Close

Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    DF PiMP corskey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Manchester, Un
    Posts
    491
    Thanks
    182
    Thanked:        50
    Karma Level
    238

    Default Freezing internet connection

    Right,

    I've got my brand spanking new ADSL connection which, with Zone Alarm can be left on 24/7.

    The only problem is that it can't. If it's left on continuously, it the Fujitsu modem seems to freeze. The power lanp is on, and I've disabled the power-off option in the modem set-up.

    No amount of redialing will activate the modem again, and the only way to breathe life into the little darling is to restart the PC.

    Any ideas how to solve??

  2. #2
    DF Jedi {film_man}'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    South Wales
    Posts
    1,003
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    237

    Default

    leave mirc on or something so data is allways on the move that may help

  3. #3
    DF PlaYa GETanner's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Now now now.
    Posts
    511
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    235

    Default

    What OS are you running?

    If it is XP, have you tried repairing the connection?

    Start
    My Network Places
    View Network Connections
    Double Click Local Area Connection
    Support
    Repair

    If this works, then you need to add your DNS server IP's into the Trusted Zone of Zone Alarm.

    Some ISP's have more than one pair of Primary and Secondary DNS servers and you will need to obtain the full list.

    It may just be a case of ZA not allowing your PC access to the DNS server and though it appears you can not access the net, this will only be for un-resolved addresses.

    ie

    You can not ping pop3.demon.co.uk but you can ping 194.217.242.22 which is the resolved address.

    I had this problem when I added a router to my BY modem and adding the DNS list solved the problem.

    G

  4. #4
    DF PiMP corskey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Manchester, Un
    Posts
    491
    Thanks
    182
    Thanked:        50
    Karma Level
    238

    Default

    Film_man, Thanks but it freezes even when I'm surfing.

    GETanner, I'm using that most stable OS Windows ME

  5. #5
    DF Jedi {film_man}'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    South Wales
    Posts
    1,003
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    237

    Default

    what lev have you got Zone Alarm set at

  6. #6
    DF PiMP nickstan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    229

    Default

    Hi m8,

    Don't know if this is for the same modem you have
    https://www.xtreme.pipex.net/adsl/sup...ujitsu-1.shtml

    Cheers
    nickstan

  7. #7
    DF PiMP corskey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Manchester, Un
    Posts
    491
    Thanks
    182
    Thanked:        50
    Karma Level
    238

    Default

    It's the very same modem,

    just downloaded the fix - hope it works

  8. #8
    DF PiMP corskey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Manchester, Un
    Posts
    491
    Thanks
    182
    Thanked:        50
    Karma Level
    238

    Default

    Film man

    Internet securite is set at high

  9. #9
    DF PiMP corskey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Manchester, Un
    Posts
    491
    Thanks
    182
    Thanked:        50
    Karma Level
    238

    Default

    nickstan,

    I assume that since you know the link, you've had the problem:

    What OS are you using?

    what are the symptoms of loosing syncronisation.

    My modem just stops receiving data, although it still shows as being connected (with data still being sent). Lights on the moden are still lit.

    It seems as though the modem just freezes.

    A disconnect using the icon and redial doesn't work. and a restart of the system causes a PC lock-up, with the only solution being a hard start.

    Any other Fujitsu usesr seen this??



    Also, if any peeps that have applied this patch - what value on the slider have you applied?

  10. #10
    DF Wh0re sbaxter9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    england
    Posts
    187
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    i have the fujitsu fdx 310 but have had no problems at all(touch wood) didnt the download of pipex work?

  11. #11
    DF PiMP corskey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Manchester, Un
    Posts
    491
    Thanks
    182
    Thanked:        50
    Karma Level
    238

    Default

    Not yet - I've just moved the slider to number 5. Problem is that all's well for about an hour, and then the modem freezes, Should know by tomorror if the patch works with the fujitsu and onetel

  12. #12
    DF PiMP nickstan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    229

    Default

    Hi m8,

    I came across the patch just checking for any updates. I have'nt has any problems with mine. Sorry i can't help any more than that.

    Cheers
    nickstan

  13. #13
    DF PlaYa BomFunkDaddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    England UK
    Posts
    544
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    227

    Default

    it maybe cuz your connection is new, when i had broadband installed it would sometimes not connect and drop this happened for a week maybe 2 but i have never had another problem since. contact your isp and tell em ur prob.

  14. #14
    DF PiMP nickstan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    229

    Default

    Hi Corskey,

    Just remembered i did have a problem very similar to this a while back. I found the problem was my virus scanner (Trend one i think). It has a web filter thing running which kept knackering up all the time and giving the same symptems you've described above.

    Hope this helps
    nickstan

  15. #15
    DF PiMP corskey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Manchester, Un
    Posts
    491
    Thanks
    182
    Thanked:        50
    Karma Level
    238

    Default

    I'm running Zone Alarm Pro and Norton Anti Virus. I see the same problem when I switch both off, though I opem my PC to hackers stealing my Bucks Fizz collection.

    Since I used the PIPEX patch, thingh have got better, though the connection is not in anyway 24/7

    Thanks for your posts m8

Similar Threads

  1. How To Fix Some Internet Connection Problems
    By HELPERS in forum Sony Consoles
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11th November 2009, 05:01 PM
  2. Strange internet connection
    By {{909}} in forum PC Problems
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 29th July 2008, 04:54 PM
  3. About satellite internet connection
    By hronn in forum Digital Satellite TV
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 6th June 2003, 01:14 AM
  4. Laptop Internet connection
    By badabing in forum PC Problems
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 26th April 2003, 09:15 PM
  5. internet connection
    By RFMan in forum PC Problems
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 15th November 2002, 08:19 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •