Close

Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    DF Jedi QfanatiQ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Berkshire
    Posts
    3,943
    Thanks
    241
    Thanked:        131
    Karma Level
    403

    Default Not a problem but a question - can i do this

    Ok got two PC's networked but also have XboX and Cube that i want to get into the system as well, is there any point in also hooking up my PS2?

    So i can only use one at time and want to know if it is possible and worthwhile doing this.

    Getting a secong netwrk card in my PC and only pluggin in one console at a time. BUT i was considering having it set up so i have different log ins for the XboX and Cube.

    I was thinking this woundering if i am able to set up a log in so it has different IP settings and only talks to part of the drive, having everything else hidden one for the XboX and one for the Cube.

    Or should i get a router etc etc and have everything plugged in ready to go. If that is the case where do i stand on all the different IP settings needed for teh different consoles?

    Thanks for any help or sugestions.

    Cheers.....Q

  2. #2
    Argyll's Apprentice TwoPlAnKs's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Aberdeenshire
    Posts
    5,190
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    639

    Default Re: Not a problem but a question - can i do this

    buy yourself a router with a 4 port switch built in, plug everything into that including your internet connection and it should all work fine

    problem:- 3 consoles+2pc = more than 4 ports
    soloution:- try to find a router with more ports, but these are hard to find, or get a one port router and plug a switch into it, or get the 4 port and put your pcs in it then have a cable running to behind the tv where you could put another cheap switch and plug the 3 consoles onto that

    for ip settings just enable dchp on the router and get everything to use that

  3. #3
    DF Jedi QfanatiQ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Berkshire
    Posts
    3,943
    Thanks
    241
    Thanked:        131
    Karma Level
    403

    Default Re: Not a problem but a question - can i do this

    Thanks, looking into that NOW.

    .....Q

Similar Threads

  1. The xy problem and how to ask a question the right way
    By blacksheep in forum The Dog and Duck
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23rd February 2013, 11:42 PM
  2. [HELP] 3gs 16gb question / problem
    By Thrush in forum A is for Apple
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 8th December 2012, 10:35 PM
  3. not a problem just a question
    By Gavin M in forum PC Problems
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 29th March 2003, 12:56 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •