Close

Thanks
    Karma Level

Default Vonage SoftPhone

Looking to sign up to Vonage, also their SoftPhone option as I want to be able to use the advanced features it offers when I'm working from home or on the road.

The number you choose when signing up with Vonage, is this also used for the SoftPhone?

I have a DDI number at the office and our PBX routes that through to me, presumably a divert on this to the Vonage service wouldn't be a problem?

Anyone here used the Softphone? Whats the quality like? Do the features work as well as they should?

Thanks.

Thanks
    Karma Level

Default Re: Vonage SoftPhone

Hi,

I've never used Vonage specifically before so I may be wrong on some details.

Vonages softphone looks to be based on X-Lite, which is the softphone I use with our Asterisk system, and have used with many other SIP providers.

The number you pick should follow you no matter which client you are using, be it a SIP phone, ATA adapter or softphone, as long as it is logged in there is no reason why it should not just work. This is certainly the case with other SIP providers I've used.

To be honest, I've never used the more advanced features so I couldn’t really vouch for them, but the softphone does have some plenty of features on it.

Call quality is as good as the microphone/speaker combo, and Internet connection. I would definitely recommend a decent headset otherwise the echo at the far end is quite bad (as I've been informed by the other parties). It's a good idea to have QoS or some other prioritisation in place on your device connecting you to the Internet.

Yes, you can forward your phone to a Vonage number, or at least you can so long as your PBX supports forwarding to a geographic phone number.

In general though I've had no problems with the softphone on SIPgate and I can't see it being a whole lot different on Vonage, decent headset, good Internet connection, forward your number to the Vonage number, job done...

Crossman.

Thanks