Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Karma Level

Default Anyone with plumbing knowledge able to answer / help me on this please?

Can anyone advice me please if this will be a simple job that anyone can do or is it a phone call to a plumber please?

Problem is that on the main raidiator there is a leak coming from the righthand side that has abolt at the bottom and then at the top of that it looks like a metal dial that you can turn.

The leak feels like it is under the bolt at the bottom of the valve which is on at the top of the pipe.

Is it a case of just try and tighten the bolt at the bottom of the pipe or is it a case of replacing the whole valve, if it is I am right in thinking I have to drain entire system and will it be easy to remove the bolt or am i into a world of problems?

Thanks in advance.

Thanks
    Karma Level

Default Re: Anyone with plumbing knowledge able to answer / help me on this please?

I am no expert but I know that raditors can have all sorts of valves depending on the install. It would help if ya can point out what type of valve you have.

If ya can't post a pic, try.... http://www.plumbworld.co.uk/88-0000

Thanks
    Karma Level

Default Re: Anyone with plumbing knowledge able to answer / help me on this please?

You may get away with undoing the thing and wrapping PTFE tape around the thread and retightening. Usually works for me if I get a leak from the end with no adjuster. Sorry can't explain better but here might help you out.

Thanks
    Karma Level

Thanks Dirty girl and bertroot here is the pic of the right hand side and lefdt hand side. Left hand side has no leak.

Thanks
    Karma Level

Personally i would just tighten the nut and see what happens, what have you got to loose? if it doesnt stop the leak, try putting some of the white sealing tape like bertrot said on the inside of the joint and try agian. if it still leaks then buy a new joint at least it isnt an expensive part.