Close

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    DF Moderator mc.dodd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Wrecsam
    Posts
    3,590
    Thanks
    1,289
    Thanked:        377
    Karma Level
    574

    Default setting up a Hckintosh

    I've got a few old PCs knocking about i3 or i5 I think, the PCs are a few years old and only about 4gb ram (I can upgrade as home some spare ram)
    been looking on Tonymacx86 site about creating a hackintosh
    Has anyone done this?

  2. #2
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    20,246
    Thanks
    1,154
    Thanked:        3,378
    Karma Level
    1576

    Default Re: setting up a Hckintosh

    I have made them in the past and to be honest it’s far easier to just use VMware in a windows host to run macOS. Does the hardware support virtualisation? You can usually see it in the BIOS or processor specs on the intel site. What was it you wanted to use it for?


  3. #3
    DF Moderator mc.dodd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Wrecsam
    Posts
    3,590
    Thanks
    1,289
    Thanked:        377
    Karma Level
    574

    Default Re: setting up a Hckintosh

    Hi, many thanks. Well, it's related to my other post in VIP, but I just want to try and run some software to test it.
    I tried a Virtualbox install but couldn't get it to run. I'll look into VMware setups.
    cheers

  4. #4
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    20,246
    Thanks
    1,154
    Thanked:        3,378
    Karma Level
    1576

    Default Re: setting up a Hckintosh

    VMWare workstation, I think you need to install a patch for macOS VMs but easy to do and readily available. If you needed Mac only then a hackintosh may be better, been years since I last played with one so it might be a lot more solid now but back then kexts could be problematic to get for some hardware.

    Thanks to evilsatan

    mc.dodd (3rd December 2019) 


  5. #5
    DF PwNagE casio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    sat on my arse
    Posts
    7,402
    Thanks
    337
    Thanked:        278
    Karma Level
    912

    Default Re: setting up a Hckintosh

    ive ran an i3 hackintosh with 8gb of ram for about 8years and not had a single problem with it, follow the tonymac guide and grab the kexts you need and itll be easy to set up and get running, ive not installed Catalina on it yet but thats because everything is working but on my macbook air some applications are flakey on Catalina

    hth

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •