Close

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    DF MaSter DreCon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Winnipeg
    Posts
    67
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Xbox swap question

    My xbox Mobo seems to be toast. I can't fix it. So if I go and buy a new Xbox, swap the motherboards and put em back together and return it saying it doesn't work, can i boot it up? I know theres something to do with the HD password so does it require the original motherboard? Will this work? Can someone let me know if this works? If so i'm going after work to pick another one up and get my refund 20 min later

  2. #2
    DF MaSter DreCon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Winnipeg
    Posts
    67
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    Anyone? Just want to know if I swap motherboards if it would work?

  3. #3
    DF VIP Member Freaky's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Another Planet
    Posts
    6,950
    Thanks
    84
    Thanked:        9
    Karma Level
    625

    Default

    isnt the hard drive password locked into some chip on the board m8, if so how would you get around this, youd have to swap the hard drive aswell or were you gonna do that anyway

    unless im totally wrong like, i think i member reading summit bout the password being on a chip
    Last edited by Freaky; 29th August 2002 at 09:08 PM.
    Through the darkness of futures past. The magician longs to see.
    One chance out between two worlds. Fire Walk With Me.

  4. #4
    DF MaSter DreCon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Winnipeg
    Posts
    67
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    me too. Thats why I want to know. Or how to get rid of everything off the HD so they don't have my shit

  5. #5
    DF VIP Member Freaky's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Another Planet
    Posts
    6,950
    Thanks
    84
    Thanked:        9
    Karma Level
    625

    Default

    couldnt you just delete it all with evolution-x, then restore the original default.xbe from the original c:/ drive from the xbox
    Through the darkness of futures past. The magician longs to see.
    One chance out between two worlds. Fire Walk With Me.

  6. #6
    DF Rookie brainz2002's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    ?????
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    Couldn't u just put the old x-box in the new x-box's box and take it back? Would solve the problem

Similar Threads

  1. redirect question
    By Psychoschiz in forum Web Hosting & Domain Names
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26th September 2002, 04:09 PM
  2. Swap my Vaio PCG-F807k for a PC
    By Richlau in forum Buy, Sell and Trade
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 18th September 2002, 06:26 PM
  3. Swap Toshiba laptop for Nokia 7650
    By Scubadude in forum Buy, Sell and Trade
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 4th September 2002, 05:32 PM
  4. modded xbox swap for modded gamecube
    By kingdong in forum Hall Of Shame
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 2nd September 2002, 09:21 PM
  5. WTD: nokia 7110/8210 or swap 4 dc + extras
    By Billy_Wiz in forum Buy, Sell and Trade
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30th August 2002, 08:58 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •