Close

Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    DF Rookie mondi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default freeing a locked data buffer

    Hey all .. new member here !!

    I have a question thats been irking me all night ..

    Im writing a video capture proggy, using the vfw interface ... specifically: capCaptureSequenceNoFile

    well this calls a callback with a structure VIDEOHDR with a data member - lpData .. a locked data buffer, with the stream info.


    problem is, while i can access the data fine etc... it quickly builds in size (720*480*3*30 frames a sec = approx 31 megs a second ..bytes a sec. ...

    is there a way I can free the associated memory so it doesnt build up ?? i have used both 'delete' and 'free()' to little avail ...

    thanks in advance (hopefully )

    mondi

  2. #2
    DF VIP Member graham.edmon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Posts
    263
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    268

    Default Re: freeing a locked data buffer

    use

    capCaptureStop(capturewindow);
    capSetCallbackOnVideoStream(capturewindow, NULL);

    no way of releasing memory while a capture is taking place, as far as I know.

    v


    Quote Originally Posted by mondi
    Hey all .. new member here !!

    I have a question thats been irking me all night ..

    Im writing a video capture proggy, using the vfw interface ... specifically: capCaptureSequenceNoFile

    well this calls a callback with a structure VIDEOHDR with a data member - lpData .. a locked data buffer, with the stream info.


    problem is, while i can access the data fine etc... it quickly builds in size (720*480*3*30 frames a sec = approx 31 megs a second ..bytes a sec. ...

    is there a way I can free the associated memory so it doesnt build up ?? i have used both 'delete' and 'free()' to little avail ...

    thanks in advance (hopefully )

    mondi

  3. #3
    DF Rookie mondi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default Re: freeing a locked data buffer

    thanks much, will try that .. shame as i can only do 30 secs or so before it fills my ram, oh well



    Quote Originally Posted by graham.edmon
    use

    capCaptureStop(capturewindow);
    capSetCallbackOnVideoStream(capturewindow, NULL);

    no way of releasing memory while a capture is taking place, as far as I know.

    v

Similar Threads

  1. A110e Data Cables
    By fonetech in forum Unlocking Questions & Solutions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 9th September 2002, 11:34 PM
  2. 3330 Locked out!!!!! HELP !!!!!!
    By kermit in forum Unlocking Questions & Solutions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 9th September 2002, 11:11 AM
  3. Nissan Micra Radio Locked
    By Goldberg in forum Radio Decoding
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 1st September 2002, 01:58 PM
  4. T100 data cable
    By fonetech in forum Unlocking Questions & Solutions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 31st August 2002, 08:26 PM
  5. nero buffer underrun
    By doughboy in forum PC Problems
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 31st August 2002, 12:07 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •