Close

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    DF Wh0re Aware's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    143
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default Agnitum outpost problem

    When i run outpost it stops all pages loading, which is strange because it didn't use to when i first installed it.I had a similar problem with Zone Alarm before switching to agnitum.All seems ok when a shut it down.

    Does anyone know of a reliable firewall that doesn't effect browsing.

    much app!.

  2. #2
    DF Jedi tef89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    1,160
    Thanks
    71
    Thanked:        47
    Karma Level
    298

    Default

    Just to be on the safe side check in the blocked applications section of Outpost and make sure svchost.exe isn't blocked - that's the only thing that has effected pages loading after a short time for me (caused when I blocked it in error myself).

    If it's still happenning it may be an idea to look elsewhere for the problem other than the firewall. I've always found Agnitum 100% reliable or I wouldn't have suggested it Aware

    Failing that, select a fresh configuration from the file menu of Outpost and see if that helps.

  3. #3
    DF Wh0re Aware's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    143
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    thanks tef, it's strange this cos as i said everything is 100% when i shut it down and it used to work fine, i liked it.

    Just trying a re-install see if that works.

  4. #4
    DF Jedi tef89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    1,160
    Thanks
    71
    Thanked:        47
    Karma Level
    298

    Default

    Ok - let me know how you get on If you have no joy there's always Sygate's firewall - not so pretty but worth a try

  5. #5
    DF Wh0re Aware's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    143
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    hi tef,

    i reinstalled and started getting error 1056 on startup and agnitum now doesnt block anything even when set to dissallow everything.It appears to be f00ked so to speak.

    Tried repeating the process, same probs, i notice i only get the error after replacing the .dll crack.

    Starting to feel a bit vulnerable now lol:shock:

    thanks for the help anyway tef.

  6. #6
    DF Rookie makku's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    M
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    I also had problem with Outpost. All of a sudden I cannot send emails and access [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    Mb.

  7. #7
    DF Jedi tef89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    1,160
    Thanks
    71
    Thanked:        47
    Karma Level
    298

    Default

    Have you tried selecting 'New Configuration' ?

  8. #8
    DF Wh0re craig6928's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    nowhere
    Posts
    144
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    245

    Default

    hi i notice this with my pc but after i install the free firewall of this company it works fine no problem now
    i think its something to do with u have a trail version and using the crack file
    when u update it
    but might be wrong................
    im on windows98 spec

  9. #9
    DF Jedi tef89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    1,160
    Thanks
    71
    Thanked:        47
    Karma Level
    298

    Default

    I've used both craig - both the 14meg trial d/l with the crack (making it Pro) and the free version which is a 2meg d/l - both work flawlessly on my XP Pro and although I haven't tested extensively on 98se it works fine on my system too. I do however switch off the updates as all that seems to do is d/l a fresh version of the cracked .dll file so it needs to be replaced again

    As with any software some people have issues when for others it works like a dream.
    Last edited by tef89; 16th October 2002 at 10:46 AM.

  10. #10
    DF Wh0re craig6928's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    nowhere
    Posts
    144
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    245

    Default

    hi m8 thanks for the information i used to use this firewall with the crack but i let it updated everytime and of course it came up your trail version has finish now
    i thought u needed the updates for holes in the firewall to stop
    people getting onto your system
    or do u dont have to update it at all
    cheers m8

  11. #11
    DF Jedi tef89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    1,160
    Thanks
    71
    Thanked:        47
    Karma Level
    298

    Default

    It works perfectly without updating but even if you do update it you can just re-apply the cracked .dll file to remove the trial - making sure that Outpost isn't running at the time or it wont accept the file

Similar Threads

  1. Outpost free firewall Vista 32 & 64bit
    By Randles in forum Cheapskates Corner
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 19th May 2009, 08:16 PM
  2. [REVIEW] Outpost
    By Shotgunjim in forum Movie Talk
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 31st March 2008, 05:43 PM
  3. Agnitum pro serial
    By gorgan in forum PC Software
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 5th June 2003, 12:22 AM
  4. for peoples who r using Outpost firewall
    By al_mondi in forum PC Problems
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 24th September 2002, 02:13 PM
  5. for peoples who r using Outpost firewall
    By al_mondi in forum Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23rd September 2002, 07:03 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •