Close

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    20,187
    Thanks
    1,144
    Thanked:        3,342
    Karma Level
    1567

    Default Wiring a mains socket direct to the fuse board?

    Looking for some advice from a spark or anyone that would know the answer, I need to install a mains socket into the cupboard where my fuseboard is, looks easy to do but I was more concerned with best practice and not voiding my home insurance etc.

    Below is a pic with the cover removed. I assume I would kill the power going into the fuseboard using the breakers that are not pictured but are connected to the two grey wires entering the board, connect the neutral and earth to the common blocks at the top and the live cable to the top of the breaker for the ground floor sockets.

    My question is what spec cable should I use? Is this a big no no for insurance purposes? Are my assumptions above correct?

    The socket will only be used for charging a hand held hoover and maybe other low powered devices so I don't think it will affect the rating of the fuse/breaker for that circuit.

    Spoiler:
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]


    Cheers!


  2. #2
    DF Super Moderator Teajunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    4,293
    Thanks
    1,924
    Thanked:        1,924
    Karma Level
    547

    Default Re: Wiring a mains socket direct to the fuse board?

    I have done this exact thing for friends and family not sure about insurance but tbh how will anyone know it wasnít there already?
    I donít see any problem personally adding a spur off the fuse box to a twin socket as long as your competent enough will be a piece of cake.

    I added a new ring main into our garage for the server and pc etc but because I am running a tumble dryer and a heater I used 16amp twin and earth.
    Instagram and twitter @mrteajunkie.

    Thanks to Teajunkie

    evilsatan (24th March 2018) 


  3. #3
    DF PlaYa Nathz29's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    800
    Thanks
    143
    Thanked:        101
    Karma Level
    180

    Default Re: Wiring a mains socket direct to the fuse board?

    Use 2.5mm twin and earth, your consumer unit is a split load RCD unit so make sure you connect the neutral to the correct bar or it'll trip.

    Get a voltage tester to make sure it's not live before you touch it.

    Have to advise that is should be carried out by an electrician etc .


    Sent from my Armor_2 using Tapatalk

    Thanks to Nathz29

    evilsatan (24th March 2018) 


  4. #4
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    20,187
    Thanks
    1,144
    Thanked:        3,342
    Karma Level
    1567

    Default Re: Wiring a mains socket direct to the fuse board?

    Cheers lads, usually I'd get an electrician out but as the fuse board is in the same location I can run the cable neatly myself and this particular job looks like something I can do in a morning and save a bit of money. Just wanted to ask on here first in case I was missing something or if I absolutely shouldn't touch it. If I have time will nip down screwfix tomorrow.


  5. #5
    DF Super Moderator piggzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,931
    Thanks
    3,471
    Thanked:        1,711
    Karma Level
    338

    Default Re: Wiring a mains socket direct to the fuse board?

    I do stuff like this on the odd occasion and no matter how much I check breakers are off, double check with a multi meter etc, I still shit myself a little bit the first time the screw driver touches that first connector ....

  6. #6
    DF Jedi coin-op's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    About
    Posts
    2,693
    Thanks
    66
    Thanked:        213
    Karma Level
    405

    Default Re: Wiring a mains socket direct to the fuse board?

    Quote Originally Posted by piggzy View Post
    I do stuff like this on the odd occasion and no matter how much I check breakers are off, double check with a multi meter etc, I still shit myself a little bit the first time the screw driver touches that first connector ....
    Pussy - I regularly work live on stuff like this. It can have its pitfalls though. My oppo was removing some redundant 16 square 3 phase from trunking and cut through the "dead" cables only to find out (afterwards) that they crossed over as they entered the trunking.
    a big boom and flash and the whole board tripped.

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •