Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 22
  1. #1
    DF Jedi CallmeGoose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Norwich
    Posts
    3,569
    Thanks
    2,592
    Thanked:        1,299
    Karma Level
    340

    Default Computer won't power up

    So stupid me took the panels off my pc. And dusted a few fan covers and the top of my graphics card and psu with a microfibre cloth. I disconnected the power lead before this. Now it won't power up. It powers on for like a second turn shuts itself off. The fans all spin and all leds light up and all normal lights come on but it doesn't power on for any more than a second.

    Any help as I need this running today? Thinking I've done something stupid!

    Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    DF PlaYa neilb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    559
    Thanks
    538
    Thanked:        176
    Karma Level
    269

    Default Re: Computer won't power up

    Remove power lead, hold power button for 10 secs, open back up and check all connections, memory fit etc.

    Thanks to neilb

    CallmeGoose (28th January 2018) 


  3. #3
    DF Jedi CallmeGoose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Norwich
    Posts
    3,569
    Thanks
    2,592
    Thanked:        1,299
    Karma Level
    340

    Default Re: Computer won't power up

    Tried that. Nothing. Gpu lights are on. Connections seems fine

    Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    DF Jedi CallmeGoose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Norwich
    Posts
    3,569
    Thanks
    2,592
    Thanked:        1,299
    Karma Level
    340

    Default Re: Computer won't power up

    Disconnected hard drives. Now nothing.

    Reseated gpu. Nothing.

    Removed ram. Nothing.



    Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    DF General DogsBody
    Mickey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Digital Forums
    Posts
    17,125
    Thanks
    1,999
    Thanked:        2,349
    Karma Level
    1288

    Default Re: Computer won't power up

    Check the rog connector this sometimes can come loose its the one with the keyboard/lights/fan/ and on/off. In older times it was a biatch to plug these small jumpers in place and trial and error to get the correct ones in the right pin. now its on a adaptor that simply you add the cables to then plug it in

    make sure its powered down first, (and all lights are out) its probably gone into some sort of failsafe mode. I had this once on my rog board.

    Next take out the boards power and all the power to the graphix card. then replug these.

    Also I think its some kind of short on your system. are there any screws that have come out and shorting your computers motherboard.
    I had an intermittent fault a few years back that only ever happened a few times but gave me either a blue screen or a reboot

    Turns out when I was messing inside the case a small screw from the floppy fell out and lodged between the motherboard and the case
    I thought it had come out but couldn't find it.

    Long story short when I was upgrading the CPU I noticed it lodged between the casing and mboard.


    things to try
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  6. #6
    DF Super Moderator piggzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,921
    Thanks
    3,467
    Thanked:        1,704
    Karma Level
    335

    Default Re: Computer won't power up

    Have you inadvertently hit the switch on the back of your PSU (if it has one) switching from 230 to 110 V ???

  7. #7
    DF Super Moderator+ Ganty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Leicester
    Posts
    9,381
    Thanks
    1,040
    Thanked:        792
    Karma Level
    1231

    Default Re: Computer won't power up

    If it's coming on initially sounds like it's shorting.

    Is there any contact between the mobo and case panels? Are all your spacers in properly?

  8. #8
    DF PwNagE WRATH OF BOD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Monkey Hangers
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    2,678
    Thanked:        1,261
    Karma Level
    793

    Default Re: Computer won't power up

    try removing cmos battery for a few minutes, replace and try to start.

  9. #9
    DF Wh0re WillD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Barcelona
    Posts
    135
    Thanks
    98
    Thanked:        44
    Karma Level
    113

    Default Re: Computer won't power up

    Do you get any beeps?

  10. #10
    DF Jedi CallmeGoose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Norwich
    Posts
    3,569
    Thanks
    2,592
    Thanked:        1,299
    Karma Level
    340

    Default Re: Computer won't power up

    I'll remove the cmos battery later and try that. I'm also going to try the paperclip psu test

    No beeps. Just turns on then turns off

    Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

  11. #11
    DF Super Moderator Teajunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    4,223
    Thanks
    1,881
    Thanked:        1,890
    Karma Level
    540

    Default Re: Computer won't power up

    Take some pics of the areas you have dusted someone might see a simple jumper missing or an obvious solution?
    Instagram and twitter @mrteajunkie.

  12. #12
    DF Jedi CallmeGoose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Norwich
    Posts
    3,569
    Thanks
    2,592
    Thanked:        1,299
    Karma Level
    340

    Default Re: Computer won't power up

    I did the paperclip test and the fan starts and then stops.

    Failed psu?

    Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

  13. #13
    DF Jedi CallmeGoose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Norwich
    Posts
    3,569
    Thanks
    2,592
    Thanked:        1,299
    Karma Level
    340

    Default Re: Computer won't power up

    I dusted the top of the fan covers. The top of the gpu shield and the top of the psu. I'll take some pics in a min

    Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

  14. #14
    DF Jedi CallmeGoose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Norwich
    Posts
    3,569
    Thanks
    2,592
    Thanked:        1,299
    Karma Level
    340

    Default Re: Computer won't power up

    Sounds like it's the psu. It's still under manufacturers corsair 10year warranty so fuck it. It can go back once I get home from sea in 4 weeks

    Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

  15. #15
    DF Super Moderator
    DejaVu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Suffolk
    Posts
    9,041
    Thanks
    1,832
    Thanked:        4,001
    Karma Level
    967

    Default Re: Computer won't power up

    I would be shocked if it were your power supply, Corsair PSU's are pretty robust and think you are probably barking up the wrong tree.

    Reading through this lot, I'm still thinking you have either a short or a dodgy connection - loose ram, bit of dust in a connector. That type of stuff.

    neilb's shout powering for 30 seconds with it unplugged is also almost on point, this has got me out of trouble loads of times with this exact problem... however, directions are slightly wrong and I'll explain why.
    Your Microfibre cloth is riddled with static electricity. Unplugging the power lead still isolates the static being held in the PC most likely the most sensitive area - your GPU & Motherboard BIOS Chip.

    Leave the PC PLUGGED in with the power OFF at the wall - it is then Earthed only.

    Holding the power button down for 30 seconds opens the circuit and allows the static electricity to escape to ground via the switched off plug and your system completely free of all stuck static electricity.
    Turn the PC back on and all should be rosy in the world again.

    3 Thanks given to DejaVu

    Bald Bouncer (28th January 2018), CallmeGoose (29th January 2018), piggzy (28th January 2018) 


  16. #16
    DF Jedi CallmeGoose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Norwich
    Posts
    3,569
    Thanks
    2,592
    Thanked:        1,299
    Karma Level
    340

    Default Re: Computer won't power up

    i did the paperclip test, and the PSU comes on (fan spins) then switches off.

    this is with the PSU removed from the PC, clip inserted to bridge - and turned on. fan spins, and then goes off.

  17. #17
    DF Super Moderator
    DejaVu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Suffolk
    Posts
    9,041
    Thanks
    1,832
    Thanked:        4,001
    Karma Level
    967

    Default Re: Computer won't power up

    Quote Originally Posted by CallmeGoose View Post
    i did the paperclip test, and the PSU comes on (fan spins) then switches off.

    this is with the PSU removed from the PC, clip inserted to bridge - and turned on. fan spins, and then goes off.
    I believe the PSU is designed to do this because you are not presenting a load to it to power. If there is nothing connected, I think they do switch themselves off.

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    Click Haswell Compatibility with Corsair PSU
    Click Paperclip Test

    It asks to attach a case fan. I reckon this is to ensure the load is asked for and continues to be sent. Going by the PSU paperclip test without a case fan connected I feel would cause it to power off.

    I may be completely wrong, but worth a go. If the PSU stays on, powers the fan. Your PSU is golden. If not and does go off, it's toast.

    Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk


  18. #18
    DF Jedi CallmeGoose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Norwich
    Posts
    3,569
    Thanks
    2,592
    Thanked:        1,299
    Karma Level
    340

    Default Re: Computer won't power up

    DEJAVU ---- YOUR A FUCKING GENIUS! IT WORKED!!!!

  19. #19
    DF Jedi CallmeGoose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Norwich
    Posts
    3,569
    Thanks
    2,592
    Thanked:        1,299
    Karma Level
    340

    Default Re: Computer won't power up

    rights its powering up.... but no graphics output.... need to see what else is wrong...

  20. #20
    DF Super Moderator
    DejaVu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Suffolk
    Posts
    9,041
    Thanks
    1,832
    Thanked:        4,001
    Karma Level
    967

    Default Re: Computer won't power up

    Static build up on the GPU or it's not got the cables to the rear seated correctly.

    Or even, a partical of dust has lodged itself in the PCI slot. Give it a blow (without flob) and see if it sorts it.

    Or could even be a simple case of iffy connection the DVI cable?

    Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •