Close

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    DF VIP Member salvadorescobar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Huddersfield
    Posts
    951
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    324

    Default Fitting a stereo into a mkIII golf

    Hi,

    I have just bought a new stereo to fit into my mkIII golf and am having a little trouble. Hopefully someone can help.

    At the golf end I have 2 connection blocks that fit into the standard ISO fitting. At the stereo end I have an ISO fitting.

    In the installation manual there is a part that shows the following connections :

    Yellow - backup (or accessory) connects to Yellow - To terminal always supplied with power regardless of ignition switch position.

    Red - Accessory (or backup) connects to Red - To electric terminal controlled by ignition switch.

    But the installation notes that for some models of car this will need switching (ie. Yellow to Red).

    Can anyone tell me how I can find out about this? I don't think I can do any harm if I don't switch them and they need switching. All that'd happen is that I'd get no power, or I'd alway get power. Right?

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Cheers, salvadorEscobar.
    'If we aren't meant to eat animals, then why are they made out of meat?'
    Anon.

  2. #2
    DF VIP Member WTD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Tokyo, Japan
    Posts
    3,256
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    470

    Default Re: Fitting a stereo into a mkIII golf

    Get out a multimeter mate, one will be a constant 12V one will be switched.

    IIRC the constant 12V is for the memory of the stereo so you dont use all your channels, and the 12V switched is so that the stereo comes on and off when you turn the ignition..

    You can see on the stereo which wire needs +12V and switched 12V and change them accordingly

  3. #3
    DF VIP Member salvadorescobar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Huddersfield
    Posts
    951
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    324

    Default Re: Fitting a stereo into a mkIII golf

    Thanks man.
    'If we aren't meant to eat animals, then why are they made out of meat?'
    Anon.

  4. #4
    DF VIP Member pangr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Bent Kent
    Posts
    124
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default Re: Fitting a stereo into a mkIII golf

    If you aint got a multimeter,

    First test:
    Just fixup the stereo player (without your keys in the ignition) and if your stereo backlights light up, you need to swap the wires.

    Second test:
    Fix up the stereo and turn the ignition key one click (the A/C position)
    If you tune a radio stations in say Invictor of radio 1 etc, store it in memory button 1. Now turn your ig key OFF to the remove position for a few seconds and then turn it back to the A/C position. Your radio station you stored in memory button 1 should still be remembered.

Similar Threads

  1. A definite handicap to completing a round of golf
    By Mr_Flash in forum Funny Pictures
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19th November 2002, 11:25 PM
  2. fitting guide
    By Danger Mouse in forum Unlocking Questions & Solutions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 6th October 2002, 11:11 PM
  3. VW Golf mk3 strange request?
    By salvadorescobar in forum Cars & Motorbikes
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2nd October 2002, 08:06 AM
  4. GOLF MK2 rev limiter
    By crack_it in forum Cars & Motorbikes
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 1st October 2002, 10:00 AM
  5. Ladies Golf
    By ZX7R in forum Funny Pictures
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 18th September 2002, 12:01 AM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •