Close

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    DF Jedi QUALCAST's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    whitstable
    Posts
    1,057
    Thanks
    111
    Thanked:        160
    Karma Level
    365

    Help Hotspot help please,

    Hi all, so my internet went down the other week for some reason so i thought i will use my phone as a hotspot, never done it before so thought why not,
    Had a little usb wifi dongle thing so put that in the pc.

    I live quite rurual so on bt internet i only get about 1.8MB/s pretty damm slow,

    Im on three for my mobile , unlimited data etc etc.

    Connected it up and downloaded COD at between 10 and 12 MB/s , i was very happy , couldnt believe it .

    my internet came back on so i carried on as usual using the bt fibre ,

    A big patch for cod came out so i though , no probs i'll just hotspot it, however when i dosconnected the lan and connected the hotspot , i got 2.0MB/s
    And thats it i cant get it to go any faster, im using it agin now for the current cod patch, 1.9MB/s , just as useless as the home connection.

    Why did i get this amazing speed (for me) just once and never again??

    any help or settings advice would be good,

    huwawei p20mate pro is my phone.

    Thanks

    Adam

  2. #2
    DF PlaYa MHP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    The Clock End
    Posts
    716
    Thanks
    552
    Thanked:        436
    Karma Level
    124

    Default Re: Hotspot help please,

    Just a guess, but they could of throttled you. Check your terms and conditions for unlimited data, especially anything about fair use and tethering.

  3. #3
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    20,279
    Thanks
    1,161
    Thanked:        3,398
    Karma Level
    1581

    Default Re: Hotspot help please,

    As above, I think you’re probably being penalised for breaking the terms of your data, I can’t imagine they’d offer an all you can eat data sim which allowed tethering or people would run their homes on it!


  4. #4
    DF Jedi QUALCAST's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    whitstable
    Posts
    1,057
    Thanks
    111
    Thanked:        160
    Karma Level
    365

    Default Re: Hotspot help please,

    Thanks guys I thought this too however I contacted on their website and was shown this.

    Three offers truly unlimited data on SIM Only, Pay Monthly and Pay As You Go phone plans, as well as unlimited Mobile Broadband plans. There are no speed restrictions on Three's unlimited data plans and you can tether as much data as you like.

    So accordimg to that it shouldn't :!

  5. #5
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    20,279
    Thanks
    1,161
    Thanked:        3,398
    Karma Level
    1581

    Default Re: Hotspot help please,

    Other than that, signal fluctuates and I'm not sure if they shape traffic at times. Could always give them a call if you know it's allowed on your plan.


  6. #6
    DF General DogsBody
    Mickey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Digital Forums
    Posts
    17,459
    Thanks
    2,210
    Thanked:        2,510
    Karma Level
    1325

    Default Re: Hotspot help please,

    I also thought throttling

    but I would ring them up and give them a piece of your mind as it states this in the T-Cs
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  7. #7
    DF PwNagE BigBrand's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    UK.
    Posts
    5,130
    Thanks
    1,808
    Thanked:        2,055
    Karma Level
    436

    Default Re: Hotspot help please,

    Any limits in the fine print about first few GB at X amount of bandwidth etc?

  8. #8
    DF Rookie Andysim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Location
    ldn
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default Re: Hotspot help please,

    I don't think that it's 3 throttling you. It's more likely that it's the server the COD patch is on. If everyone is downloading from the same server they'll limit the speed to serve more people. I'm on 3 and regularly hit 6-700gb download per month. Anything upto a terabite per month on 3 and they're fine. If you read their fair usage small print it says upto 1000gb per month on unlimited plans

    Oh and the fact that your home b/b is downloading the patch at the same speed also points to the COD server limiting download speeds
    Last edited by Andysim; 3 Weeks Ago at 11:47 AM. Reason: ..

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •