Close

Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1
    DF Rookie fluid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    us
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    For Those Who Have A Picky Xbox Dvd Drive..., try this...it works....

    ok...say u have a $#!tty xbox dvd drive..and you want to use cheap dvd-r or dvd-rw but you are not the kind of person that like to open up ur xbox and are too lazy to play with the POT...(like me) well try this....

    1.get the evolution X DASHBOARD to ur HD on XBOX
    2.put in a game that is burned on the cheap or that is unable to read by ur xbox (u know...the one that always give u the DIRTY DISK ERROR)....now in this case ofcourse ur xbox will just boot to the evo dash..but no worries....
    3.fire up flashftp or what ever u are using to connect ur xbox and make sure you go into" D drive." ( "D:/" ) the dvd rom drive on xbox...now u will see folders and files...ok...
    4.go to "command" and then "raw command" (for those of u who use flashftp) then type "EXECUTE D:/default.xbe" (without quote) and sit back and see the game boot...

    i know it's an extra step to go through...but if you want u can edit menu.ini and just set it up as a command..so there is no need to use ftp....either way it's a good idea if you don't want to buy more branded disks and spend more money on dvd-r/rw


    i tried this on a few system already ..and all of them boot disks that they weren't able to before... i don't know if it will work for sure for everyone....but it's worth a try


  2. #2
    DF Rookie Tioga's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    can
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    wow great find... nice, this is great info if any of my frinds who are going to get a xbox soon have any problems

  3. #3
    DF Rookie B|unted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    yeah m8! nice try ...
    will test it.

    but whut about Multi-Game DVDs ... there are more xbe's than just default.xbe - did you try this as well ?

  4. #4
    DF VIP Member donty's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    134
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    252

    Default

    the default.xbe is the game selector xbe so u run that.

  5. #5
    DF Member G-Funk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    How do you set it as a command in the menu.ini mate?

  6. #6
    DF Rookie dCiSo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    US
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    Item "DVDROM Launch","d:\default.xbe"

  7. #7
    DF Member G-Funk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    Cheers dCiSO

  8. #8
    DF Rookie MtlDty's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    iSONEWS
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    I read about this a week or two ago and have never got it to work... I'd be interested to hear if it does work for other people.

  9. #9
    DF Super Moderator {{909}}'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    China
    Posts
    16,232
    Thanks
    396
    Thanked:        1,385
    Karma Level
    1321

    Default

    seems a bit of a ballache for the sake of 10p or whatever for a better dvdr, it is interesting tho, maybe this can be used and integrated into evox

    *edit* duh..should have read the first post properly :o:
    Last edited by {{909}}; 2nd August 2002 at 09:01 PM.

  10. #10
    DF Rookie Degszie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    now that sounds interesting
    might stick me xbox rom back in just to try it

    got an LG in there atm

    will try tomorrow and post my results

  11. #11
    DF VIP Member Aido's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Carioca, Pragu
    Posts
    1,851
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked:        1
    Karma Level
    339

    Default

    Originally posted by MtlDty
    I read about this a week or two ago and have never got it to work... I'd be interested to hear if it does work for other people.
    sometimes the disk needs ejecting and reinserting a few times before the xbox will read it, just keep trying & refreshing the directory a few times..

    when I got this problem tho it was a disk that had been burnt at Max speed in Primo - it dropped down to 1x anyway but there are issues, see other posts on here about burning at 2x..

    reburnt at 1x and it booted straight away, no need to use the EvoX ftp server to boot the disk...
    Go shagging in Prague or live it large in Vegas !!

  12. #12
    DF Rookie Men@cer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Derbyshire Eng
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    Did not work for me but did my m8

  13. #13
    DF VIP Member The Gab's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    London
    Posts
    161
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by G-Funk
    How do you set it as a command in the menu.ini mate?
    It's already in the menu.ini. Goto launch menu -> game on disc -> launch disc inserted. No need to do anything cos it's already there.

  14. #14
    DF Rookie uncleODog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Uk
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    Worked for me fine.

  15. #15
    Banned Idiot Mike1126's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Florida, via isonews
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    My XBOX reads my disk fine but when I access my D: all I see are the VIDEO files, there is not a deault.xbe file in there. What should I do?

  16. #16
    DF VIP Member thereaslimshady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    cheshire
    Posts
    1,071
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked:        16
    Karma Level
    374

    Default

    an easier way is use boxplorer and goto the d drive through that and load the game or menu from there

    slim
    ps3, backwardsman (jap), freddygot (us), nomissirrah (uk)

  17. #17
    DF VIP Member pmat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    wales, uk
    Posts
    657
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    279

    Default

    i haven't got a clue what you guys are doing! explain in idiot terminology.
    is it a good idea to use a different dvd rom than the standard x-box one?

  18. #18
    DF VIP Member dingle_666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Wolverhampton
    Posts
    1,437
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked:        4
    Karma Level
    315

    Default

    look on www.xboxmods.com

    *edit* mis read the p[ost lol

  19. #19
    DF Rookie capt_peo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    A while ago this was used to boot cdrs, I havent tried it but supposedly it worked.

Similar Threads

  1. What cars do you drive ?
    By clayton in forum Cars & Motorbikes
    Replies: 625
    Last Post: 18th March 2010, 09:12 AM
  2. If your xbox dvd drive is dead... read in ;)
    By maltloaf in forum Microsoft Consoles
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 26th December 2002, 12:33 PM
  3. Buggered drive permanently by tweaking pot?
    By oka97 in forum Microsoft Consoles
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 9th October 2002, 05:36 PM
  4. Drive not reading discs
    By Hayato in forum Microsoft Consoles
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 13th September 2002, 10:47 PM
  5. XBOX DVD drive fails to eject
    By treepid in forum Microsoft Consoles
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 13th September 2002, 04:35 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •