Close

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 73
  1. #1
    DF Probation Goldberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Landaaaan!
    Posts
    14,466
    Thanks
    1,333
    Thanked:        1,558
    Karma Level
    1173

    Default Evolution X Without PC Comments/Help

    It is possible to put Evolution X on X-Box without linking to PC.

    Here's How...

    Create 2 folders, one Games the other Apps.

    1st get all of the applications etc... that you want but you need to ensure that they are not ISO's. You need them so that you can view the default.xbe file. Put them in the relevant folders as you would if you were using an FTP eg

    Evolution X would be in a folder called Evox which is in the Apps Folder
    DVD Region X would be in the apps folder then DVDX folder you create. Continue to put the other apps in etc..... Then edit the Menu.ini on the PC and put in apps folder

    Burn them to the same disc as Xboxplorer

    Now put the disc in the X-Box, Xboxplorer should boot.
    Rename Xboxdash.exe to zxboxdash.exe (Mines msdash as I have it in my evox menu so I can access it still)

    Copy the default.xbe file from the disc in drive D: to drive C: Rename it to xboxdash.xbe. Copy Menu.ini from disc again to drive C:

    Then copy the apps/games folders do drive E:

    Reboot the machine and that should be it You have done it without the need to link to a PC.

    Not the clearest destructions I know, I am in a rush but it works.

    Correct me if any mistakes here, personally I use the PC method, but this does work.
    Last edited by Goldberg; 12th September 2002 at 01:26 AM.
    We all make mistakes sometimes

  2. #2
    DF PiMP RUDE BOI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    E55EX BOY
    Posts
    264
    Thanks
    54
    Thanked:        16
    Karma Level
    247

    Default

    OK this is sweet, i hate pc's!

    I will do this later on, but I would like to know if there is anyway not to use evox at all, but by using your method and coping and appz and games to HD but not evox. And by using another CD to run the appz and games.

    The reason I want to do this is because I am a n00b and dont want to risk fcuking the box with evox.

    Does any body know if this way is possible?

  3. #3
    DF Probation Goldberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Landaaaan!
    Posts
    14,466
    Thanks
    1,333
    Thanked:        1,558
    Karma Level
    1173

    Default

    No Only Evo X so far. Just be careful when you do this, if you have used Evo X before it's basically the same method but without the PC. Check the guides in the Stickys and try from there. I will try and sort a detailed guide.
    We all make mistakes sometimes

  4. #4
    DF PiMP RUDE BOI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    E55EX BOY
    Posts
    264
    Thanks
    54
    Thanked:        16
    Karma Level
    247

    Default

    I've put all my games and appz on the e drive, but but want to do the evox thing until a more detailed guide is available because im a big pile of chicken shit about doing stuff like this. The first part is easy enuf but I'm a little unclear about this part:

    "Now put the disc in the X-Box, Xboxplorer should boot.
    Rename Xboxdash.exe to zxboxdash.exe (Mines msdash as I have it in my evox menu so I can access it still)

    Copy the default.xbe file from the disc in drive D: to drive C: Rename it to xboxdash.xbe. Copy Menu.ini from disc again to drive C:"

    So could you expand this part? as I have never used evox b4.

    Thx

  5. #5
    DF Probation Goldberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Landaaaan!
    Posts
    14,466
    Thanks
    1,333
    Thanked:        1,558
    Karma Level
    1173

    Default

    Yeah, evolution X has a file called default.xbe, (as do all x-box programs). If you upload this to the C: Drive then re-name it xboxdash.exe then it will boot up to the Evo X screen when you turn on the X-Box with no disc in.

    That any clearer? It has to be the EvoX default.xbe
    We all make mistakes sometimes

  6. #6
    DF PiMP RUDE BOI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    E55EX BOY
    Posts
    264
    Thanks
    54
    Thanked:        16
    Karma Level
    247

    Default

    Thats great, I get it now. I'm off to give it a try

    Gr8 work Goldberg for finding this

  7. #7
    DF Probation Goldberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Landaaaan!
    Posts
    14,466
    Thanks
    1,333
    Thanked:        1,558
    Karma Level
    1173

    Default

    Let me know asap how you get on
    We all make mistakes sometimes

  8. #8
    DF PiMP RUDE BOI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    E55EX BOY
    Posts
    264
    Thanks
    54
    Thanked:        16
    Karma Level
    247

    Default

    It works!

  9. #9
    DF Probation Goldberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Landaaaan!
    Posts
    14,466
    Thanks
    1,333
    Thanked:        1,558
    Karma Level
    1173

    Default

    Excellent!!

    Between me and you we need to share this to people who arn't too sure about linking to PC!! This way is possibly quicker to.

    To reverse it, delete Menu.ini, Xboxdash.xbe and rename msdash or zxboxdash.xbe to xboxdash.xbe. Simple as that.
    To access the main x-box screen load Xboxplorer and click on zxboxdash.xbe and it will load. I made a link to in in my menu.ini for ease of use.


    I'm glad my theory worked, maybee a round of applause

    I will try to compilea disc and a readme if I have time.

    Thanks again Dicke for trying it.
    We all make mistakes sometimes

  10. #10
    DF Wh0re ReD ÅLeRt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    158
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    250

    Default

    as requested I made this a sticky as it has some useful info for all you xbox freaks not so hot on the pc

  11. #11
    DF PiMP RUDE BOI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    E55EX BOY
    Posts
    264
    Thanks
    54
    Thanked:        16
    Karma Level
    247

    Default

    Glad to see this is a sticky, it is very simple a easy way to do it.

    I made a backup to the whole c: drive to the e: drive

    BTW, you made a typo "Rename Xboxdash.exe to zxboxdash.exe" you should change it to msxboxdash.xbe

    The windows program for editing the menu is a must, it makes the whole process so easy.

  12. #12
    DF Probation Goldberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Landaaaan!
    Posts
    14,466
    Thanks
    1,333
    Thanked:        1,558
    Karma Level
    1173

    Default

    I just editied the menu.ini with notepad, but yes the editor is excellent. Thats why my original xboxdash.xbe was renamed msdash.xbe as I called it that in the menu.ini but Dicke is also correct

    Thanks guys and please post here if you have sucessfuly accomplished this too.
    We all make mistakes sometimes

  13. #13
    DF Probation Goldberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Landaaaan!
    Posts
    14,466
    Thanks
    1,333
    Thanked:        1,558
    Karma Level
    1173

    Default

    I have now compiled an iso with all you need but it si 31mb so need someone to host it.
    We all make mistakes sometimes

  14. #14
    DF PiMP RUDE BOI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    E55EX BOY
    Posts
    264
    Thanks
    54
    Thanked:        16
    Karma Level
    247

    Default

    What exactly is in this iso all u need is xboxplorer with a sub folder with evox's default xbe and a menu.ini inside. Why cant ppl burn that themselves?

    Why is it 31mb if all u need is two prog's?

  15. #15
    DF Probation Goldberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Landaaaan!
    Posts
    14,466
    Thanks
    1,333
    Thanked:        1,558
    Karma Level
    1173

    Default

    The iso consists of the following:

    You burn the Iso,

    You put the disc in the X-Box and Xboxplorer loads,

    You rename the xboxdash.xbe on c:\ to msdash.xbe

    Then you copy the menu.ini and xboxdash.xbe from the disc to c:\

    Then you copy the folders from the disc to the 'e:\' drive

    and thats it

    Just compiled the disc to make it easier for myself and thought I would share

    I know me & DickE sorted it easy enough but wanted to compile my own disc which works wonders for me now. No more getting the laptop out to do, now put disc in and go

    Like DickE said in last post it is easy, but if you want ISO to burn then contact me.

    The ISO has, Xboxplorer (Essential!!), EvoX dashboard, Pal/NTSC switch v2, DVD RegionX v2, Clock setting, and more!!
    We all make mistakes sometimes

  16. #16
    DF Jedi ZX7R's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    3,976
    Thanks
    507
    Thanked:        799
    Karma Level
    603

    Default

    great info!

    I managed to get the latest evox on my machine using the methods you describe and some trial and error.

    I've managed to create e a pdf document detailing how to install evox. i'm hoping to make it available to all once Goldberg has checked it over.

  17. #17
    DF Probation Goldberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Landaaaan!
    Posts
    14,466
    Thanks
    1,333
    Thanked:        1,558
    Karma Level
    1173

    Default

    Cheers, I will look it over, but i'm sure it will be fine
    We all make mistakes sometimes

  18. #18
    DF Founder Raptor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    95,453
    Thanks
    503
    Thanked:        1,915
    Karma Level
    5648

    Default

    recommened files to dump on the disc:

    xbplorer
    latest evox dash (of course)
    hdd loader (project x)
    dvdx2
    ntsc switcher

    this way you have all the tools you need to get evox on pc / play dvd movies / dump games to your hard drive

    this works - have fun

  19. #19
    DF Jedi ZX7R's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    3,976
    Thanks
    507
    Thanked:        799
    Karma Level
    603

    Default

    what's the hdd loader?
    never mind.
    Last edited by ZX7R; 11th September 2002 at 07:32 PM.

  20. #20
    DF Jedi ZX7R's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    3,976
    Thanks
    507
    Thanked:        799
    Karma Level
    603

    Default

    Here's the pdf 'How To'

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. BMW M3 Evolution 96-99 What are they like...
    By ise438 in forum Cars & Motorbikes
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10th November 2008, 12:49 AM
  2. evolution!!
    By DelTrotter in forum The Whine Cellar
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30th October 2008, 11:09 AM
  3. evolution x
    By magika in forum Microsoft Consoles
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 1st April 2003, 02:12 PM
  4. evolution
    By shadygeezer in forum Funny Pictures
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 18th December 2002, 05:26 AM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •