Close

Thanks
    Karma Level

Question Office Networking

Hi guys,

Quick question really.

i want to setup a medium spec server machine in the office, and have 4/5 machine acting as dump terminals. so any of the staff can access there files emails etc of any machine.

i also need the server to auto backup all files etc each week (friday night etc.)

how do i go about doing this>?? i am no newbie at pc setup etc.. but network aint my forte/thing.

so any guides links etc would be great.

was looking into domain setup and using static IP. also need the server to be print server.

Any help appreciated.

http://www.superwideprint.net (Digital Print) :cool2:

Thanks
    Karma Level

Default Re: Office Networking

We use windows 2003 server, there is a guide for setting it up as the domain controller here:

http://www.visualwin.com/AD-Controller/

There is a backup utility that comes with win server2k3 that is often overlooked, it actually works rather well!
    If you have the budget I would get an external drive to back up to, or another set of internal HDD's. If possible get a server with raid and get the drives mirrored for minimal downtime. Anyhow, more info here:

http://www.ilopia.com/Articles/Windo...03/Backup.aspx

Hope this helps!
    Last edited by ap0c; 15th May 2008 at 09:37 AM.

DF VIP Member
    Thanks
    Karma Level

It really is piss easy.

Make sure each PC has a 10/100 ethernet NIC and hook them all up with CAT5 cables to an 8 or 16 port hub/switch. You may even want to consider gigabit since it's so cheap although you will not get true gigabit speeds as you be limited to the transmission speed of the clients, e.g the ATA bus rate.

Then set your file/domain server to IP address 192.168.0.1 and subnet mask of 255.255.255.0 and make sure the OS (W2K3 SBS or Linux?) running on it has DHCP setup. Configure the DHCP server as having a range of, say, 192.168.1.100 - 192.168.1.200 with subnet mask of 255.255.255.0.