Close

Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst 12345678 LastLast
Results 81 to 100 of 148
  1. #81
    DF Member chase's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    Ok the stats thing does work BUT, when i try to join a server it says "Servers version is outdated". Whats that mean?

    Edit, nevermind i guess their demo servers.

  2. #82
    DF Rookie Zander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    gunhero,

    I'd love to see such a thing happen, and honestly I don't think it would be that difficult to do. Just analyze some GOOD server query data traffic and you could possibly emulate what the master server does.

    chase,

    That's usually what happens when you try to join a server running the demo. Alot of the servers on that servers.php web page on epic's site are demo servers, just so ya know.

    Anyway... I found a MUCH better packet writer called Rafale X by some french guys. Freeware too. woot. At least now I can send tcp data packets. This should give me some stuff to play with.

    Z

  3. #83
    DF Member chase's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    Yeah i fgured that out. BTW I found a couple that works Hopefully they wont patch this.

  4. #84
    DF Rookie gob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by gunhero
    hello
    this might be a stupid idea but what the heck

    why dont anyone of you with good programming skills make your own master server program

    like somekind of program that you run with unreal 2003 that sends your ip to a privat server if your host a game..
    and then that server could send out the whole list like on a website or into the program to everyone that wants to play..


    i hope you know what i meen =)

    in my head it doesnt seem hard to make
    i would if i had the c++ skills =)
    ohh well
    =)
    or even better, just have a program that you run yourself, and the game connects to 127.0.0.1 to check the key. make the program open source so other games with similar procedures work with it

  5. #85
    DF Rookie gob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    btw, isnt there a key or somthing that the demo uses to connect to the master server?? could that be used in the full version?

  6. #86
    DF VIP Member gunhero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    190
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by gob


    or even better, just have a program that you run yourself, and the game connects to 127.0.0.1 to check the key. make the program open source so other games with similar procedures work with it
    but then you still have to trick the true master server that you have a good key..
    the server should be independent so that epic cant patch the server so it wont work after a while
    hehehehe

  7. #87
    DF MaSter XtasyO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by gunhero


    but then you still have to trick the true master server that you have a good key..
    the server should be independent so that epic cant patch the server so it wont work after a while
    hehehehe
    no, didn't you read the post on page 4?

    A server connection works as follows:

    code:
    Packet #1
    0x0000 06 00 00 00 05 35 34 36-31 00 .....5461.

    Packet #2
    0x0000 55 00 00 00 21 37 62 33-32 66 33 62 34 65 35 66 U...!7b32f3b4e5f
    0x0010 61 63 30 35 65 61 37 63-65 31 65 38 30 37 38 64 ac05ea7ce1e8078d
    0x0020 61 61 38 34 64 00 21 xx-xx xx xx xx xx xx xx xx aa84d.!xxxxxxxxx
    0x0030 xx xx xx xx xx xx xx xx-xx xx xx xx xx xx xx xx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
    0x0040 xx xx xx xx xx xx xx 00-07 53 45 52 56 45 52 00 a7c851e..SERVER.
    0x0050 3B 08 00 00 FF FF FF FF-04 ;...ÿÿÿÿ.

    Packet #3
    0x0000 0A 00 00 00 09 41 50 50-52 4F 56 45 44 00 .....APPROVED.



    Here we see the same CD Key is used (as the first hash is the same), but this time the master server will allow it.

    Apparently the master server allows servers to be listed regardless of key (as we already knew from experimentation).

    So it would be theoretically possible to spoof the client as being a server.

    therefore, if you ran some kind of local server on 127.0.0.1 and it authenticated with the master server it wouldn't matter what the key was, you could get your listing form 127.0.0.1 ;) good work guys.

  8. #88
    DF Rookie twistedps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    why dont you just poison your nameserver, and have it point to the 127.0.0.1 as the master server... it will probably time out... and just go through anyways.

  9. #89
    DF Rookie twistedps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by Hellkeeper
    Research shows there is a hole though.

    A client authenciation goes as follows:
    Code:
    Packet #1
    0x0000   07 00 00 00 06 32 36 35-37 34 00                  .....26574.
    
    Packet #2
    0x0000   51 00 00 00 21 37 62 33-32 66 33 62 34 65 35 66   Q...!7b32f3b4e5f
    0x0010   61 63 30 35 65 61 37 63-65 31 65 38 30 37 38 64   ac05ea7ce1e8078d
    0x0020   61 61 38 34 64 00 21 xx-xx xx xx xx xx xx xx xx   aa84d.!xxxxxxxxx
    0x0030   xx xx xx xx xx xx xx xx-xx xx xx xx xx xx xx xx   xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
    0x0040   xx xx xx xx xx xx xx 00-07 43 4C 49 45 4E 54 00   xxxxxxx..CLIENT.
    0x0050   3B 08 00 00 04                                    ;....
    After the challenge there simply is no response from the master server. Effectively blocking the client in the "Querying master server" state, which we see in the menu.

    A server connection works as follows:
    Code:
    Packet #1
    0x0000   06 00 00 00 05 35 34 36-31 00                     .....5461.
    
    Packet #2
    0x0000   55 00 00 00 21 37 62 33-32 66 33 62 34 65 35 66   U...!7b32f3b4e5f
    0x0010   61 63 30 35 65 61 37 63-65 31 65 38 30 37 38 64   ac05ea7ce1e8078d
    0x0020   61 61 38 34 64 00 21 xx-xx xx xx xx xx xx xx xx   aa84d.!xxxxxxxxx
    0x0030   xx xx xx xx xx xx xx xx-xx xx xx xx xx xx xx xx   xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
    0x0040   xx xx xx xx xx xx xx 00-07 53 45 52 56 45 52 00   a7c851e..SERVER.
    0x0050   3B 08 00 00 FF FF FF FF-04                        ;...ÿÿÿÿ.
    
    Packet #3
    0x0000   0A 00 00 00 09 41 50 50-52 4F 56 45 44 00         .....APPROVED.
    Here we see the same CD Key is used (as the first hash is the same), but this time the master server will allow it.

    Apparently the master server allows servers to be listed regardless of key (as we already knew from experimentation).

    So it would be theoretically possible to spoof the client as being a server. The master server might not put connections in a certain client or server pool and work fine. Its certainly worth the research. This can be achieved by writing either a gateway master server (which changes CLIENT to SERVER on the fly). Or modifiying the executable code to send SERVER. Both should be easily possible as the strings are of the same length.

    On a side note:
    Zander no other forums come to mind right now, I looked at other Unreal Tournament 2003 forums, but they are all about how do I cheat in multiplayer shit. So I decided not to mess with that

    If this is true.... do you know the reply string it gives? that way you could have it forward to localhost, and have a perl script or something listen on the server and give the

    0x0000 0A 00 00 00 09 41 50 50-52 4F 56 45 44 00 .....APPROVED.

    I doubt it just spits out APPROVED.... also, you could try netcat, and have it listen on the port, change the master server to localhost, and wait to see what it prints out... and then type back APPROVED and see what happens...
    ... i think i may try that out myself hehe..

  10. #90
    DF Rookie twistedps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    hmmm, well i changed that

    [IpDrv.MasterServerLink]
    LANPort=11777
    LANServerPort=10777
    CurrentMasterServer=1
    MasterServerPort[0]=28902
    MasterServerAddress[0]=x.x.x.x
    MasterServerPort[1]=28902
    MasterServerAddress[1]=x.x.x.x

    put in my ip, and had netcat listening on like 5 different ports, 28902, 2623, 2624, 2550, and another one... although none got any information sent to them by the unreal program, i checked my packet sniffer and it was infact sending it to my ip, yet none of the information was being recieved by netcat... i tried both udp & tcp, am i listening on the wrong port(s) or something???? Anyone test this out!?!?!

  11. #91
    DF Member Kerin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    U guy's are fucking umbelivable. I mean... wow ?
    Im no computer wizz and i understand some shit bo man, i don't ha ve a clue about the things u analyzing.

    But guessing... your'e thinking of writing a program that would emulate the epic master server and let u browse the server list, yeh?

    WELL, ill think ill save my 79 (canadian) bucks. Wait another 5 days and see what come's out. There is a saying...

    "If they give TAKE, if they TAKE SHOUT"


  12. #92
    DF Rookie twistedps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    hmmmm...
    loaded up socket workbench...
    connected to it an waited for a response

    it spits out
    \06\00\00\00\056253\00

    basically its
    ACK
    NUL
    NUL
    NUL
    056253
    NUL

    just an acknowledgement as people said before..... but what the hell is 056253? I dont believe thats a hexieciamal number... heh, wtf..

    Check out IpDrv.u, and the .int files also in the /SYSTEM folder of unreal, has some cool stuff that you could possibly play around with... networking commands and such, some are predefined... some that caught my attention were...
    [MasterServerCommandlet]
    HelpCmd=masterserver
    HelpOneLiner="Maintain master list of servers."
    HelpUsage=masterserver [-option...] [parm=value]
    HelpParm[0]=ConfigFile
    HelpDesc[0]="Configuration file to use. Default: MasterServer.ini"


    Maybe you could change one of the predefined variables to print out masterserver.ini or spit out the help usage...

    apparently if you load up unreals debuggerr too, and try to connect to master server... you see something like.
    Init: WinSock: version 1.1 (2.2), MaxSocks=32767, MaxUdp=65467
    Init: WinSock: I am Computer1 (192.168.1.1)
    Log: Resolving ut2003master2.epicgames.com...
    Log: Scanning and building mutator list
    ScriptLog: GUIController::SetControllerStatus: True
    Log: Resolved ut2003master2.epicgames.com -> 207.135.145.2
    Log: Connect() returned SOCKET_ERROR: 10035
    Log: Connection established.

    SOCKET_ERROR: 10035 is like a "try again" error from what i can remember, looks like they are just logging the ips to probably take later action.. OH FREAKING WELL

    have fun guys.

  13. #93
    DF Rookie slaman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    respect to you network gurus out there... I haven't even leeched this game yet, but getting around the master server seems an intriguing challenge I might want to fool around with.

  14. #94
    DF Rookie Bratok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default Nice

    GL to you guys, I really hope you find something. In the meantime, we can still play with i.p. Plus, when Gamespy is done with ut2k3, we can play it, right?

  15. #95
    DF MaSter Wulf's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Posts
    73
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    Interesting.. I am going to buy the game tomorow, but I am interested to see if any of you crack it

  16. #96
    DF Rookie acme420's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by gunhero
    hello
    this might be a stupid idea but what the heck

    why dont anyone of you with good programming skills make your own master server program

    like somekind of program that you run with unreal 2003 that sends your ip to a privat server if your host a game..
    and then that server could send out the whole list like on a website or into the program to everyone that wants to play..


    i hope you know what i meen =)

    in my head it doesnt seem hard to make
    i would if i had the c++ skills =)
    ohh well
    =)

    How come you registeres like 19 days ago and you are a regular but i registered back in march or so and im still a rookie??

  17. #97
    DF VIP Member gunhero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    190
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by acme420



    How come you registeres like 19 days ago and you are a regular but i registered back in march or so and im still a rookie??

    becuase im the king baby

    no just kidding..
    maybe becuase i post alot and start all the topics for the lame games that no one cares about..
    who knows? =)

  18. #98
    DF Rookie Zander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    While I was working on this stuff tonight (I got about 1/2 through fabricating authentication to the master so I could do key queries) I just saw that GameSpy Arcade NOW supports the UT2K3 final. So woot then I guess. Gamespy3d still doesn't appear to have support yet, but I bet that will change soon.

    Although I was kinda hoping on actually doing some good hacking, back to gaming I 'spose.

    Z

  19. #99
    DF Rookie Bratok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default yup yup

    Just saw it too. It works! Nice sh!t...

  20. #100
    DF VIP Member gunhero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    190
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    hmm i have gamespy arcade and the only thing i can see is unreal 2003 demo?
    wierd..

Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst 12345678 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. UT 2003 biggy.
    By gooch in forum PC Gaming
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 14th October 2002, 05:22 PM
  2. unreal wont run right!!!
    By DarkReaper in forum PC Problems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 4th October 2002, 07:59 AM
  3. UT 2003 demo
    By Gavin M in forum PC Gaming
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 28th September 2002, 09:07 AM
  4. Women Drivers!!! UNREAL!!!!
    By Morph in forum The Dog and Duck
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 13th September 2002, 01:35 AM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •