Close

Thanks
    Karma Level

Default fast upload speeds

any advice or recommendations for ISPs (for business) that offer high upload speeds for servers and file hosting?

i'm thinking leased ADSL lines are gonna be the answer?

Thanks in advance,
    I'm new to this :huh:

Thanks
    Karma Level

Default Re: fast upload speeds

I think the most you're going to get from ADSL is 768 Kbps.

You really need to be looking at SDSL for fast upload speeds, although it is a lot more expensive than ADSL.

Here's a few random providers, so you can see the prices involved.

http://www.biscit.net/sdsl.html
    http://www.zenbroadband.com/sdsl.aspx
    http://www.newnet.co.uk/sdsl/

Thanks
    Karma Level

We've just signed up for SDSL with Zen on their new LLU service, 1mb/1mb - 2:1 contention for £149 +vat a month. Only available on the Rochdale exchange at the moment though with Zen........

Plus, if it's for business purposes it's worth remembering that SDSL should have a SLA written into the contract which will give you some peace of mind.

Thanks
    Karma Level

SLA = some sort of guarenteed service agreement I assume, which would be a great thing to have added in, especially if it was a great service anyway.

How is the line going CJ, any problems or is it going smoothly?

I am looking into having a service where large files (200MB - 2GB) can be on a local file server or uploaded to webspace. I know I need a high upload speed either way but if anyone's randomly reading this and has any suggestions of how I can build a system which deals with this i'd be so grateful.

the mian problem is cost. The people i'm working for want to stop courioring large files around and want to have it online in some form. However, they dont want it to take longer to upload the file (currently on a 30kb up business cable line) than to deliver it by hand. But they also dont want to pay *much* money for it either...hard to find a comprimise as they'll pay *something* for it....:\

Thanks