Close

Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Virmin Media

  1. #1
    DF Jedi ilscuro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Stockport
    Posts
    4,880
    Thanks
    1,503
    Thanked:        1,412
    Karma Level
    589

    Default Vermin Media

    I know we are about 10 years behind 'up norf' as my street is just this week getting Virmin cables laid, so my question, is it worth changing to them just for broadband?

    Not interested in their TV.

  2. #2
    DF PlaYa Nathz29's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    801
    Thanks
    144
    Thanked:        103
    Karma Level
    182

    Default Re: Vermin Media

    I have had them for about ten years, been down 3 times, speeds as advertised pretty much, upload speeds not great though

    Sent from my POCOPHONE F1 using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    DF Super Moderator piggzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,950
    Thanks
    3,490
    Thanked:        1,719
    Karma Level
    341

    Default Re: Virmin Media

    I had em for a couple of years and went back to Openreach based ISP's .... the constant price increases got ridiculuos.
    I get 80/20 fibre and thats good enough for me at a fraction of Virmin's prices.

  4. #4
    DF General DogsBody
    Mickey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Digital Forums
    Posts
    17,257
    Thanks
    2,086
    Thanked:        2,412
    Karma Level
    1299

    Default Re: Virmin Media

    Check out my virmin threads
    They are a set of cnuts for what they have done to me.
    I had a month of hell when I went back with them.

    I'm very happy with BT getting 80/20 without much issues
    VPN didn't work on virmin and they wouldn't send out the older router that could work with VPN
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    Thanks to Mickey

    piggzy (26th April 2019) 


  5. #5
    DF Super Moderator+ Ganty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Leicester
    Posts
    9,391
    Thanks
    1,063
    Thanked:        798
    Karma Level
    1234

    Default Re: Virmin Media

    Been with them for several years, and probably had about 12 hours down time during that total.

    Very happy with the speeds, although a little pricey.

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  6. #6
    DF Super Moderator piggzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,950
    Thanks
    3,490
    Thanked:        1,719
    Karma Level
    341

    Default Re: Virmin Media

    Quote Originally Posted by Mickey View Post
    Check out my virmin threads
    They are a set of cnuts for what they have done to me.
    I had a month of hell when I went back with them.

    I'm very happy with BT getting 80/20 without much issues
    VPN didn't work on virmin and they wouldn't send out the older router that could work with VPN
    Yeah forums seem clogged with customers saying how their CS is the worst of any company they ever dealt with.

  7. #7
    DF PwNagE dpSparhawk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Liverpool
    Posts
    7,007
    Thanks
    1,802
    Thanked:        2,571
    Karma Level
    803

    Default Re: Virmin Media

    Quote Originally Posted by piggzy View Post
    Yeah forums seem clogged with customers saying how their CS is the worst of any company they ever dealt with.
    You'll find that with the vast majority of ISP's CS to be fair. People whom have had a bad experience for whatever reason will slate the CS and it's pretty much rife across ALL ISP's.

  8. #8
    DF Super Moderator piggzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,950
    Thanks
    3,490
    Thanked:        1,719
    Karma Level
    341

    Default Re: Virmin Media

    Ive had excellent CS from 3 ISP's.
    Not with any of them right now lol as I change supplier end of every contract to get the best price and am always happy to try someone new.

    Currently with Vodafone and they are ok but don't think I would use them again tbh, not quite the speed I got with previous but good enough.

  9. #9
    DF Super Moderator Teajunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    4,338
    Thanks
    1,938
    Thanked:        1,956
    Karma Level
    552

    Default Re: Vermin Media

    Quote Originally Posted by ilscuro View Post
    I know we are about 10 years behind 'up norf'.
    We must be in the dark ages they have informed me they have no interest installing cable to our area as it’s too far out.
    They keep saying to check back as this may change but I doubt it.

    We only got fibre to the cabinet about 5 years ago.
    The last bt engineer that came out to us said the cable running from the exchange here is aluminium which is utter shite.
    Bt won’t replace it and half of the available connections are unusable.
    Instagram and twitter @mrteajunkie.

  10. #10
    DF Jedi ilscuro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Stockport
    Posts
    4,880
    Thanks
    1,503
    Thanked:        1,412
    Karma Level
    589

    Default Re: Virmin Media

    Think i will stick with Now Tv and my IPTV for now then, my internet has been problem free for 16 months, so better the devil you know.

  11. #11
    DF Super Moderator piggzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,950
    Thanks
    3,490
    Thanked:        1,719
    Karma Level
    341

    Default Re: Vermin Media

    Quote Originally Posted by Teajunkie View Post
    The last bt engineer that came out to us said the cable running from the exchange here is aluminium which is utter shite.
    Bt won’t replace it and half of the available connections are unusable.
    Same problem in my area with aluminium. There was a shortage of copper in the 70s and alu was used as a replacment but sporadically.
    I am lucky and get 80/20 in fibre but my neighbour 2 doors away gets 15 down as they got ally instead of copper lol

    They has said they will only replace it when they replace with fibre in areas that are economically viable.

  12. #12
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    20,201
    Thanks
    1,146
    Thanked:        3,349
    Karma Level
    1571

    Default Re: Virmin Media

    I rate Virgin tbh, I have had a few problems but after speaking to CS (sometimes easy, sometimes a battle) I end up with some money back or a good deal. Can’t beat the speeds otherwise I would go elsewhere, Virgin control my estate and we don’t have BT FTTP.

    Thanks to evilsatan

    WRATH OF BOD (29th April 2019) 


  13. #13
    DF Super Moderator Teajunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    4,338
    Thanks
    1,938
    Thanked:        1,956
    Karma Level
    552

    Default Re: Virmin Media

    Why on Earth is the upload so shite on virgin?
    20mb upload with 500mb download.

    Why not have 50 or 100mb upload?
    Instagram and twitter @mrteajunkie.

  14. #14
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    20,201
    Thanks
    1,146
    Thanked:        3,349
    Karma Level
    1571

    Default Re: Virmin Media

    Quote Originally Posted by Teajunkie View Post
    Why on Earth is the upload so shite on virgin?
    20mb upload with 500mb download.

    Why not have 50 or 100mb upload?
    I guess the average person downloads a lot more than they upload, they said recently they want to make upload 10% of the download bandwidth i.e. 350Mbps connection would have 35Mbps upload but it sounds like their 500Mbps connection will only have 35Mbps still for now at least.


  15. #15
    DF Super Moderator piggzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,950
    Thanks
    3,490
    Thanked:        1,719
    Karma Level
    341

    Default Re: Virmin Media

    Quote Originally Posted by Teajunkie View Post
    Why on Earth is the upload so shite on virgin?
    20mb upload with 500mb download.

    Why not have 50 or 100mb upload?
    Because they don't want people setting up small hosting business from home basically or hosting there own websites.

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •