sandybridge PC (going like a trooper, no idea how this machine is lasting so long) and 20GB DDR4 in my T460s which is the max it can handle I think. Don't need this much usually but handy for VMs.


  10. #10
    DF General DogsBody
    Mickey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Digital Forums
    Posts
    16,720
    Thanks
    1,681
    Thanked:        1,921
    Karma Level
    1236

    Default Re: How much RAM is your main PC running

    Well I had a wobble last night with my ram config, diablo went blank a few times for about 2 seconds. when I turned off the PCit came up with a violation or something error.


    so if it happends again the old mem is coming out and ill be down to just 12
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  11. #11
    DF Moderator piggzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,375
    Thanks
    2,867
    Thanked:        1,490
    Karma Level
    289

    Default Re: How much RAM is your main PC running

    16GB ddr3 but am planning a new build and will got with 32gb ddr4 I assume.

    Mine is mostly Visual Studio using up the RAM I suppose. The Mrs does use photoshop & lightroom which are greedy fuckers.

  12. #12
    DF Super Moderator Ganty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Leicester
    Posts
    9,271
    Thanks
    931
    Thanked:        652
    Karma Level
    1201

    Default Re: How much RAM is your main PC running

    Quote Originally Posted by Mickey View Post
    I decided that I needed a new Graphix card, my trusty 550 Ti was getting warm and I wanted to play newer games. So I got my self a 1060 6g SC (Evga) and its awesome. Trouble is the freebie game needed more than 6 gig of memory. My rig had 6 gig of triple channel memory running at 553 mhz. So I decided in order to play this game at its full potential I need more memory. Anyhow I managed to get 12 gig on ebay for £58 stuck it in the rig with my older memory and it all booted up fantastically with 18 gig to play with. I dunno how 553 and 800 memory are compatible but its working fine. So my point is how much memory do you girls and boys have in your main RIG.
    Your RAM will use the lowest speed used, so you may find it faster even with less RAM if you ditch the old slower stuff.

    Not a lot will uitilise 18GB anyway unless your rendering etc... so you'll be fine with 12.

    Thanks to Ganty

    Mickey (22nd April 2017) 


  13. #13
    DF General DogsBody
    Mickey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Digital Forums
    Posts
    16,720
    Thanks
    1,681
    Thanked:        1,921
    Karma Level
    1236

    Default Re: How much RAM is your main PC running

    Just taken it out (the old ram that is). seen prices on fleabay are like £20+ for it so its going on there
    I think 12 gig should be enough, that's 4 gig more than the recommended spec for ghost recon
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  14. #14
    DF Jedi hilljd00's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,798
    Thanks
    1,316
    Thanked:        358
    Karma Level
    339

    Default Re: How much RAM is your main PC running

    16GB DDR3

  15. #15
    DF Moderator {{909}}'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    China
    Posts
    16,208
    Thanks
    396
    Thanked:        1,370
    Karma Level
    1343

    Default Re: How much RAM is your main PC running

    16gig in mine, I originally built the machine with 8 but found that when I got my 1440p monitor it would complain about low memory with more than a few 24mpix photos open in photoshop.

    My laptop runs the same OS with just 2gig, but a far lower res screen.
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  16. #16
    DF Super Moderator DJ Overdose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    On da decks.
    Posts
    10,012
    Thanks
    967
    Thanked:        2,212
    Karma Level
    1139

    Default Re: How much RAM is your main PC running

    Server got 8gb

    Macbook got 4gb

    Surface 2 got 2gb

    HP stream got 1gb

    iphone 6 plus got 1gb

    So 16gb total lol


    DJ OD
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    Thanks to DJ Overdose

    BertRoot (24th April 2017) 


  17. #17
    DF Super Moderator Over Carl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    13,120
    Thanks
    3,954
    Thanked:        1,681
    Karma Level
    1277

    Default Re: How much RAM is your main PC running

    I've had 24Gb RAM (4x4Gb + 8x1Gb DDR2 FB-DIMMS) in my desktop for ages (it can actually take up to 16x8Gb for total of 128Gb).

    I has 500Gb SSD, but it runs like a bag of shite though, as it's based on a C2Q based Xeon 2.66 overclocked to 3.2. Also Win10 doesn't get on with my Geforce 7800GTX.

    However most of my usage is just browsing to find info, holding files and basic ms office usage, so it still serves my needs.

    My laptop's got 8Gb, although many of the windows installs on that laptop are only x86 so I hardly ever make use of more than 4Gb.

  18. #18
    DF PwNagE prezzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Lancashire
    Posts
    8,127
    Thanks
    719
    Thanked:        983
    Karma Level
    1332

    Default Re: How much RAM is your main PC running

    16GB DDR4 here


  19. #19
    DF PlaYa psxcity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    london/s.wales
    Posts
    777
    Thanks
    72
    Thanked:        87
    Karma Level
    315

    Default Re: How much RAM is your main PC running

    32gb in desktop
    12gb in my laptop

  20. #20
    DF Jedi BigBrand's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    UK.
    Posts
    4,498
    Thanks
    1,539
    Thanked:        1,791
    Karma Level
    379

    Default Re: How much RAM is your main PC running

    Quote Originally Posted by psxcity View Post
    32gb in desktop
    12gb in my laptop
    Fuck a duck!

    Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Best Main Event EVER!
    By -G-Man- in forum Wrestling Freaks
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 19th September 2006, 12:30 PM
  2. main forum
    By jiggy in forum Introduce Yourself (New Members)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 30th December 2004, 07:06 PM
  3. Main HD spins down and up and down and up....
    By Shambles in forum PC Problems
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 5th October 2004, 08:10 PM
  4. Dr Dre - Main Character of GTA: SA ?
    By harryb in forum Sony Consoles
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 27th September 2004, 11:21 AM
  5. What are the 5 main principalities ?
    By Morph in forum The Dog and Duck
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 26th June 2003, 07:26 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •