Close

Thanks
    Karma Level

Info Anyone in the same boat??

Hey There,

Background Info

I worked in IT for past 4 1/2 year for a pharmacutical Manufacturer.

I basically got a college diploma (BTEC national in IT) and found this job.

I started on a temp 3 month basis (£10,500) and they thought I was ok so they took me on perm basis (bit of a wage rise to). My Title was MIS (Managed Informations Systems) Trainee.

Needless to say salary has gone up and title changed now i'm a Business Systems Support Analysis hmmm don't ask!

My problem!!!

The Company I work for doesn't like spending on IT. Thus the systems are old (Still running NT4 network) we have old VMS systems running very old ERP suites (ManMan - If anyone has herd of it!) and basically we have tons and tons of bespoke apps linking to old apps that link to non mainsteam systems etc

Training is great in the company though, I've done most of the Microsoft 2000 stuff, SQL admin and that but there no use as we run the older versions

I have tried finding new jobs and been to a couple of Interviews but they all seem to day they want 2/3 years experience on latest software etc (Which we don't have )

Think i'm stuck in a bit of a rutt Money is good in this Job and the people i work with are sound but don't think i'm going anywhere and the longer I stay here the harder it will be to get out and find a job were they use the latest stuff

Not sure anyone will know any answers to this but views would be good or if you've been in the same position and got out.

Or feel free to tell me to stop moaning as at least I have a job!

Cheers

AJ
    "The cream has floated to the top" - Midnight_Toker on his work fantasy football team's recent form 08.11.06

Thanks
    Karma Level

Default Re: Anyone in the same boat??