Close

Thanks
    Karma Level

Default question about being self employed

hey people. i was made redundant about six months ago from a PAYE job and have been self employed since, im a sparky. im a sub contractor im not working under a ltd company, my question is what sort of stuff can i claim for, people are telling me all sorts of stuff. wondered if anyone had a link to a site that lists in black and white what you can claim for and what not.

had my tax return through the post today and thinkin of getting it out the way now while i got a few quid in the bank, ive been having 20% taken at source as well as everything i paid when i was paye i think i should be due a rebate anyway!

any tips or advice from anyone?

Thanks
    Karma Level

Default Re: question about being self employed

Get yourself a good accountant, they'll pay for themselves.

Thanks
    Karma Level

basically anything you need for your work purposes, new workboots, travel expenses , fuel, tools if you need a mobile phone for works purposes then that can be claimed for.

any repairs to your works van/car, keep the reciepts, including MOT fees.
    "When i rape you i'll remember to make sure your kneeling facing the television with Fawlty towers on uk gold." - B.I.G.

DF VIP Member
    Thanks
    Karma Level

CJ has it bang on, find a good accountant who is experienced in your field and let him sort it for you.
    If at first you don't succeed.....redefine success. . . .

Thanks
    Karma Level

thanks for the replys ill get an accountant sorted out and let you know how i get on, i need to find my P45 from the paye job first though!

Thanks
    Karma Level

Quote Originally Posted by lukese View Post
    thanks for the replys ill get an accountant sorted out and let you know how i get on, i need to find my P45 from the paye job first though!