Close

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: plex issues

  1. #1
    DF PiMP markscott75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Holyhead, uk
    Posts
    302
    Thanks
    52
    Thanked:        5
    Karma Level
    213

    Help plex issues

    Any plex experts out there?

    I have plex media server on a windows 10 pc, which has worked great between my 2 firesticks. Problem I have is that one of the firesticks and my phone have stopped streaming from the server. I have tried resetting the server and the software on the stick and phone but no joy. One fire stick still works fine, so I bought another firestick installed and it works fine, but now the 2nd stick which was ok has now stopped working.

    All devices see the server and its contents, but when I click on something to watch I just get a little orange disk going round and round.

    I have posted on the plex forums, but no one seems to want to answer the question.

    Any help would be great!!

  2. #2
    DF Super Moderator MrTeajunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    5,138
    Thanks
    2,279
    Thanked:        2,507
    Karma Level
    629

    Default Re: plex issues

    Have you set a maximum amount of streams?
    Mines set to two as anymore and it just buffers like mad.

    Also enable allow fallback to insecure connections.
    I had a similar issue and it appeared to be requiring a secure connection.
    Instagram and twitter @mrteajunkie.
    I make mugs, keyrings, coasters, T-shirt’s and decals.

    Thanks to MrTeajunkie

    markscott75 (1 Week Ago) 


  3. #3
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    20,444
    Thanks
    1,211
    Thanked:        3,492
    Karma Level
    1603

    Default Re: plex issues

    When you reset the software on the stick do you mean you cleared the app data? What happens if you reset the stick to factory and set up again?

    Is the Plex server status showing as "nearby" or "remote" on the sticks? I would have said a firewall issue but if one works then that is weird, if you add new media to PMS does it show on the sticks that will not play anything?

    Thanks to evilsatan

    markscott75 (1 Week Ago) 


  4. #4
    DF PiMP markscott75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Holyhead, uk
    Posts
    302
    Thanks
    52
    Thanked:        5
    Karma Level
    213

    Help Re: Plex Issues

    For some reason it won't let me reply to comments.

    MrTeaJunkie: I only use one a time I've never used more.

    EvilSatan: I've tried resetting the stick, clearing cache and data. Also as mentioned I bought a new stick which worked, but knocked my other working one down. The sticks see the data on the server, just wont play it.

    Thanks

  5. #5
    DF Super Moderator MrTeajunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    5,138
    Thanks
    2,279
    Thanked:        2,507
    Karma Level
    629

    Default Re: plex issues

    And the secure connections?
    Instagram and twitter @mrteajunkie.
    I make mugs, keyrings, coasters, T-shirt’s and decals.

    Thanks to MrTeajunkie

    markscott75 (1 Week Ago) 


  6. #6
    DF PiMP markscott75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Holyhead, uk
    Posts
    302
    Thanks
    52
    Thanked:        5
    Karma Level
    213

    Default Re: plex issues

    As far as I can tell the connections are secure. The only difference is the one that works is hardwired in, but I have tried it wireless and it works fine.

  7. #7
    DF Wh0re icewarrior's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    129
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked:        50
    Karma Level
    219

    Default Re: plex issues

    Have you checked Authorised Devices on your Plex Server ?
    Have you got the latest version of Plex Server installed ?

    Thanks to icewarrior

    markscott75 (1 Week Ago) 


  8. #8
    DF PiMP markscott75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Holyhead, uk
    Posts
    302
    Thanks
    52
    Thanked:        5
    Karma Level
    213

    Default Re: plex issues

    Icewarrior, Devices authorised and latest versions installed.

  9. #9
    DF Super Moderator MrTeajunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    5,138
    Thanks
    2,279
    Thanked:        2,507
    Karma Level
    629

    Default Re: plex issues

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    Have you allowed fallback fallback to insecure?
    Instagram and twitter @mrteajunkie.
    I make mugs, keyrings, coasters, T-shirt’s and decals.

    Thanks to MrTeajunkie

    markscott75 (1 Week Ago) 


  10. #10
    DF PiMP markscott75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Holyhead, uk
    Posts
    302
    Thanks
    52
    Thanked:        5
    Karma Level
    213

    Default Re: plex issues

    MrTeaJunkie I've just tried that! 1. It works! 2. It takes about 15 secs for it to start. when it was almost instantaneous previously. Cheers bud

  11. #11
    DF Super Moderator MrTeajunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    5,138
    Thanks
    2,279
    Thanked:        2,507
    Karma Level
    629

    Default Re: plex issues

    Quote Originally Posted by markscott75 View Post
    MrTeaJunkie I've just tried that! 1. It works! 2. It takes about 15 secs for it to start. when it was almost instantaneous previously. Cheers bud
    Pretty much what I have been saying from the start.
    Instagram and twitter @mrteajunkie.
    I make mugs, keyrings, coasters, T-shirt’s and decals.

    Thanks to MrTeajunkie

    markscott75 (1 Week Ago) 


  12. #12
    DF Wh0re icewarrior's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    129
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked:        50
    Karma Level
    219

    Default Re: plex issues

    I have got my "Allow Fallback to Insecure Connections" set to "On Same Network as Server" as I usually only run mine at home but still allows remote connection if secure ?

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •