Close

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: bridge.dll?

  1. #1
    DF Rookie ukplc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    215

    Default bridge.dll?

    Hi - I just ran an AVG antivirus scan and it found C:\Windows\System32\bridge.dll, a trojan horse apparently. Anyway, AVG said it couldnt delete it, so I tried to do it myself, but it said I couldn't access the file. It definitely wasn't running at the time. Anyone know how I can get rid of it? Thankyou.

  2. #2
    Argyll's Apprentice TwoPlAnKs's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Aberdeenshire
    Posts
    5,190
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    639

    Default Re: bridge.dll?

    attack computer with fdisk

    you could try making sure everything is displayed in the folder options thingie, don't hide extensions and show hidden files and system files. your signatures seems to be telling me that you run xp home, which doesnt really have much in the way of file acess restrictions so you should be ok.

    you could try end tasking all rundlls in your ctrlalt+del since they are used for running dlls (duh)

    start>run>msconfig and see if it is there, if so remove and reboot.

    try a bootdisk and delete the file from dos (if fat32, not very likely)

  3. #3
    DF VIP Member
    Realist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    5,506
    Thanks
    236
    Thanked:        794
    Karma Level
    733

    Default Re: bridge.dll?

    Twosheds is at it again

    Do the following.

    Drop into safe mode and delete it from there.

    Read this M8
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  4. #4
    DF PiMP neilmachin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Leicestershire
    Posts
    390
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        17
    Karma Level
    268

    Default Re: bridge.dll?

    I have the same problem at the moment. I run all types of firewalls and antivirus and still they get in. :nowords:

  5. #5
    Argyll's Apprentice TwoPlAnKs's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Aberdeenshire
    Posts
    5,190
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    639

    Default Re: bridge.dll?

    my posts always rock

    it wasnt to solve the problem, just to keep him occupied until someone posted something helpful

  6. #6
    DF VIP Member
    Realist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    5,506
    Thanks
    236
    Thanked:        794
    Karma Level
    733

    Default Re: bridge.dll?

    I know M8 And Im not knocking you.

  7. #7
    DF VIP Member
    Realist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    5,506
    Thanks
    236
    Thanked:        794
    Karma Level
    733

    Default Re: bridge.dll?

    These types of virus/trojens often come in to a PC via Email attachments or via sites that you visit and place nasty things in your PC without you knowing.

    Best way to stop them is to install a good firewall like Visnetic and a good popup killer and also run Spybot as well.

    Always keep you PC updated in regards to virus data files from what ever virus software you use and also run Windows update as well.

    Laters

    Quote Originally Posted by neilmachin
    I have the same problem at the moment. I run all types of firewalls and antivirus and still they get in. :nowords:

  8. #8
    DF Rookie ukplc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    215

    Default Re: bridge.dll?

    Thanks for the help - that seems to have got rid of it. Spybot didnt spot it (although I ran it twice), AVG picked it up, but couldn't deal with it...

    If anyone is having the same problem, the page Realist linked to was a lengthy discussion about it - the page with the actual instructions of how to deal is:

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    (NB: The first reccomendation of simply removing it from the Add/Remove programmes list is unlikely to work - you'll have to do it manually)

    Thanks again everyone.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 16th August 2010, 01:32 PM
  2. bridge
    By peterc4 in forum Your Photos & Artwork
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10th May 2009, 07:03 PM
  3. a bridge too far?
    By GameKing in forum Funny/Strange Video Clips
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 6th December 2006, 07:57 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •