Close

Thread: Thor 1w

Thanks
    Karma Level

Default Thor 1w

Hey guys

Should i be able to get anything from Thor 1w with an 88cm Triax dish and 0.6db Alps LNB from the Oxford area.

I can get 67% signal on BBC World but absolutely no signal quality and no picture

knee doc
    Properly read, the Bible is the most potent force for atheism ever conceived.
    -Isaac Asimov

Thanks
    Karma Level

You should be able to. I can get lots of channels using an 80mm dish. I live in Kent, close to Rochester. Can you help with my question in the forum ?

BeeKay.

Thanks
    Karma Level

Hi Knee Doc,
    You shouldn't have probs in Oxford. I get 70% sig & 63 % quality in east London and pictures are fine. Have you checked the transponder settings in your ird? Maybe they are out of date - mine usually are. Have a look on lyngsat.com or satcodx.com.

Regards Scruff,

Thanks
    Karma Level

I haven't , how do i do that i'm a noob to the motorized bit, i've looked on both those sites and i've got humbox with my channel listings, but i have no clue what i'm looking at

Any pointers

knee doc
    Last edited by knee doc; 2nd February 2003 at 08:35 PM.
    -Isaac Asimov

Thanks
    Karma Level

Hi,
    OK your BBC world example is a good one to work off. Lyngsat says it is on transponder 75 U with Freq 11540 Vertical. Symbol rate is 26000 and FEC = 3/4.

Your ird needs to know these settings when it is doing a channel search. Go into your setup menu (I don't have a hummy myself) and look for the channel or transponder settings. Scroll through the settings and verify there is an entry with the details above. If not just add the above in. Then do a channel scan. Some receivers will let you do just one transponder others make you do the whole lot. If you can do just one then stick to that for now.

If you have the settings in but still no data quality then you may have some hardware problem. Has it worked on other satellites?