Close

Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    DF VIP Member keyamon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    1,002
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        7
    Karma Level
    284

    Default HDD File Systems??

    my main HDD is running FAT32 with XP pro installed (which i'm told means that i am limited to individual files of 4gig or less)

    i've just installed a second HDD (and 80gig maxtor) and i partitioned it with NTFS so it can handle files over 4 gig.

    now say i had a 4.7gig film on my NTFS drive and i wanted to re-encode it using a prog on my FAT32 drive would i end up with errors or wouln't it matter seen as the source file and save file will both be on the NTFS drive????

  2. #2
    DF MaSter bob_g's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    London
    Posts
    72
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked:        1
    Karma Level
    238

    Default Re: HDD File Systems??

    Depends on the app you're using. Don't really matter where the app was installed, it matters where the app shoves it's temp/working files. Sometimes this is in the same place as the app, sometimes in TEMP (type SET at a CMD prompt to see where that is) or more commonly in the same place as the destination file. Most apps let you choose with a command line or option setting.

    Bob.

  3. #3
    DF VIP Member keyamon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    1,002
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        7
    Karma Level
    284

    Default Re: HDD File Systems??

    can i convert the file system on my FAT32 drive to ntfs without loosing any data??

  4. #4
    DF VIP Member easy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    scotland, UK
    Posts
    1,028
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    282

    Default Re: HDD File Systems??

    Nah i dont think you can. Am i wrong?? but i think i'm wright.

  5. #5
    DF VIP Member Pegasus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Hampshire
    Posts
    4,620
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked:        52
    Karma Level
    602

    Default Re: HDD File Systems??

    Quote Originally Posted by keyamon
    can i convert the file system on my FAT32 drive to ntfs without loosing any data??
    Yes you can.

    Open a command prompt and type convert c: /fs:ntfs and press enter.
    You will be told that the operation cannot be completed immediately and that it will occur on the next reboot.


    NOTE:
    Replace c: with the letter of the drive you wish to convert the file system on.

  6. #6
    DF VIP Member keyamon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    1,002
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        7
    Karma Level
    284

    Default Re: HDD File Systems??

    great.. it worked a treat
    thanks

  7. #7
    DF VIP Member easy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    scotland, UK
    Posts
    1,028
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    282

    Default Re: HDD File Systems??

    I stand corrected...........

  8. #8
    DF Member sp41700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    United kingdom
    Posts
    38
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    225

    Default Re: HDD File Systems??

    but you can't convert it back without losing data.

  9. #9
    DF VIP Member Pegasus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Hampshire
    Posts
    4,620
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked:        52
    Karma Level
    602

    Default Re: HDD File Systems??

    Quote Originally Posted by sp41700
    but you can't convert it back without losing data.
    Yes you can, but XP itself doesn't have the ability to go back again (not that anybody in their right mind would want to go back to FAT32 anyway).

    Partition Magic would let you take the step back though.

  10. #10
    DF Moderator
    ss30's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Oxford
    Posts
    4,922
    Thanks
    347
    Thanked:        577
    Karma Level
    533

    Default Re: HDD File Systems??

    Can you access a NTFS formatted HD in dos.

  11. #11
    DF VIP Member wizard1974uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Midlands
    Posts
    3,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    394

    Default Re: HDD File Systems??

    Quote Originally Posted by ss30
    Can you access a NTFS formatted HD in dos.
    I don't see why not.

  12. #12
    DF VIP Member Pegasus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Hampshire
    Posts
    4,620
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked:        52
    Karma Level
    602

    Default Re: HDD File Systems??

    Quote Originally Posted by ss30
    Can you access a NTFS formatted HD in dos.
    Yes you can, but you need to load an NTFS driver.

Similar Threads

  1. gta3 save file 4 u all (pc)
    By neilmachin in forum PC Gaming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 14th January 2003, 01:52 PM
  2. Roulette Systems ?
    By hummmm in forum Gamblers Anonymous
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 17th November 2002, 10:44 PM
  3. Wicked Flash File
    By Pegasus in forum The Dog and Duck
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 13th November 2002, 11:46 PM
  4. T100 To T108 Flash File
    By BAZZO69 in forum Unlocking Questions & Solutions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 4th September 2002, 07:53 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •