Close

Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    DF Jedi bulletproof's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Lancashire
    Posts
    1,584
    Thanks
    93
    Thanked:        58
    Karma Level
    340

    Default how to setup a dlink dsl-504 on pipex adsl

    can anyone help me, I have just got a d-link dsl-504 router/swtich.

    I would like to put this in the place of the alcatel modem (stingray type) that came with it.

    Does anyone have any experience at setting up this router on pipex adsl serviece. If you do Please can you tell me what i need to do.

    Thanks alot

    Bp

  2. #2
    DF VIP Member Pegasus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Hampshire
    Posts
    4,588
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked:        52
    Karma Level
    619

    Default

    Type the router's IP addy in to your web browser and enter your PPP username & password.
    Understeer is when you hit a wall with the front of your car
    Oversteer is when you hit the wall with the back of your car
    Horsepower is how fast your car hits the wall
    Torque is how far your car sends the wall across the field once you've hit it

  3. #3
    DF Jedi bulletproof's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Lancashire
    Posts
    1,584
    Thanks
    93
    Thanked:        58
    Karma Level
    340

    Default

    thanks for the reply m8,

    Just one question.... what you are saying is that the router will give me an ip address and i just setup another internet connect using it...

    is that correct?????? sorry about this but can you explain a little more m8

    Thanks alot

    bp

  4. #4
    DF VIP Member Pegasus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Hampshire
    Posts
    4,588
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked:        52
    Karma Level
    619

    Default

    The idea of an integrated modem/router is that the router makes & maintains the connection for you. To configure the router you will have to access it either via telnet (command line) or via it's web based GUI. Once you have gained access to it then you simply enter your PPP details and that it is it.
    Understeer is when you hit a wall with the front of your car
    Oversteer is when you hit the wall with the back of your car
    Horsepower is how fast your car hits the wall
    Torque is how far your car sends the wall across the field once you've hit it

  5. #5
    DF MaSter DonnieH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    255

    Default

    Hi m8

    I've set this router up on pipex. I had a few issues with edonkey and so on that I sorted in the end.

    If you need any help just mail me on [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    I am away from luchtime tomorrow and back on friday though.

  6. #6
    DF Jedi bulletproof's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Lancashire
    Posts
    1,584
    Thanks
    93
    Thanked:        58
    Karma Level
    340

    Default

    DonnieH,

    Check you email m8...

    Thanks alot

    Bp

  7. #7
    DF MaSter DonnieH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    255

    Default

    Hi Bulletproof

    did the info I sent you help in any way??.

  8. #8
    DF Jedi bulletproof's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Lancashire
    Posts
    1,584
    Thanks
    93
    Thanked:        58
    Karma Level
    340

    Default

    Donnie,

    Just sent you an email m8...

    speak to ya soon....

    Thanks alot

    bp

  9. #9
    DF Member afrokiwi's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Den Haag
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    i have a 504 on pipex - will be interested in what mods you made DonnieH

  10. #10
    DF MaSter DonnieH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    255

    Default

    hi afrokiwi

    Have you access to a broadband email without the router as the emails I sent bulletproof are pretty big. I'll send you those if you give me an email addy. They did help bulletproof so they should help you m8.

    LMK DonnieH :-)

  11. #11
    DF Member afrokiwi's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Den Haag
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    Would appreciate the emails mate – I do have the modem/router working just want to make sure I did it right

  12. #12
    DF MaSter DonnieH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    255

    Default

    no problem m8. I'll send them now.

  13. #13
    DF Member afrokiwi's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Den Haag
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    DonnieH,

    Many thanks m8 for the emails.

    Out of interest – what is your firmware version?? Mine is R2.21.002.06.b2t10.uk – if I go to upgrade it with what I think is the newer from di-link R2.02.B2T8UK I get a message saying current is newer than upgrade (does that make sense??)

Similar Threads

  1. [HELP] virgin dlink router
    By dav in forum Internet Connections & VPNs
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 9th July 2011, 06:04 PM
  2. dlink 524
    By andy1494 in forum Internet Connections & VPNs
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 21st December 2009, 04:06 PM
  3. dlink 624+
    By andy1494 in forum Internet Connections & VPNs
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 21st August 2009, 05:27 PM
  4. DLink are shit
    By oE in forum PC Hardware
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 21st July 2003, 12:36 AM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •