Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21

Thread: VPN Routers

  1. #1
    DF Jedi jaygo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    IN A HOUSE
    Posts
    2,187
    Thanks
    283
    Thanked:        332
    Karma Level
    329

    Default VPN Routers

    Hi guys

    I’m toying with the idea of going down the vpn router line.

    I’ve got a zenmate premium account but that restricts the hell out of my speed. Do any of you guys on here have a vpn router if so can you give me some advice about best models etc.
    Also what vpn you are using with it that doesn’t restrict your speeds?

    Thanks in advance



    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    DF Moderator piggzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,432
    Thanks
    2,965
    Thanked:        1,507
    Karma Level
    292

    Default Re: VPN Routers

    Asus routers for me are great.
    Be warned though using VPN at router level will lose you quite a bit a speed. This isnt down to the VPN provider but down to the very good encryption that is being used so it requires a LOT of cpu power to handle it.
    As a result you need to spend a lot of pennies to reduce how much speed you lose.
    My £100 router loses me pretty much 50% which is a lot so you get the picture of what you need to spend etc

    Using VPN on the PC instead of router loses less speed (more like 10%) as generally your PC has a lot more power than a router but then every device in the house has to be configured as opposed to just setting up a router.

    Mine is the Asus RT-AC68U or DSL-AC68U if you need built in modem.

    2 Thanks given to piggzy

    jaygo (18th November 2017), Over Carl (18th November 2017) 


  3. #3
    DF Jedi jaygo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    IN A HOUSE
    Posts
    2,187
    Thanks
    283
    Thanked:        332
    Karma Level
    329

    Default Re: VPN Routers

    Quote Originally Posted by piggzy View Post
    Asus routers for me are great.
    Be warned though using VPN at router level will lose you quite a bit a speed. This isnt down to the VPN provider but down to the very good encryption that is being used so it requires a LOT of cpu power to handle it.
    As a result you need to spend a lot of pennies to reduce how much speed you lose.
    My £100 router loses me pretty much 50% which is a lot so you get the picture of what you need to spend etc

    Using VPN on the PC instead of router loses less speed (more like 10%) as generally your PC has a lot more power than a router but then every device in the house has to be configured as opposed to just setting up a router.

    Mine is the Asus RT-AC68U or DSL-AC68U if you need built in modem.
    Thanks piggzy

    I have a vpn I put on my phone for a while and hadn’t used it for a while stuck it on last night and did a few speed tests.


    Top 2 results are with it on
    Third one is with it off and that’s me sat in the same place etc.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    DF Moderator piggzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,432
    Thanks
    2,965
    Thanked:        1,507
    Karma Level
    292

    Default Re: VPN Routers

    WTF Is that VPN at router or device ???

    That is piss poor.

  5. #5
    DF Jedi jaygo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    IN A HOUSE
    Posts
    2,187
    Thanks
    283
    Thanked:        332
    Karma Level
    329

    Default Re: VPN Routers

    That’s me using a vpn on my phone wireless


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    DF Moderator piggzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,432
    Thanks
    2,965
    Thanked:        1,507
    Karma Level
    292

    Default Re: VPN Routers

    I assume you mean you are using it on your phone and setting the VPN up on your phone. In that case, yes it really can be that bad. ARM processors in mobile even in flagship phones are not really powerful enough to handle the encryption. You would be better of either setting up the VPN on the router itself or if not possible connect the mobile via a PC (setup a wifi hotspot on the PC) and let the PC handle the VPN

    2 Thanks given to piggzy

    jaygo (18th November 2017), Over Carl (18th November 2017) 


  7. #7
    DF Jedi jaygo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    IN A HOUSE
    Posts
    2,187
    Thanks
    283
    Thanked:        332
    Karma Level
    329

    Default Re: VPN Routers

    Quote Originally Posted by piggzy View Post
    I assume you mean you are using it on your phone and setting the VPN up on your phone. In that case, yes it really can be that bad. ARM processors in mobile even in flagship phones are not really powerful enough to handle the encryption. You would be better of either setting up the VPN on the router itself or if not possible connect the mobile via a PC (setup a wifi hotspot on the PC) and let the PC handle the VPN
    Could I use my hp microserver to handle my vpn then theoretically?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    DF Moderator piggzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,432
    Thanks
    2,965
    Thanked:        1,507
    Karma Level
    292

    Default Re: VPN Routers

    I would assume so. Not sure how powerful they are but to give you an example . My home Rig is a corei7 3.5ghz not current models this one is about 4 years old off the top of my head.
    If I run my VPN through that PC my speed is about 60MB down (normally 80MB is my full speed on BT fibre) so I lose about 25% this way.
    If I run it through my average powered router (RT-AC68U) I lose about 50% speed but you have the advantage of everything in your house now being behind the VPN.

    In windows 10 you just choose the internet connection and say you want to share it then I believe it shows up as a hotspot. Might be a bit more to it than that, trying to remember.

    I think member EvilSatan has a lot more knowledge on this subject.

    2 Thanks given to piggzy

    jaygo (18th November 2017), Over Carl (18th November 2017) 


  9. #9
    DF Jedi jaygo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    IN A HOUSE
    Posts
    2,187
    Thanks
    283
    Thanked:        332
    Karma Level
    329

    Default Re: VPN Routers

    Quote Originally Posted by piggzy View Post
    I would assume so. Not sure how powerful they are but to give you an example . My home Rig is a corei7 3.5ghz not current models this one is about 4 years old off the top of my head.
    If I run my VPN through that PC my speed is about 60MB down (normally 80MB is my full speed on BT fibre) so I lose about 25% this way.
    If I run it through my average powered router (RT-AC68U) I lose about 50% speed but you have the advantage of everything in your house now being behind the VPN.

    In windows 10 you just choose the internet connection and say you want to share it then I believe it shows up as a hotspot. Might be a bit more to it than that, trying to remember.

    I think member EvilSatan has a lot more knowledge on this subject.
    I’ll look into it then

    I’ve also started reading up on routers too


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

    Thanks to jaygo

    piggzy (18th November 2017) 


  10. #10
    DF Moderator piggzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,432
    Thanks
    2,965
    Thanked:        1,507
    Karma Level
    292

    Default Re: VPN Routers

    Quote Originally Posted by jaygo View Post
    I’ll look into it then

    I’ve also started reading up on routers too


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Not cheap sadly, well not for one that is powerful. It is the best way though to easily and hassle free cover the whole house. I recommend Asus. :-) Good luck.

  11. #11
    DF Jedi jaygo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    IN A HOUSE
    Posts
    2,187
    Thanks
    283
    Thanked:        332
    Karma Level
    329

    Default Re: VPN Routers

    I’ve already got a watch list on eBay so will be trying to blag a bargain


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

    Thanks to jaygo

    piggzy (18th November 2017) 


  12. #12
    DF Super Moderator Over Carl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    13,124
    Thanks
    3,963
    Thanked:        1,684
    Karma Level
    1277

    Default Re: VPN Routers

    If you have old PC's lying around and aren't bothered about the electric bill I would recommend to look into pfsense.

    Add a 2nd NIC to the pc, download the pfsense CD and install, now you have a router with serious CPU power.

    I remember setting one up on a server that had a P4 based Xeon CPU years ago and this could handle 100Mb (up and downstream) of VPN without breaking a sweat while also running a few other CPU intensive add-ons.

    Thanks to Over Carl

    piggzy (18th November 2017) 


  13. #13
    DF Moderator piggzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,432
    Thanks
    2,965
    Thanked:        1,507
    Karma Level
    292

    Default Re: VPN Routers

    Quote Originally Posted by Over Carl View Post
    If you have old PC's lying around and aren't bothered about the electric bill I would recommend to look into pfsense.

    Add a 2nd NIC to the pc, download the pfsense CD and install, now you have a router with serious CPU power.

    I remember setting one up on a server that had a P4 based Xeon CPU years ago and this could handle 100Mb (up and downstream) of VPN without breaking a sweat while also running a few other CPU intensive add-ons.
    Had forgot all about pfsense. That is really good. I was using this on an old PC which died which caused me to buy the Asus router... Totally forgot lol
    Off topic but set the crypto currency of your choice to mine when CPU is below 5% load. When nobody is home you can earn some crypto pmsl

  14. #14
    DF Jedi reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    On the couch
    Posts
    2,614
    Thanks
    181
    Thanked:        450
    Karma Level
    362

    Default Re: VPN Routers

    I run PFsense as a VM here in a VMware cluster and just change the default gateway for anything that needs a VPN, it worked well!

    2 Thanks given to reverend

    Over Carl (18th November 2017), piggzy (18th November 2017) 


  15. #15
    DF Moderator piggzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,432
    Thanks
    2,965
    Thanked:        1,507
    Karma Level
    292

    Default Re: VPN Routers

    Quote Originally Posted by reverend View Post
    I run PFsense as a VM here in a VMware cluster and just change the default gateway for anything that needs a VPN, it worked well!
    Does that not cane the PC it is running on ??? I remember my setup was hammered in a none VM setup although it was very dated hardware that was fit for the bin to be fair ...

  16. #16
    DF Super Moderator Over Carl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    13,124
    Thanks
    3,963
    Thanked:        1,684
    Karma Level
    1277

    Default Re: VPN Routers

    Quote Originally Posted by reverend View Post
    I run PFsense as a VM here in a VMware cluster and just change the default gateway for anything that needs a VPN, it worked well!
    It's been a few years since I used to be working on them on a regular basis for work, and various upgrades have happened since then...... However I'm thinking of getting into IPTV, and for this I was thinking VPN could be handy.

    I'm thinking to see if there is any method to force traffic for certain MAC addresses through VPN and leave normal traffic alone.

  17. #17
    DF Super Moderator Over Carl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    13,124
    Thanks
    3,963
    Thanked:        1,684
    Karma Level
    1277

    Default Re: VPN Routers

    Quote Originally Posted by piggzy View Post
    Does that not cane the PC it is running on ??? I remember my setup was hammered in a none VM setup although it was very dated hardware that was fit for the bin to be fair ...
    I haven't used the latest releases, but from what I remember a P4 is easily enough for 100Mb (up and down) with VPN and various other additional CPU intensive packages. Last time I had a quick experiment about 9 months ago, I used a C2D based laptop (and docking station to plug in 2nd NIC). Barely tickled the resources.

    Thanks to Over Carl

    piggzy (18th November 2017) 


  18. #18
    DF Jedi reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    On the couch
    Posts
    2,614
    Thanks
    181
    Thanked:        450
    Karma Level
    362

    Default Re: VPN Routers

    Here's the last month - the Mrs uses it everyday to watch IPTV via Perfect Player on the Firestick:

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    That's just got 1 vCPU on a 2GHz Xeon E5 2650.

    You can see the CPU spike today where it threw it's toys out the pram.

    I use a Windows DHCP Server with reservations for everything and anything I want to go via the PFsense box I just change the default router and DNS server in the reservation and it's job done.

    Somethings wrong with the Pfsense vm at the minute though as it won't update, just trying to figure it out, it gets half way through then barfs :/

    Our fibre tops out at 35/6 so it's not mega but the VM has no resource issues for streaming multiple IPTV streams (at the weekend there are usually two going at once)

    2 Thanks given to reverend

    Over Carl (18th November 2017), piggzy (18th November 2017) 


  19. #19
    DF Jedi cassy34's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Lytham
    Posts
    1,453
    Thanks
    246
    Thanked:        181
    Karma Level
    309

    Default Re: VPN Routers

    I tried adding a VPN to my router a couple of months back and found that streaming services (Netflix, Amazon Prime and IPlayer) were blocked. Tried with NordVPN, StrongVPN and another I can't remember and although they say it's not an issue, my experience was far from that. They do offer a 30 day money back guarantee, so you won't lose anything, but I gave up on the router based VPN (ASUS AC66U). Didn't really test the speed difference, so can't comment on that.

  20. #20
    DF Jedi hilljd00's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,798
    Thanks
    1,316
    Thanked:        358
    Karma Level
    339

    Default Re: VPN Routers

    I've pretty much all but stopped using my VPN router due to the huge speed lost. Opted for PIA VPN software for now and server uses SSL for everything. Lost too much speed.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. [HELP] Routers.
    By Scarface2003 in forum Internet Connections & VPNs
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 6th October 2010, 05:32 PM
  2. [HELP] 2 routers
    By jaguar982 in forum Internet Connections & VPNs
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 20th September 2009, 09:34 PM
  3. Which VPN Routers
    By bumwin in forum Internet Connections & VPNs
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10th January 2008, 05:48 PM
  4. Routers!
    By Thrush in forum The Whine Cellar
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 8th April 2006, 01:43 PM
  5. Routers
    By hilljd00 in forum PC Hardware
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 25th October 2005, 10:33 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •