Close

Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    DF VIP Member webslinger2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    The DF HUB
    Posts
    2,557
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    380

    Default one website i cannot view properly from work

    Hi guys

    whenever i am at work i can never view the www.clanbase.com website correctly from work.

    See my screen shot attached as to what it looks like - however at home and everywhere else the website is fine - and nobody i have spoken to has ever had problems viewing it - yet it is constantly like this at work from everymahcine in our building.

    any ideas?
    We Are....The Mighty Liverpool Reds

    Seen a Movie lately? Share your opinions in the Movie Section

    "There is no doubt we are in the shadow of Liverpool, but we are doing out utmost to compete with them." - David Moyes

  2. #2
    DF VIP Member WTD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Tokyo, Japan
    Posts
    3,256
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    470

    Default Re: one website i cannot view properly from work

    Whats the Javascript errors??

    Perhaps your work settings forbid you run run javascript on a webpage, which this page might depend upon to load up the images??

  3. #3
    DF VIP Member webslinger2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    The DF HUB
    Posts
    2,557
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    380

    Default Re: one website i cannot view properly from work

    the thing is, i dont actually get any errors, just this white page.....

    the page is supposed to be all red and have some gifs etc on it, but alas, i cannot see them.

    how can i check my java restrictions?

    i was thinking, perhaps it was some kind of java that i do not have the capabilites ot view on these work machines, and perhaps something i could download would change this?
    We Are....The Mighty Liverpool Reds

    Seen a Movie lately? Share your opinions in the Movie Section

    "There is no doubt we are in the shadow of Liverpool, but we are doing out utmost to compete with them." - David Moyes

  4. #4
    DF VIP Member MaxP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Im here Im her
    Posts
    1,169
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    351

    Default Re: one website i cannot view properly from work

    someone has borked the php code on the main page (news.php)
    possible they have messed up at setting relating to the CCS.
    or somehow managed to remove the whole template folder off the server.
    hence you have lost all styles/colors/icons etc.

    i have the same problem when veiwing said site.
    so is deffo serverside as opposed to cleint side.
    NOT JAVA related at all.

  5. #5
    DF VIP Member webslinger2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    The DF HUB
    Posts
    2,557
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    380

    Default Re: one website i cannot view properly from work

    but thing is, i am at home now accessing that very same website and its fine.....

    its always like this - then tomrorow when i get into work and go on the page its ****ed so its not the site itself - also, there are thousands upon thousands of users everyday on that site that dont complain, so it deffo isnt at their end....
    We Are....The Mighty Liverpool Reds

    Seen a Movie lately? Share your opinions in the Movie Section

    "There is no doubt we are in the shadow of Liverpool, but we are doing out utmost to compete with them." - David Moyes

  6. #6
    DF VIP Member MaxP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Im here Im her
    Posts
    1,169
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    351

    Default Re: one website i cannot view properly from work

    i see the same thing as you...
    this is off our 2mb sdsl at work.

    http://www.rancid.plus.com/pics/Image1.jpg

    the reason i say its an error with the php is that i tried to make some changes to a website over the weekend and it resulted in exactly the same error..all text and links were present but had lost all the colors/icons etc.

    one thing i did notice is that the site takes a fair old while to load up and the springs into life...as if its waiting for a missing file and then cannot find it so continues to load the rest of the page.

    sure some of the PHP exsperts whould have abetter idea.
    Last edited by MaxP; 18th February 2004 at 04:39 PM.

  7. #7
    DF VIP Member MaxP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Im here Im her
    Posts
    1,169
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    351

    Default Re: one website i cannot view properly from work

    just loaded up from home and two things..
    first it works...and second there is not that pause at the start.

    most odd.

  8. #8
    DF MaSter bananas33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    e lancs
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    230

    Default Re: one website i cannot view properly from work

    looks like a firewall thing to me - that page makes lots of use of port 8000, including the stylesheet and images. looks like 8000 isn't allowed out

  9. #9
    DF VIP Member webslinger2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    The DF HUB
    Posts
    2,557
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    380

    Default Re: one website i cannot view properly from work

    goddam - so i guess there is no way around it?
    We Are....The Mighty Liverpool Reds

    Seen a Movie lately? Share your opinions in the Movie Section

    "There is no doubt we are in the shadow of Liverpool, but we are doing out utmost to compete with them." - David Moyes

  10. #10
    Argyll's Apprentice TwoPlAnKs's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Aberdeenshire
    Posts
    5,191
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    598

    Default Re: one website i cannot view properly from work

    well you could ask techie to make port 8000 work, but he probably wont let you

    you could also tell the site people to not use port 8000 or to get some sort of forwarding system or something

    not much you can do with just yourself and a pc that doesnt involve haxoring the firewall (mighty hard thing to do if you have a decent one)

  11. #11
    DF VIP Member webslinger2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    The DF HUB
    Posts
    2,557
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    380

    Default Re: one website i cannot view properly from work

    yeah - tis a shame tbh
    We Are....The Mighty Liverpool Reds

    Seen a Movie lately? Share your opinions in the Movie Section

    "There is no doubt we are in the shadow of Liverpool, but we are doing out utmost to compete with them." - David Moyes

  12. #12
    DF MaSter bananas33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    e lancs
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    230

    Default Re: one website i cannot view properly from work

    if they won't let 8000 through you might wanna look into http tunnelling

  13. #13
    DF VIP Member webslinger2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    The DF HUB
    Posts
    2,557
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    380

    Default Re: one website i cannot view properly from work

    what does that mean/incoporate Banana?
    We Are....The Mighty Liverpool Reds

    Seen a Movie lately? Share your opinions in the Movie Section

    "There is no doubt we are in the shadow of Liverpool, but we are doing out utmost to compete with them." - David Moyes

  14. #14
    DF MaSter bananas33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    e lancs
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    230

    Default Re: one website i cannot view properly from work


  15. #15
    DF VIP Member webslinger2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    The DF HUB
    Posts
    2,557
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    380

    Default Re: one website i cannot view properly from work

    hhhmmm - you dont need to mention google mate, i would use it if i could - i think i been around long enough to know when to google ffs.....its just i am at work and dont want to be seen googling something that could get me into strife....catch my drifT?

    anyhow - thanks for the help Bannana dude - appreciate it, will check that out from home

    thanks agian mate.
    We Are....The Mighty Liverpool Reds

    Seen a Movie lately? Share your opinions in the Movie Section

    "There is no doubt we are in the shadow of Liverpool, but we are doing out utmost to compete with them." - David Moyes

  16. #16
    Argyll's Apprentice TwoPlAnKs's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Aberdeenshire
    Posts
    5,191
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    598

    Default Re: one website i cannot view properly from work

    whoarg

    now entering wanabe mod mode...

    Your sig's too big mate - best change it before a mod changes it to something offensive!

    now returning to half brain mode...

    there that was fun.

    does www.dyndns.org do http tunneling?

Similar Threads

  1. Do them AB TONER belts actually work ??
    By us in forum Health & Fitness
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 4th November 2002, 02:07 AM
  2. How do i get the Snes emulator to work????
    By sanjuro in forum Microsoft Consoles
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 5th October 2002, 08:55 PM
  3. setting up a website
    By Danger Mouse in forum Web Hosting & Domain Names
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 29th September 2002, 03:18 PM
  4. Will V5 Laser unit work in any other PS2?
    By Dupster in forum Sony Consoles
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 13th September 2002, 01:53 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •