Close

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: XP and the web

  1. #1
    DF PiMP Jaffa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    449
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked:        1
    Karma Level
    231

    Default XP and the web

    Since buying a new pc with windows xp i find the internet to be slower. That is, sometimes when i click a link the progress bar appears at the bottom but it can take 3-4 minutes to actually load. If i click the link again it sometimes seems to force the issue and load up, or i can cancel all together and try again and it loads up ok.

    Is there some setting i can tweak?

    My system is:-
    Athlon 2000
    512mb ddr ram
    56k modem

  2. #2
    DF PiMP EUPHORiA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    363
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        1
    Karma Level
    231

    Default

    Are u on WinXP Pro at all? if so have u set the QoS i think protocol to 0% because i think its set at 20% and u dont need it taking away ur bandwith. Does this problem happen with all web sites or just one? have u cleared ur internet cache, history, files?

  3. #3
    DF PiMP Jaffa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    449
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked:        1
    Karma Level
    231

    Default

    My xp is Home edition, ive cleared my temp internet and history files.

    It happens on pretty much all web sites at some time. Sorry its hard to explain wot i mean, i can go to a site and it loads fine, if i go back to the site a couple of minutes later it ages to load, but also the complete opposite can happen, ie i go to a site and it takes ages, try again in a couple of minutes and it loads almost immeadiately.

    Also, it happens at different times in the day/night.

    When i put my curser over the internet connection near the clock it generally shows around 44 to 46 Kbps.

  4. #4
    DF PiMP EUPHORiA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    363
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        1
    Karma Level
    231

    Default

    It does this sometimes with my girlfriends computer because shes on modem and u have to click twice sometimes because u didnt click right the first time. what ISP are u with?

  5. #5
    DF PiMP Jaffa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    449
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked:        1
    Karma Level
    231

    Default

    Freeserve

  6. #6
    DF Jedi tef89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    1,147
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked:        28
    Karma Level
    269

    Default

    I don't think the Qos will help much on a 56k - I've tried it a few times and had no noticeable benefit.

    When you re-visit a page it may be loading up quicker because you often have the page stored in your temporary internet files.

    If you think it may be your isp then sign up with an 0845 one and test if it's still having the same problem.

    You could also check it's not a problem with any firewall you may be using.

    Good Luck
    Last edited by tef89; 10th September 2002 at 07:04 PM.

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •