Close

Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    DF MaSter bob_g's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    London
    Posts
    72
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked:        1
    Karma Level
    238

    Default How does this thing work?

    Total newbie alert... I understand the basic principles behind hardware cracking, where you have the radio in your mits and can either talk to it through it's intended interface, or attach clips to the PCB, or even rip an EPROM out and recode it. Not a million miles from old-fashioned hacking or modern sat card trickery. But how do you work out the code remotely from just the unit serial no.? I assume you've either got to have a deciphering algorithm, or a huge database/lookup table of serials/codes "borrowed" from the manufacturers. Easy. But then I got thinking...

    If the former, how come these haven't leaked out all over the net, like most Satellite and software-protection ones do. If the latter, how the heck do you keep up to date, without a tap into the Ford (or whatever) radio factory?

    Or have I missed a FAQ somewhere?

    Bob.

  2. #2
    DF VIP Member MIKE M's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    LIVERPOOL
    Posts
    351
    Thanks
    62
    Thanked:        12
    Karma Level
    267

    Default Re: How does this thing work?

    ford and blaupunkt are algo based

    Philips database which is only goood for sets to approx 2000

    Mike
    Mike


    Im not bitter, Im a red

  3. #3
    DF MaSter bob_g's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    London
    Posts
    72
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked:        1
    Karma Level
    238

    Default Re: How does this thing work?

    Ta Mike!

    Bob.

Similar Threads

  1. Prison V Work
    By ibobsy in forum The Comedy Club
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 22nd November 2004, 12:24 PM
  2. Do them AB TONER belts actually work ??
    By us in forum Health & Fitness
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 4th November 2002, 02:07 AM
  3. How do i get the Snes emulator to work????
    By sanjuro in forum Microsoft Consoles
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 5th October 2002, 08:55 PM
  4. Will V5 Laser unit work in any other PS2?
    By Dupster in forum Sony Consoles
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 13th September 2002, 01:53 PM
  5. cant get vcd to work with remote free dvd dongle
    By darren67 in forum Microsoft Consoles
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 29th August 2002, 10:25 AM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •