Close

View Poll Results: What type of hosting server do you prefer

Voters
26. You may not vote on this poll
  • Linux

13 50.00%
  • Windows

6 23.08%
  • Either or - Makes no difference to me!

7 26.92%
    Thanks
    Karma Level

Help Where to register a domain and host it?

OK.. I used Godaddy.com to register a domain name, and I also set up a hosting account with them aswell. They have many options for me from an online file server, to databases, etc...

I am about to register a new domain, and I will be needing to set up a hosting account for it aswell. My question is are there some better suggestions for me as to a different copmany to register/host my domain/site. I dont just want a company with basic hosting. I do like the online options since I am a bit new to web design. I just dont get the greatest support from godaddy.

I would prefer to register and host the domain with the same company. But I figure I will take suggestions from here before I simply use godaddy again.

I am hosting presently with windows. I have tried linux before, but I am thinking I will start learning about windows hosting first.

anyways, any input on any of this would be great.. thanks in advance.

And cost and pricing isnt really a big concern. I just want the best service with support and online configuration options, etc..
    -DiGiT

DF VIP Member
    Thanks
    Karma Level

Default Re: Where to register a domain and host it?

Time Flies when you're having fun! A decade of DF - April 2002-2012.

Thanks
    Karma Level

Just to throw another company in the mix - www.ukreg.com

Been with them for years.

Thanks
    Karma Level

I like ukreg - I ended up following a link to fasthosts directly... I am still deciding what to do. Would it make a difference if I host it in canada or uk for speed and bandwidth.. I assume no.
    -DiGiT

Thanks
    Karma Level

Quote Originally Posted by DiGiT View Post