Close

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    DF MaSter lmfy2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    63
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default booting up problem ?

    1st it started off wen i press da power button den nothing happens n i assume da PSU has gone so taken da PSU apart 2 see wants gone but nothing ?
    connected it back up den tried again, pressed da switch a couple of times n can see da led from mobo light up.

    pressed n held on da power switch den powers up, everytime i press the power button on, system boots up 2 system settings den powers off, keeps on doing dat

    wat cud be da problem ? mobo ? PSU ?

    any help wud be appreciated

  2. #2
    DF VIP Member easy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    scotland, UK
    Posts
    1,028
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    282

    Default Re: booting up problem ?

    First off i would never recommend taking your PSU apart unless you are completely sure of what your doing! Lots of risky things in there. It sounds as though it's starting up so dont think it could be a problem with hardware, it'd try resetting your mobo's bios. I can just change this jumper setting on my mobo and it resets it to default for me but i'm not sure if it's the same for you, maybe read your manual if it's handy?? *crap it's late, i'll check back in the morning probably, nite nite*

  3. #3
    DF VIP Member
    cronus71's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    7,081
    Thanks
    603
    Thanked:        746
    Karma Level
    1083

    Default Re: booting up problem ?

    I had this issue, well a very similar one. When I pressed the pwer button, nothing would happen, if I kept pushing it rapidly it eventually would come on. Also, if I unplugged the power cord from the system competely, then plugged it back in, it would turn on on the first go.

    Never managed to figure out what the issue was, so I lived with it for more than a year, until I bought an additional harddrive. What happened was, my PSU blew, went to the shop, bought a new one (more powerful) and never had the problem again.

    So, my guess is, it's the PSU.
    “If I asked you to have sex with me, would the answer to that question be the same as the answer to this question?”


  4. #4
    DF MaSter lmfy2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    63
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default Re: booting up problem ?

    thx guys will try dat out resetting mobo 1st, if dat doesnt work will havta get a new psu den

Similar Threads

  1. Floppy problem
    By urbsy in forum PC Problems
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 7th September 2002, 12:04 AM
  2. F12002 Problem
    By shawtek in forum Microsoft Consoles
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 31st August 2002, 10:20 AM
  3. neo 4 dvdr booting problems
    By tilt in forum Hall Of Shame
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 29th August 2002, 12:57 PM
  4. real audio recording problem
    By flypitcher in forum Music Factory
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 28th August 2002, 11:25 PM
  5. havin probs booting dvdrs with certain chip
    By tilt in forum Hall Of Shame
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28th August 2002, 10:15 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •