Close

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    DF Rookie dodgy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default Mobo advice for athlon 1900

    last time i bought an asus a7v266-E with 512 of crucial memory with an xp1600 and it was crap....
    so i don't mind spending the cash as long as i get a reliable system at the end of it...
    any reccomendations on a good reliable board?

  2. #2
    DF Rookie Gungadin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Sensory deprivation tank
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    249

    Default

    ECS K7S5A ...It's a budget board but it works well supports sdr & ddr (2 slots for either) I use one with an 1800xp & 512 mb of DDR and its rock solid I've used quite a few for builds for other people too and have had no problems.... theres an updated version now(K7S6A) with 3 DDr slots and updated chipset but I've not tried that one yet... The K7S5A got a good write-up on toms hardware and a few other sites too.... hope thats some help

  3. #3
    DF VIP Member ruggie_uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Creswell
    Posts
    1,152
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked:        9
    Karma Level
    388

    Default

    Personally I hate ECS - their boards suck as do abit (i hear screams), altho they are supposed to both be good, but in my last job, my experience is too many faulty boards.
    MSi boards are rock solid, cheap and faultless - i've had 3 in a row now and sold my last ones on to friends and all are still running like new. Mine here hasnt been turned off since october last year and never flakes.

  4. #4
    DF VIP Member barakuda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    The Hellmouth
    Posts
    207
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    272

    Default

    I have a K7S5A and mine is rock solid too. However, I did have a problem with the IDE drivers and I found a forum dedicated to discussing the K7S5A and there was page after page of people having problems with it. It was at

    http://forum.ocworkbench.com

    I haven't looked at it for months because my board works fine but you might want to check it out before you buy. Personally I'd recommend the mobo as it's been great for me.
    Last edited by barakuda; 22nd August 2002 at 08:38 PM.


    So you're the slayer. You're prettier than the last one.

  5. #5
    DF VIP Member Hippie on hill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Nottingham UK
    Posts
    752
    Thanks
    112
    Thanked:        148
    Karma Level
    288

    Default

    I'm with Ruggie on the Abit and ECS issue - you couldn't even pay me to have a Gigabyte or Abit board again for that matter. Undisputed champ of the socket A's atm has got to be the Epox board for speed but if you've got money to burn I like the looks of the Soyo Dragons cos it's got the lot.
    I'm looking at buying a new socket A board myself this/next week, this is my choice as of right now
    http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=39089
    cos it's a bargain me thinks - GF4 4200ti + 333DDR mobo < 150
    reviews here
    http://www.pcpowerzone.co.uk/reviews.php?id=123&page=1
    http://www.amdworld.co.uk/amdroundup1.htm
    Did I ever tell you you're my hero?

  6. #6
    DF Rookie yogi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    in a field
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by Hookerman
    I'm with Ruggie on the Abit and ECS issue - you couldn't even pay me to have a Gigabyte or Abit board again for that matter. Undisputed champ of the socket A's atm has got to be the Epox board for speed but if you've got money to burn I like the looks of the Soyo Dragons cos it's got the lot.
    I'm looking at buying a new socket A board myself this/next week, this is my choice as of right now
    http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=39089
    cos it's a bargain me thinks - GF4 4200ti + 333DDR mobo < 150
    reviews here
    http://www.pcpowerzone.co.uk/reviews.php?id=123&page=1
    http://www.amdworld.co.uk/amdroundup1.htm
    yeh im getting it too for new xp2000 machine, have only briefly looked in to the overclocking capabilities though, u can alter the vcore and the fsb, you know anyone whos actually got one and what they think of it? also what ram u planning on running in it? im unsure as whether to go for 256 or 512 and pc2100 or pc2700. it will be crucial ram no matter what tho

  7. #7
    DF VIP Member Hippie on hill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Nottingham UK
    Posts
    752
    Thanks
    112
    Thanked:        148
    Karma Level
    288

    Default

    I've just ordered it with 512 333 DDR after reading the reviews and an XP2000 - should be here on tues so I'll know more then.
    Did I ever tell you you're my hero?

  8. #8
    DF VIP Member Hippie on hill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Nottingham UK
    Posts
    752
    Thanks
    112
    Thanked:        148
    Karma Level
    288

    Default

    Woohoo! Delivered at last.

    Been stable all day running the PC2700 (Nanya) at 266 - can't get it to run at 333 atm tho not sure why and I had to take my DAT machine out of my box because of the bad positioning of the capacitors - not that I ever use it anymore, I just liked the look of it. Otherwise it was prolly the simplest install I've done to date - just slapped it together, installed XP and put the lastest Leadtek software/drivers in.
    There's a newer bios on the website so I'll try that 2morrow.
    In the mean time I found another source of info here
    http://www.nforcershq.com/forum/
    Did I ever tell you you're my hero?

  9. #9
    DF Rookie yogi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    in a field
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    i read in a review that it had an option in the bios to run the ram at 333? ive bought samsung pc2700, hope i can run it that fast

Similar Threads

  1. INTEL or ATHLON
    By n0k1a in forum PC Hardware
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 15th October 2002, 01:22 PM
  2. athlon xp2700+ - woah
    By Aido in forum PC Hardware
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 7th September 2002, 05:31 PM
  3. sex advice
    By miniboot in forum The Dog and Duck
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 6th September 2002, 08:26 AM
  4. New to this game! Advice please
    By TKay in forum Microsoft Consoles
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2nd September 2002, 02:22 PM
  5. AMD Athlon XP2200
    By mark1984 in forum PC Hardware
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 29th August 2002, 12:35 AM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •