Close

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    DF Rookie Thak's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default Help needed please

    System:
    O/S WinXp
    40GB h/d, 512 mb ram.
    Athlon(tm)XP 1700+ 1.47GHz
    Jetway 868AS mobo
    PSU: Mercury 300w AMD + Pentium 4 Board support.
    Pioneer 104
    CD/DVD combo

    Errors and I dont know how to correct

    PC shutdown and reboot in middle of burning and also -12v Voltage limit has been exceeded.

    I have 2 sticks of ram 256 mb, which were of diff makes - I have replaced these so they are now both the same. PC still reboots in middle of burning.
    Checked both sticks of ram in both slots still same probs.
    This is the code that I get:

    BCCode: a BCP1: 83E867E8 BCP2: 00000002 BCP3: 00000000 BCP4: 804E8D5C OSVER: 5_1_2600 SP: 0_0 Product: 256_1

    So I take out 1 stick of ram and I no longer have a problem

    I then used the hardware check disk that was supplied with the mobo and it keeps giving me a warning that says:
    -12v Voltage limit has been exceeded.

    I am not a techie, by any stretch of the imagination, and don't understand what this means, so any help you guys can give would be very much apprecited

  2. #2
    DF VIP Member
    cronus71's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    7,068
    Thanks
    610
    Thanked:        748
    Karma Level
    1133

    Default

    Hi m8, when you tested the system with only on memory stick in, did you try it in different banks on the systemboard? or just one?


    What you could do first is just a simple BIOS upgrade, if you look at Jetways homepage (Have a Jetway board as well ), you'll see some interesting fixes in the newer BIOS versions e.g Increase the stability of system for some DDR DRAM modules

    Be sure to download the right BIOS for your systemboard.
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    All the best
    “If I asked you to have sex with me, would the answer to that question be the same as the answer to this question?”


  3. #3
    DF Rookie Thak's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by cronus71
    Hi m8, when you tested the system with only on memory stick in, did you try it in different banks on the systemboard? or just one?


    What you could do first is just a simple BIOS upgrade, if you look at Jetways homepage (Have a Jetway board as well ), you'll see some interesting fixes in the newer BIOS versions e.g Increase the stability of system for some DDR DRAM modules

    Be sure to download the right BIOS for your systemboard.
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    All the best
    Thanks for a quick reply,

    firstly, yes I have tested both sticks in the 3 slots available, tried all combinations.

    I have visited the site as you kindly indicated, but there are so many downloads I'm not sure which is the one for me

    Sorry if I am being thick, but you know what we women are like

    Any further help would be greatly appreciated.........

  4. #4
    DF VIP Member
    cronus71's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    7,068
    Thanks
    610
    Thanked:        748
    Karma Level
    1133

    Default

    LOL, no worries

    OK, your systemboard is Jetway 868AS, do you know if it is the 868AS or is it possibly the 868AS PRO?

    If you look in the download section, under the header "KT266A"

    You'll see these two

    868ASA04.bin
    (Asia Site) A04 (07/25/02) Europe Site Remove Recovery,Add power failure function.Add ide dma function.Fix the BOOTROM of device can't be loaded.(For 868AS)

    868ASP03.bin
    (Asia Site) A03 (07/25/02) Europe Site Remove Recovery,Add power failure function.Add ide dma function.Fix the BOOTROM of device can't be loaded.(For 868AS PRO)
    so for the 868AS you'd download the 868ASA04.BIN and then the other if you have the 868AS PRO.

    Also, if you look at the top of the page, you'll see this

    Award Flash BIOS Utility Ver. 8.08: Awdflash.exe
    Before Update bios please read me first!!!
    You'll need to download that program aswell Awdflash.exe
    and the read me is for instructions on how to do it.

    If you need more help, ask us
    “If I asked you to have sex with me, would the answer to that question be the same as the answer to this question?”


Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 22nd March 2012, 03:05 PM
  2. new pc needed for family member - advice needed please
    By Northernbloke in forum PC Hardware
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28th March 2006, 02:16 PM
  3. help needed urgently - software needed
    By Detector in forum PC Problems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28th April 2004, 12:14 PM
  4. some help needed
    By Gavin M in forum The Dog and Duck
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8th January 2004, 02:12 AM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •