Close

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    DF Jedi wonkyfox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Sunny Dagenham
    Posts
    3,243
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    415

    Shutdown problem

    Hi
    I have a Dell Optiplex GX110 running win ME,
    the problem i`m having is, that when i shut it down, it won`t auto shut off, it goes right thru the process, of closing down,but leaves me with a blank screen, but no "it safe to turn off your pc" sceen, normally it turns itself right off, now i have to press the restart button, causing the PC to run thru scandisk on reboot.....
    please help cause its driving me barmy!!!!!!!

  2. #2
    DF Jedi dingle_666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Wolverhampton
    Posts
    1,438
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked:        4
    Karma Level
    298

    Default

    ok, contorl panel, power management, and turn on advanced power management.. there u go sorted, about 30 seconds after u posted it wonky

  3. #3
    DF Jedi wonkyfox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Sunny Dagenham
    Posts
    3,243
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    415

    Default

    thanx for the quick advice but i dont have advanced power management, only power options, but that does not give you the choice of switching anything on!!

  4. #4
    DF Jedi dingle_666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Wolverhampton
    Posts
    1,438
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked:        4
    Karma Level
    298

    Default

    hmm i say its a corrupt windows file that aint sending the signal to the motherboard then to power off.. i always had it on windows me, but on 2k its perfect

  5. #5
    DF PlaYa Violator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Warrington
    Posts
    550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    255

    Default

    Have you checked the APM settings in the BIOS?

  6. #6
    DF MaSter gorgan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    A Sunny Place
    Posts
    73
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    242

    Default

    I had win me sometime ago and experienced lot of problem with it, however if I am not mistaken you can restore your previous settings (I can't remember how - I am sure someone can shed light on this) and therefore set it to when it was ok.

    gorgan

  7. #7
    DF Jedi wonkyfox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Sunny Dagenham
    Posts
    3,243
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    415

    Default

    i ran a quick dianostic and it came back with a corrupt system file...maybe this is it?

  8. #8
    DF Jedi wonkyfox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Sunny Dagenham
    Posts
    3,243
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    415

    Default

    i did a duel boot with win2000 (loaned from a mate) and now it seems fine, so must be bloody winME,and its corrupt files!!!

    thanx for all the help chaps!!!!!

  9. #9
    DF Jedi Gavin M's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    newcastle
    Posts
    1,831
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    321

    Default

    my mates used to do that when his pc's were linked together, only one machine out of the 4 done it tho, that was on win.me rest were on 98 at the time, could just be a win.me prob

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 24th June 2011, 07:21 PM
  2. PC Shutdown
    By Bilbo_baggin in forum PC Problems
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 6th September 2009, 01:07 AM
  3. Shutdown problem when playing Godfather
    By DB in forum PC Gaming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11th April 2006, 09:41 AM
  4. 60 second shutdown
    By SoundOfFaz in forum PC Problems
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2nd January 2004, 02:29 PM
  5. Remote Shutdown Problem
    By Mr_Flash in forum PC Problems
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 27th May 2003, 10:25 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •